1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Quad channel ram?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by PP Mguire, Aug 19, 2008.

  1. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    According to this my buddy is running quad channel ram.
    [​IMG]

    Quad would be 256bit right?
    So if this is the case why is Nehalem triple channel and not native quad channel for one cpu?

    Or is there something that im missing that needs to be said here.
    I thought it was because he had 2 cpus that are both dual core. So 2x 2 dual channel controlers would be "quad pumped" not sought as "quad channel/256bit"

    Explain? :banghead:
  2. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    I'm confused too. You'd think the memory and the board would also need to be developed to run in 'quad channel'.
  3. hbkl Guest

    well im more confused than yours xD :banghead:
  4. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,402 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    5000x chipset - it is developed for quad channel memory ;)
  5. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    That's a start. Now is there quad channel memory available yet?
  6. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    This is a server board, server FB ram, and 2 server Xeons (obviously).

    So its really quad channel? Cause if so im gonna feel like the biggest n00b ever.
  7. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    He's running 8 gig at ddr2-533. Where's the timings at under the cpuz memory tab? And the channels box is greyed out. So no, he's not in duel channel either. What board is he running?
  8. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    It says it in CPU-Z. Its a Dell server system that he stuffed some SCSI Cheetahs in and an 8800GT. He set the world record for that cpu at 2.6ghz as well.
  9. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,402 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    [​IMG]

    The successor is the 5300 series of chipsets, supporting quad FB DDR2-800.

    -edit- ^5400
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2008
  10. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    I see. Well i spotted something horrible. 256bit memory interface but only a 64bit FSB. Thats like taking an interstate highway during rush hour and making it 2 lanes.
  11. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    Sorry, didn't see it was a server board. Just focusing on the ram. Not quite sure about the quad channel thing. Cpuz must not support that board then.
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,120 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,457
    yeah its a server board with quad channel ram. the MHz and latencies are usually pretty poor for that kinda system however.
  13. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,466 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Quad channel is only Dual channel *2. A G.Skill rep told me cause I asked abotu this on another fourm. Heres the link.

    http://www.eggxpert.com/forums/thread/164031.aspx

  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,120 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,457
    the Gskill guy wont be talking about FBdimms in a server environment... he'd be talking about 4x1 or 4x2GB packs of ram
  15. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    That guys isnt talking about the same thing we are though.
  16. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Your friend is running Quad Channel. Some server and workstation boards can also run Octochannel. You need the very expensive chipsets to do this. Memory bandwidth pwns a regular "consumer" mainboard. But FB-DIMMs are required: expensive and power hungry.

    LOL@CrAsHnBuRnXp. The guy is refering to RAM kits, no capabilities of a mainboard.

    Skulltrail is the nearest thing an "enthusiast" gets to specialist workstation performance: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_SkullTrail

    Intel chipset 5400 allows for 800 clocked FBDIMMs. The older 5100 chipset only has 533 memory IIRC

    http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=82&l3=644&l4=0&model=2090&modelmenu=1
    Mussels says thanks.
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,120 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,457
    thanks lemonade, well written post explaining the situation better than i did.
  18. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    It's a crap CPU though. And considering the chipset won't go past ~390MHz 2.6GHz won't happen.

    There is no 5300 series. There is the 5400 Seaburg and the budget variation 5100. (uses reg DDR2 instead of FB)

    Channels are a chipset feature, not a memory feature. As far as the memory is concerned you can run it in 100 channel configurations.

    Funny fact, the memory performs worse than dual channel DDR2. There are two FSB's, ie 2x 64bit. The memory is bottlenecking, not the FSB.

    Timings are pretty much set for FB-DIMM's, latency is mostly cause by the AMB though. It's usually in the 80-100 area, pretty poor.
    Cybrnook2002 and Mussels say thanks.
  19. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Cybrnook2002 and Mussels say thanks.
  20. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,363 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,607
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The older chipset is 5000 V/P/X.
  21. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    1./ FB-DIMMs "drink"!

