1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon HD 7970 Raw Specs Leaked

Discussion in 'News' started by TheMailMan78, Dec 16, 2011.

  1. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,184 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,708
    If slide leaked on Orb-Hardware is to be believed we GPU consumers are in for a pretty big treat in the next month or so. The slide shown below states that the AMD 7970 will have a default core clock speed of 925MHz and a whopping 3 GB of GDDR5 memory.

    It also sports a 3.5 TFLOPs precision floating point. Which would put it well beyond the NVIDIA flagship single GPU solution. The slide states the a ROP count of 32, against an earlier speculated count of 48. This could be because AMD may have delinked ROP clusters from memory bus. The cooler itself is under the trademark AMD black shroud so there is no way to see if it uses the rumored "vapor chamber" as seen in after market solutions.

    Looking past all the beastly prowess of this slide one cannot help but think about power draw. The "leaked" slide states the 7970 will have a peak power draw of 300 W and an idle draw of 3 W. We will have to wait for review to see if any of these amazing stats are true.

    [​IMG]

    Source: OBR Hardware
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 16, 2011
    WarEagleAU, Black Panther and cadaveca say thanks.
  2. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    32 ROPs on a 384bit 3GB GDDR5 ram '__'
     
  3. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,455 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2011
  4. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,071 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    32ROPS wtf:confused::ohwell:, should still be a beast of a card:respect:
     
  5. WarraWarra New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    268 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Idle 3w sure it is not 30w surely this is not a mobile gpu as I suggested they do and if it is to achieve the 3w minm then 300w is way over the top for the top end.
     
  6. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    AMD, hurry up and rape my wallet right f'ing now!
     
  7. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    Thank you very much for the link, more slides indeed.
     
  8. 63jax

    63jax

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    47 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Romania
    ...so no Rambus Ram? it would've been nice.
     
  9. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,840 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    If 3W is possible it sounds like they have found out how to do more than lower clocks and Volts.

    Over 3TFLOPs! I really need to upgrade my 2x 4850 now that I see these specs!
     
  10. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    32ROPs = Kepler here I come.
     
  11. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    357 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    Remember how Cayman was a "Dual Graphics Engine" GPU? It was essentially two Barts GPUs glued together, each with dual 64-bit dual channel memory controllers, where the 2 GB of RAM came from.

    This new GPU looks more like a "Tri Graphics Engine" GPU (they gave it a fancy marketing name, GCN = "Graphics Core Next"), so essentially three Barts GPUs glued together (albeit at 28nm), each with dual 64-bit dual channel memory controllers, and this is why it has exactly 3GB of RAM.

    Conclusion?

    Anyone with a tri-fire HD6870 setup can tell us exactly how this HD7970 card will perform.

    "Three HD6870s on a stick" (you can quote me on that)
     
  12. gorg_graggel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    51 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    just because the quantity of ROP is the same as the previous generation, doesn't mean their quality will be the same...
    for all we know, they could have beefed them up to be double as fast...

    or maybe it just didn't improve performance enough to justify the extra die space...
    after all they have been pretty beefy to start with...
     
  13. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Make that the generation before that previous generation as well.
     
  14. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    It still doesn't mean that they are the same, it don't think you can just compare the numbers with previous generation.
     
  15. gorg_graggel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    51 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    ^^this
     
  16. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I never said it is the same, for all we know there is a company that can make things worst than their previous generation. :p
    Even if they some how manage to to make the ROPs twice as powerful, top-end Kepler has exactly 64ROPs and that is counting on nVidia some how doesn't know how to make their GPUs better.
     
  17. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    That is true :roll:

    But we still don't have anything about Kepler (at least not as much we know about HD7xxx) so we can only guess how Kepler will perform(and we could also say the same for HD7xxx).
    Guessing the performance based on paper numbers can backfire (a.k.a. Bulldozer :laugh:)
     
  18. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2011
  19. gorg_graggel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    51 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    ROP = Raster Operation Processor

    it's the last step in a graphics pipeline, where all data is put together to be copied into the framebuffer, which then gets displayed on the monitor...anti aliasing and depth information is also processed there... (overly simplified)


    so increasing the number of those units would only benefit, when 1) the units have not been improved over the last generation and to get more performance you need to have more ROPs, or 2) they have not been fast enough already...
     
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,184 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,708
    Many 1337 thanks to DanishDevil on the scoop.
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  21. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    Performance is not going to be HUGE since its a totally new approach, which usually means no 2x performance jump (again totally speculation take with a lethal dose of salt.). Some games I am sure the 6970 will be close to the speed, and in others it will get blown away.

    Also, dont forget about AMD's infamously fast driver support. They probably only optimized 3Dmark and Unigine for now, and Crysis 2 and other games are still rendering with the "VGA adapter driver" from windows 95.
     
  22. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,184 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,708
    The last time they changed architecture it was from the 48xx series to the 58xx series. If that wasnt a huge jump in performance I dunno what is. The 69xx series is just a refined 58xx series so don't base your opinions off of that.
     
  23. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    I agree that was huge - but that wasnt a new Architecture IMO- it was the same VLIW concept tweaked. and in these cases performance increase is massive and proportional.

    4870 had 800 stream procs... 5770 also had 800 tweaked with DX11 instead of DX10.1, and performance was similar.
    5870 had 1600 stream procs - was double the speed of the 4870 give or take.

    2900 - 3800 -4800 - 5800 - 6900 are all general variants of the same concept, 7xxx series seems a bit more radical, uses a totally new approach - closer to the 1950XTX to 2900XT shift (again, take with a lethal dose of salt purely my 2c)
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2011
  24. FierceRed

    FierceRed

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    224 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Games this GPU needs to be benchmarked against at 1920x1200 & 2560x1600 before people can justifiably start to whine about the 32 ROPs:

    • Batman: Arkham City under DX11
    • Battlefield 3 on Ultra Preset, no custom bullshit
    • Metro: 2033 because its the new Crysis
    • Metro: Last Light upon release
    • Skyrim because people will froth if it isn't benchmarked... and then they'll froth anyway.
    • Witcher 2 with and without Ubersampling

    And by the way, unless all the major sites have had 7970s since the beginning of December, I doubt we're going to see "reviews" including benchmarks next Thursday. Which is fine because I wouldn't want to see a 7970 benchmarked on pre-12.1 drivers anyway.

    Wouldn't mind seeing these benchmarks on 120Hz monitors as well, now that I think about it. This vSync idiocy needs to end.
     
  25. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,184 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,708
    The 7970 is rumored to have 128 texture units, and 2,048 stream processors.
     
    purecain says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page