1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

R600 OEM picture galore

Discussion in 'News' started by Bastieeeh, Apr 12, 2007.

  1. Bastieeeh New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    462 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Germany
    The website PCINLIFE got hold of more pictures of the OEM R600 yesterday. Thanks go out to Flint who was kind enough to alarm us.
    Btw.: The pictures are still there at PCINLIFE but its a real pain to create an account if you can't cope with Chinese symbols.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: PCINLIFE
     
  2. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    lol any non-average joe could mistake the first R600 pic for a gun... it looks so hefty. The PCB is so bare compared to the G80.
     
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,936 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    [​IMG]
    wtf
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,780 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    First signs of GPU sockets are printed on this board...
    (see attachments)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    The backplate is thick as hell..
     
  6. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    Thats for incase the card needs extra power, newer psus are coming out with 8 pin pci power connectors but these cards come with a 8 to 6 pin adapter.

    so theses cards will be out in under a months time right?
     
  7. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    w00t the R600 can use two 6-pin PCI-E sockets.

    Wont need the adapter, the 8-pin is essentially a 6-pin with two more pins. Same pin arrangement.
     
  8. largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,780 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    6pin works in the 8pin plug ONLY if the pins are terminated on the same plane.
     
  9. breakfromyou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    virginia, usa
    Hopefully the retail card is a few feet shorter. That can't be the one we will get in stores here in a few weeks/months. Its so long they gave it a handle...
     
  10. Zalmann

    Zalmann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    910 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    It's still a full length card. Looks great in red though I must admit.
     
  11. kureng

    kureng New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
    what dis for?? SLI or Crossfire....???
     
  12. Zalmann

    Zalmann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    910 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    It's ATI => Crossfire.
     
  13. kureng

    kureng New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    does crossfire use bridge interface like SLI? as i know, it does not...
     
  14. Zalmann

    Zalmann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    910 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Yes it does, they (ATI) introduced it with the x1950 pro. The difference is, they need 2 bridges instead of only 1 for SLI.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2007
  15. TXcharger

    TXcharger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    431 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    SAN ANTONE, TX
    actually i do believe the double bridge is for a three card setup as well as normal crossfire setup
     
  16. Zalmann

    Zalmann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    910 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    You may be right, but according to ATI, using only two VC in crossfire configuration, you should use both bridges.
     
  17. Zalmann

    Zalmann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    910 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    2 sets of 6, so 12 pins.
    edit: sorry, my bad. You're right, 14 pins.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2007
  18. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    And I thought the 8800's were huge... seriously, though, it does look like a gun. Wonder how long before you see a mod that builds on that?
     
  19. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Wow, it actually looks good without all that crap on top (and bottom) of it. Now slap a Zalman vf900 and some copper memory sinks there and now we're talking (yes I know it would only work in idle).
     
  20. Zalmann

    Zalmann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    910 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Unfortunately the VF900 will not be able to cool that beastie. It's not rated high enough for the R600 or the 8800, but I'm sure Zalman will be working on something to cater for these very soon.
     
  21. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Voltage regulators will be the biggest promlem, as they don't have their own heatsink, but they might do some cooler for those too. Same could work for x1xx0 series.
     
  22. Zalmann

    Zalmann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    910 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Yep, they sure will need cooling, especially with the high power requirements for the GPU.
     
  23. largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,780 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    I put together a little in-scale size comparison of some graphics cards of present and future, including X2900XTX (two diff. revs), X1950XTX, 8800GTX, 8800GTS and 8600GT.

    [​IMG]
    Click to enlarge
     
  24. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    so the 8800 gtx is the longest of them all? the x2900 xtx looks huge next to that toy though...
     
  25. largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,780 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    kwchang007,
    This X2900XTX is the OEM version, it will never be available for consumers, it's only for corporate system builders like Dell and the likes.

    OEM card has the same circuit board as the retail card, only difference between the two is the OEM has a bigger cooler. Retail board has a much smaller heatsink-fan - it just barely overlaps the circuit board.

    Retail card with HSF installed should be smaller than 9" which means it's smaller than current high end ATi cards like X1950XTX.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page