1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Question about i5 2500k Overclock

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Xero717, Apr 26, 2012.

  1. Xero717

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So I originally thought my i5 2500k was a good chip, until I saw exactly how much vcore was being used to reach the speeds I was at. Right now, i have to apply 1.37v to reach a stable 4.6 ghz on my system, which drops to 1.33v to hit 4.4 ghz. From what I can gather around the net that's a little high to hit that speed. Temps are fine, I'm using a H100 right now and they never break 42 C even when stressed. Question is, should I leave the chip where it is? Push it further? Or just ditch it and go with an Ivy Bridge.

    Motherboard I'm currently using is a Maximus V Gene.

    Appreciate any input.
     
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,273 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,726
    Those voltages dont seem to bad,my chip takes 1.25 to run 4ghz and 1.4 to run 5ghz so you are in the same boat as I am
     
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,174 (4.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,432
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Are you on Z77? Z77 boards, overall, tend to clock SB chips better than P67/Z68.


    And I have zero idea as to why. :p Investigating now, but I need IVB on P67/Z68 before i can be sure.


    Anway, that would mean that his chip is actually a bit "worse" than yours.

    Either take it up to 5GHz on your 2500K, or get 3770K @ 4.6-4.8 GHz, both will perform around the same, but 3770K will have HT. I do not think 3570K will be like 2500K was for 24/7 clocks.
     
  4. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,273 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,726
    im on a P67 UD5.....i dont even get the fancy bios just a plain old award.
     
  5. Xero717

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have to push 1.4 to get the system to POST at 4.8, so yeah, I think your chip's a little better than mine :p
     
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,174 (4.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,432
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I loved my P67A-UD5. Pretty good board, even without UEFI BIOS. But Z77 still clocks better, and quite often, uses less power while doing so. I'm actually impressed at the changes; even though it seems relatively minor on the surface, Z77 actually offers a far better package overall. I've got the Z77X-UD5H here, pretty interesting progression there in the UD5-level of products.

    The CPUs do too, so it might be worth it to make the upgrade for many people. What's going to be the real deciding factor for me is the power consumption of the CPU itself, which does still, even with all the heat complaints, seem to be less than SNB.
     
  7. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,273 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,726
    the thing is and some people dont know this. I had to undervolt the pll to 0.88 to get past 4.8 and that too lowered my cpu volts for my overclock, something for you to keep in mind.

    I dont know if you remember overclocking on x58 but it was the same way undervolt to get more
     
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,174 (4.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,432
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    That doesn't really apply too much on ASUS boards. Some don't even offer lowering PLL. OC approach on Gigabyte vs ASUS is very different.

    PLL drop applies to all Intel chips on Gigabyte it seems. PLL has two modes on a lot of boards, lower-volt mode uses a smaller waveform that is easier, seemingly, to regulate. SNB is 1.65 V or lower, SNB-E I use as little as 1.20 V.
     
  9. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,273 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,726
    So are you saying Asus boards are inferior and dont allow the option for undervolting? I wouldnt know myself as i havent used Intel Asus for awhile
     
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,174 (4.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,432
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    It's not inferior, just a different approach. ASUS says this for M5G:

    Similarily, i get best OCs on GIgabyte using Offset votlage, but ASUS i get best using manual voltage. THere's many differences that makes writing OC guides for just general usage on any board quite hard.
     
  11. Xero717

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    At what rate would you recommend doing that while trying to maintain stability? Right now my CPU PLL is set at 1.7.
     
  12. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,273 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,726
    What i did was push until i hit a "wall" mine was around 4.8ghz,you will know because it will seem like no matter how much voltage you push it wont budge. at that point start looking at other volotages and move them around. SA(system agent) voltage didnt seem to help me to much. and now that i think of it,it wasnt the PLL that i lowered to 0.88 it was the QPI/VTT. i have included the screenshot of what my voltages were when i hit 5ghz,notice all of the voltages that were lowered or "undervolted"

    At times a quick google search can help alot to see what voltages people are using with your board and the same chip.

    [​IMG]
     
    Xero717 and PopcornMachine say thanks.
  13. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    Those voltages are pretty much the same as what mine uses. And I'm using a Gene-Z
     
    AthlonX2 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page