1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

question and demanding advice

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by GreiverBlade, May 10, 2012.

  1. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,496 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    943
    ok 1st things 1st : i have a HP tower spec

    CPU: Phenom II X6 1035T 2.6ghz (3.1 turbo) (didnt got Buldozer gen since i've heard its a near-faillure)

    Cooler: Arctic Cooling Freezer Extreme Rev.2 double tower 120mm

    Motherboard: Foxconn Alpinia RS780L (could be worse)

    Ram: 8go DDR3 1333 Hyundai Value select (sufficient atm 16go is a bit pointless but also a idea)

    GPU: XFX HD6850 Black Edition 1go (core 925mhz ram 1080mhz)

    HDD: Seagate Momentus 7200.12 1.5To

    PSU: Corsaire CX 550w

    case: Nzxt Nemesis with 3 Arctic Cooling 12 pwm
    1st question on hardware change (beside upgrading gears) i changed the PSU and the GPU (since HP put a 300w and a geforce 405 inside it was more than mandatory):

    Win 7 64 its a pre instaled i guess minor change like above doesnt require new install but Mobo change will require it? right?

    2nd question (upgrade) wich AMD socket would be more "toward future upgrade" since i wont go Bulldozer and i dont know if the Pilldriver will be declined non Apu and AM3+

    FM1 with a Llano and not using gpu (or a hybrid using Apu when not gaming)
    AM3+ with my current 1035T (i know its the lower end of the Phenom II X6 but its fine atm)

    i dont mind waiting since all the game i play runs fine with all at max (ME3 Eve online and so)

    the things im sure i can do in a near future would be : 7850/70/(hypotetical)90, PSU upgrade Ram upgrade and case upgrade

    (here is also something on getting a lan Gaming mATX case like a NZXT Vulcan or going for a midi tower and being able to fit a full standard ATX board after)

    thanks for reading (my budget isnt static yet not defined)

    for exemple Unigine 2.5 basic (i will DL the 3.0 when i get a better Connection at job)

    Fps 27.0
    Score 681 (ridiculous isnt it?)

    min Fps 7.4 (uh? did that go so slow i didnt noticed it o_O )
    max Fps 53.7

    all setting to max except Tesselation on normal (i know AMD gpu doesnt like tesselation)

    will its kinda a awfull score it was looking smooth to run (that or my brain is soooo slow that i can feel the slowering)

    on more reasonable setting i get better fps so as long as i can tweak the settings im fine
    (also atm games ... dx9 console style with a DX11 label ... humpf big deal)

    Crysis 2 DX11 patch + high res patch all max all fine no stuttering (same point as for unigine ... either its fine or its my brain who need to be upgraded ...)
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2012
  2. Capitan Harlock

    Capitan Harlock

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    425 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Arcadia
    you dont wanna bring a cpu cooler and overclock a littlebit the cpu?
  3. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,332 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    Location:
    Oregon
    Personally I would start saving money and not put any more into the HP. It also sound like you need to make your mind up on what you want and what your budget is
  4. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,098 (5.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Location:
    Home
    Head spinning after reading that.

    First things first: you have a 1035T with 6850. That is reasonably powerful enough for you to play most games at mid settings, and few at high. No need to worry about benchmarks etc.

    A bit of search returns this: http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5172
    It appears to me that you have swapped a halfway decent 300w for a shit 450w. Not that I would go back to the 300w but keep in mind that the 450w you have right now is no better than the 300w with your current setup.

    Upgrading: This is a nice system for mid range gaming, with almost dead end ugrading capabilities. I personally wouldn't be bothered to upgrade anything, other than the graphics in 1.5~2 years time (if you are still using this rig). Its better for you to start from scratch again for your next build, cheaper in the long run.
  5. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,496 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    943
    1st no question was answered .... how come? :roll:

    2nd how a 300w hp std psu with no PCIx connector is better than a 460w 80plus also LC-Power doesnt have the reputation of a Corsaire or a CM but whatever ...

    3rd im not about upgrading the HP but re-using some component when i will change the main component (alongside with a new case)

    "Personally I would start saving money and not put any more into the HP. It also sound like you need to make your mind up on what you want and what your budget is"

    what i want is exactely : answer to my 2 question about OS and Socket.
    budget not defined since i dont have a limitation but has to be on the long run

    also indeed that rigs allow me to run all games i play with setting to max without going under the 30-40fps so even if its not 140fps or other current setup its fine (never had a recent game who wasnt smooth and clean with all to max even BF3)

    What i ask is : once and again, answer to the 2 question i asked :D

    1 : Os pre installed, on minor change like GPU PSU Ram upgrade doesnt need to be re installed on major change like Mobo it does (i need a confirmation on that ... :twitch: )

    2 : AMD socket, FM1 or AM3+ since i can keep my CPU on a AM3+ i would like to know (if anyone have info on that) if the Piledriver will be declined desktop.

    not that i cant go Intel if AMD keep going APU side (i hold no grudge against apu i have a netbook with a C60/HD6290 wich run like a charm) but i would like to keep on AMD (CPU/GPU)

    no offense :toast:

    also the Unigine Bench was a humorous note ofc i dont care about Bench as long as my game runs smooth xD
  6. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,098 (5.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Location:
    Home
    If you are going to ask the questions at least dont bury it deep into a poast and expect people to pick it up.

    I still stand by my judgement that the 300w from HP is better than the 460w LC-Power, OEM manufacturers don't really cheap out on PSU. Unless there is a contrary evidence, this will be the stance I am taking.

    You will need to change the drivers for graphics card upgrade, but the rest you dont need to reformat.

    Stick with your motherboard for now, and upgrade CPU+mobo+ram when you need to in the future.

    Use better English and keep it concise next time, thanks.
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  7. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,496 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    943
    well sorry im swiss

    my english isnt so bad

    try to do that in french o_O

    again no offense

    buryied in the middle i recognise ... i thought people read entire post or get TL:DR syndrome
    nothing is Dead end specialy when its in my hand

    You will need to change the drivers for graphics card upgrade, but the rest you dont need to reformat. : half answer obviously for Gpu change i know driver has to be updated since i switched for a nvidia to a amd
    but if i change the Mobo : you say i dont need to reformat, i've heard oposit ... thats kinda weird ... damn no confirmation only 2 variation yes/no xD i like that ...

    altho im not sure that HP 300w was a good one ... too limited on connector and so, whatever
    Last edited: May 10, 2012
  8. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,478 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    852
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    1) Yes, a change to the motherboard will be substantial enough to require a reinstall of Windows. As you have an HP computer, you aren't likely to be able to reactivate with the same code.

    2) As others have stated, there isn't much that this system can still be expanded to. The socket is dying, as AMD is pushing more for Bulldozer/Piledriver. The power supply is reaching its limitations. The fact that it currently is a moderate gaming machine will be its fate, until it slips into a low end gaming machine in the next year to two years.

    The sensible option would not be to upgrade the system. Save all of the money you want to put into a new CPU/motherboard. Get something Intel (either a used i5 2500k on the cheap, or a newer Ivy Bridge processor that fits your budget), as gaming appears to be your only goal. Reuse the RAM, PSU, HDDs, ODDs, and GPU to rebuild something that can last you more than the next 12 months. Next year, spend money on a good PSU, and potentially a new GPU. If you do this you can pull an excellent mid-range gaming rig out, rather than forming a piece meal rig that doesn't have any particularly finite goals
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  9. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,496 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    943
    Indeed thanks

    Ok i need to take a win 7 retail if i go for a AM3+ or go Intel side.

    Im mot in a hurry atm, i Will look for amd news for the moment

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page