1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

R700 Supports 4-way Crossfire X?

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 13, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,606 (10.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,093
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Yes, you read that right. You can use upto four HD4870 X2 accelerators in tandem for an 8-GPU, 9.6 TFLOP, 8 GB graphics crunching monster. You need a 4-slot motherboard though. There are 4-slot solutions available on the AMD 790FX platform, for Intel though X48 did support 4 slots and images of prototype X48 boards with 4 slots did surface months back, there isn't such a board out yet. You do have the Skulltrail platform and upcoming X58 Bloomfield-supportive boards do promise to come in 4 slot flavours.

    In a press-conference, Raja Koduri, worldwide CTO (Products Group), AMD talked to Indian website TechTree, among minor revelations such as "Fusion in 2009", here's a shocker:

    "AMD has already built a computer that has four 4870X2s in it. So it has eight GPUs; drivers will not be supporting eight GPUs at this point of time."

    -Implies that AMD is fully geared up to go head on against GT200b whenever it comes up. It's all a matter of them releasing a supportive driver. Again, unreliable sources point towards the possibility that also in the pipeline could be a R700+ which could be based on 'Super-RV770XT' processors. If you thought you're witnessing the peak of the GPU battle for supremacy, hold on, you're only getting appetised.

    Source: TechTree
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2009
    WarEagleAU, mlupple, indybird and 2 others say thanks.
  2. PrudentPrincess

    PrudentPrincess New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    669 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Eugene
    [​IMG]
    IM HUNGRY
     
    WarEagleAU, mlupple and indybird say thanks.
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    sh!t... there goes all my money.
     
  4. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    LOL, and looks like records are going to be shattered, or utterly bombed, who here is going to get the 2k watt PSU just to test this?
     
  5. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    rofl... i have a pair of psu's that would power any rig. 1kw galaxy and 860watt pc power.
     
  6. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    wow imagine a computer generated movie rendered in days instead of months or years O_O (real time raytracing +++)
     
  7. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    I am going to eat the waffle in your avatar boogah.
     
  8. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    good for AMD, make back some cash and push them prices down from intel and geforce. I gotta hand it to them they just don't quit and are going for the kill shot. I think it's time to buy some AMD they are gonna be the top dog here soon.
     
  9. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    Damn, I'm even about to be broke :( I guess its better than the wifey spending $2500 on a crystalline doggy paperweight :D
     
    mlupple says thanks.
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Well I wonder if 4 of them would even work long with a 1kw psu. Might need 1200w or 1500w... Or maybe im just insane. But then again AMD is more insane.. 8 gpu's lol I can see that breaking some 3dmark records.
     
    mlupple says thanks.
  11. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    Gah, now I'm going to have to use both of my 1000watters in one machine :cry:
     
    mlupple says thanks.
  12. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,606 (10.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,093
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    And plus thanks to nGOHQ.com, you have a Radeon PhysX driver by then, dedicate a GPU to crunch PhysX, eat the record cake.

    Why so much worry over power? A good 700W PSU is all you need for 2 cards, you do have 1200W boxes out there by ABS-Tagan, Silverstone, etc. 1200W could do.
     
  13. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    honestly..... WTF?

    3 GPU's scale well but they are still having problems with 4 GPU's scaling similar to 3. you cant add 4 more and expect it to work if 4 doesnt even perform up to par.

    you dont add 4 extra tires to a car and expect it to go faster.
     
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,606 (10.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,093
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It's not a question of tires here, it's engines. A bomber (aircraft) with four engines carries more load.
     
  15. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    I love the idea. However you'll only need 2 of them to destroy vantage. So you can just use the other 2 as lovey PhysX. 100000+ CPU vantage scores anyone :D

    BTW, I have an unopened 1600W X3 uber monster. This is going to be a very good year. I never thought I would ever get to use that thing :pimp:
     
  16. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    speaking of Physx Nvidia is smart as hell letting AMD in on that. You know damn well they are gonna sell the a license and then make money off the competitions video card success and also on any game that uses it. Basically getting all the revenue that the physx cards were supposed to make but not making the cards just selling the programming, thats smart
     
  17. X-TeNDeR

    X-TeNDeR New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    110 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Sharpening The Underdog's Teeth
    4 cards :eek::eek::eek:
    AMD is going all-out here, lets hope they pull this off nicely, and devastate this round.

    Daaamn.. this setup should be illegal :laugh:
     
  18. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    I would LOVE one of these rigs
     
  19. ViciousXUSMC New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    More than the power need, I would be concerned for the cooling & case needs. 4 cards you need a full tower for sure, and probably a extended atx formfactor mobo. Cooling all of those would be a major pain and you may as well strip down to your boxer shorts because after about an hour of crysis you will probably be in a 100 degrees + room temp.
     
  20. HaZe303

    HaZe303 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    305 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sweden (08-Stockholm)
    8 gpu´s not supported by their drivers, hah! Im happy when 1 of their gpu´s is supported properly! I have huge issues with my 4850 whenever I want to play games. All games crash with current drivers, and im not alone with these issues. C´mon ATI, stop youre war with Nvidia for a second and give us some proper support. ATI doesnt even have official drivers for the HD4800 series yet, you need to search for the hotfix drivers, and they dont even work alright.... Im 3 seconds away from selling this junk piece of card!!!
     
    roberto888 says thanks.
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Meh, 2 GTX480 rads would be plenty. lol.
     
  22. ViciousXUSMC New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    May as well just park the front end of an old car in your room and use a car rad.
     
  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Hmmmmm, good idea! lol
     
  24. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    hmm well interesting question though what AMD CPU can drive this with a REZ we can use today?

    Where talking Resolutions that havnt been thought of for a single display to occure, youd need 71111x4000 displays here ya know
     
    roberto888 says thanks.
  25. selway89

    selway89

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    395 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Mmmm power lol. But thats 8GB of just graphics memory, screwed if you run 32bit OS lol.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page