    [​IMG]

    2./ For Dan, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UltraSPARC_T2. 4 independent FB-DIMM dual channel controllers = octochannel

    3./ I had understood that the slower 5100 chipset with max FSB 333 was older than 5400 FSB 400. But perhaps as Dan suggested, it is the same generation, just came out first, slower, and cheaper?

    4./ FB-DIMM has a "rank" concept. Adding more memory to "ranks" of the same channel increases bandwidth. I think Dan would be able to explain the FB-DIMM technology better than me. But here's a link or two that explain, but infortunately, without real word benchmarking http://download.micron.com/pdf/techn...dr2/tn4721.pdf http://www.simmtester.com/PAGE/news/showpubnews.asp?where=533424&num=136

    5./ Bandwidth on fully populated FB-DIMM server chipset pwns a regular dual channel DDR. Why? Quad channel vs. 2 channel, PLUS 2 rank vs. single, PLUS FB-DIMM allows SIMULTANEOUS read and write. Regular DDR cannot do this. Big gains when multitasking and/or tasking with mix read/write. But latencies on regular DDR are lower. Swings and roundabouts depending on purpose.

    NOTE >> Most reviewers who have tested bandwidth of FB-DIMM make the FATAL FLAW of using only 2 sticks. For max speed you need 8 sticks (4 channels populated, 2 ranks each). Plus, to see the real benefit you need to compare read/wriet benchmarks not just simplistic read only or write only. If anyone has a benchie or wants to hunt one down on the net... please link.


    PERSONAL BET >> I'm pretty sure a xeon on quad channel FB-DIMM (2 rank even better) completing a video encoding task, e.g. MPEG2 to DIVX, would STOMP a similar Conroe DDR2 setup same clocks.
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2008
  22. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    They are four separate controllers according to that text. I would imagine each two cores have their own controller, similar to how many servers have a memory interface per CPU. Look at high end Opteron boards for example. Those aren't quad/octo channel controllers, they simple have a controller per CPU.
    The FB-DIMM specs allow six channels per controller, as far as I know there aren't any chipsets utilizing that though.
    Anyway, I was assuming we were at least talking about x86 hardware, nobody has a modern Sparc at home.

    Not per se for blades, though considering the 5100/5400 can waste quite some energy it might not be a bad plan to go for 5100 based blades.

    Most 1GB+ dimms are double rank modules in the first place. I've seen Wintec 4 rank modules as well. Look up some random post I made about ranks and quad channel with 6 modules. The ranks make this possible, same as dual channel with three modules.

    Yes, it's a fatal flaw. However, I still haven't seen any impressive numbers coming from FB-DIMMs, perhaps it is better when using 8 modules per channel with 4 rank modules. But this will be quite expensive and use a lot of power.
    Besides, my boards only have 6 DIMM slots (and just four on my server) so it's no option for me. I could eventually add two 4GB 4 rank modules though, that way I'd have 4 ranks per channel. (and 16GB of RAM, why would I want that?)
  23. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    I agree, FB-DIMM is not a winner for any price/performance or power/performance ratio. But, on the simple question about which is faster, for a single threaded test, serial memory benchmark, regular DIMMs will win. But for multi-tasking mixed read/write, FB-DIMM wins.

    > Games - DIMM
    > Encoding, servers - FB-DIMM (but at a high price)

    Academic study http://www.eng.umd.edu/~blj/papers/hpca2007.pdf

    Decent, comparable, benchmarks of DDR2 vs. FB-DIMM, same processor family and clock, are IMPOSSIBLE to find :-(
  24. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,363 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,607
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Is this "oct-channel" ?

    [​IMG]
  25. wolf2009 Guest

    ^^ WOW , what motherboard is that ? I'm sure its for a server, but how would it perform in video encoding and games ?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page