1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Questions about my 5970s

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by kevc2181, Jun 19, 2010.

  1. kevc2181 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello :) I've been browsing these forums for a few days soaking up information and I have a few questions. I have 2 Gigabyte 5970 in crossfire. I'm starting to regret buying Gigabyte because one is not working... well sort of. It works fine with the stock cooler on it, but when I put the water block on it stops working. Windows will boot but withing a min or two I get artifacts/lockup or just lockup. I'm using the bitspower black freezer for the 5970, I noticed it does not have the same cut for the CPL-2-50 as the EK block that was causing problems. Mine is all flat. I don't understand why one is working with the water block and the other isn't. I've tried swapping PCI-E slots, water blocks, and testing the cards alone, but it's still the same card acting up every time. Any suggestion???


    I wanted to update the BIOS but I e-mailed Gigabyte and they don't have an updated BIOS yet. I've noticed that just about all the 5970s loo the same, so my next question is would it be ok if I flash my card with an updated BIOS from another company? Thanks in advance for any help!!!
     
  2. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,188 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,979
    Location:
    Home
    Welcome to TPU! :toast:

    You should post your problems here if you are looking for experts, but its fine. Just wait for people who have more expertise than me to pop out. I think your problem is that the block is not making a good contact with the chip, causing the chip to overheat and artefact.
     
    kevc2181 says thanks.
  3. kevc2181 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help! I added extra layers of thermal pad earlier and had no results :( I don't think it's an overheating problem because the card will work perfectly fine with the water block on when I drain the water from it, but then it gets really hot.
     
  4. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    try taking the water block off and see if it works without it, if it still doesn't then I would RMA, that's my 2 cents...I pefer you to use the above link, that's what I've done in the past. Good luck :)
     
    kevc2181 says thanks.
  5. crush3r

    crush3r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    346 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    I've heard of 5970s having a cold bug below 28C, depends how good your water setup is but it could be that. The other 5970 you have may not have the cold bug as low. I think it was TSki that found the cold bug out, maybe ask him what the symptoms were?

    Edit: Also, adding extra layers of thermal pad won't help dissipate heat, it will hinder it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2010
    kevc2181 says thanks.
  6. kevc2181 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the suggestions guys! Yeah it seems that the cold bug is a possible problem.

    I didn't know the extra layers of thermal pad would hinder heat transfer. Should I just use a thicker thermal pad instead of layering 2?
     
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, I'd say "coldbug" too. Some "hardcore" benchers are using peltier devices on the bridge chip to heat them when running the cards sub-zero, and this is why we haven't seen very many under LN2, and most that are benching them are just running air, even, not even water! Most just cut one of the fan wires to make the fan go 100%.:eek:

    One thick pad will be better than 2, yes.
     
    kevc2181 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page