1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RAID 5 3TB Hard drives

Discussion in 'Storage' started by jcruiser89, Jul 4, 2012.

  1. jcruiser89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Guys, I am trying to set up a Raid 5 array on my computer. I have a GIGABYTE GA-890FXA-UD5 motherboard with 5 3tb drives. Using the on board Raid I am getting upwards of 550MB/s Read speeds, but only 30MB/s write speeds....... I tried multiple different setting, but couldn't get it any faster. I went and bought a HighPoint RocketRAID 2720SGL, but unfortunately it is not compatible with my motherboard..... I did manage to get it up in windows one time with some fiddling and did a benchmark, speeds were 600+MB/s read and write, but after a reboot the card completely lost the array and failed to boot to windows. I am looking either for a way to boost my current mobo, get a new mobo that would be faster or get a compatible raid controller for my mobo. I dont need 600MB/s write speed I would be fine with 100-155MB/s. I want to keep this under $300. Let me know what you guys think, Thanks and have a happy 4th of July.
     
  2. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,303 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,188
    What issues were you having with your card?



    Also your slow RAID 5 writes are more than likely due to uninitialized drives, the array is built in the background while you use your computer, did you install the AMD drive package to monitor the array in windows?


    What drives are they, 5400 RMP "green" drives, brand, model.....
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  3. jcruiser89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I did a full initialization, which took 3 days and it still had slow write speeds(30MB/s). The Highpoint card made windows freeze on startup. I even disabled all onboard ports and put 2 64gb ssds on the card in a raid 1 and tried to install windows and it froze durring install. The only way I was able to boot into windows is if I went into the card on startup and initialized all the drives attached then it would boot windows that one time, after a reboot it would freeze again. I updated the bios of my mobo and the firmware on the card to no avail.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2012
  4. jcruiser89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  5. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,303 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,188
    Return the card as defective and try a new one, and if that fails see if you can try it in another motherboard.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  6. jcruiser89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah.........thanks.......... I said screw it and installed Linux. Software Raid 5 is getting 180+MB/s write............
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page