1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Quick Reply -> Go Advanced Strangeness

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by Kreij, May 19, 2009.

  1. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I upload an image using TPU Image hosting.
    I them copy and paste the IMG line into Quick Reply.
    If I then click on Go Advanced, when the new page displays it has changed the IMG tags to URL tags in the editing box.
    The image in the preview looks like it would using the IMG tags, but if I do not change it back to IMG tags before submitting, it uses the URL tags in the post.
    This happens to me every time I perform the above steps.

    Not a big deal, just thought I would mention it. :toast:
  2. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Yeah its happened to me a number of times just know to change to img tags when posting.
  3. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Yes, since the IMG line is in the clipboard it's a simple thing to just highlight the URL line and paste over it. I just wanted to report the issue to make everyone aware of it.
  4. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Probably has to do with the img tags being replaced with url tags in quotes. Otherwise you'd have 20 huge and identical pics on a page due to people quoting eachother.
  5. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Paste the IMG line when you already are in the advanced window. That should do the trick.
  6. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I know that MRCL, it's just that if someone starts a post in Quick Reply and adds images that use IMG tags, they should be aware that the tags will be changed to URLs when they move to the advanced page (even though the preview looks as it should).

    Just a heads up.
  7. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    You're right. Happened to me a few times, like wtf is going on, till I realised what happened.
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,756 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,468
    check if this is fixed now
  9. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Ive tried it a few times seems to work fine now cheers W1zz.
  10. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I didn't post in this thread as I verified it in the more recent one.
    Anyway, yes it is fixed.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page