1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RAID0 no faster than SATA

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by EnglishLion, May 25, 2006.

  1. EnglishLion

    EnglishLion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    461 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    I've just set up a RAID0 array and it's no faster than my previous SATA1 hdd. I'm using two SATA segate 80Gb drives to create a 160Gb array. ASrock DualSata2 mobo.

    I haven't seen any great improvement so I installed and ran PCmark05 and it scored ~ the same in both 'xp startup' and 'general hdd usage' tests.

    I wasn't sure what to set as stripe size, so I went for the default 16K.

    Am I missing a trick here?
     
  2. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    What transfer speeds are you getting? Burst/sustained...
     
  3. Aevum

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    642 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    take in to account that the secret to speed in raid0 is that you have x as much reading heads on x as many plates, the increse in speed is dependent on distribution of data between the drives, x being the number of drives,

    you get x the speed if the data you are reading from the array is distributed equaly between all the drives in the array, but if its distributed asymetricly, the speed increse will be less noticable,
     
  4. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    well are you by chance using drives with dif revisions?
     
  5. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,423 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    576
    Location:
    AZ
    160gb array out of 2 80's? thats spanning my friend. not striping. striping makes both drives become one at double the speed but limits it to 80GB storage for both drives. spanning makes both drives run as one drive with double the capacitiy but doesn't create any speed boost. mirroring is the other which makes both drives aquire the same infor as a backup.
     
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,065 (6.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,123

    No, RAID 0 is striping, and striping is when you take 2 drives and half the data gets written to one and half to the other. So 2 80GB drives striped together will give 160GB of total space, and theoretically double the read/write performance.

    http://www.acnc.com/04_01_00.html

    Time for someone to bone up on their RAID knowledge.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    raid 0 = striping
    raid 1 = mirroring
    jbod = spanning
     
  8. wtf8269

    wtf8269 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,495 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ohio
    This happened to me with my old Gigabyte GA-K8ns Ultra 939. It was due to a piss poor SATA controller. I only got 118mbps there and I get around 225mbps with my DFI.
     
  9. EnglishLion

    EnglishLion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    461 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    [​IMG]

    They are slightly diff drives (revision) but they are both seagate 80gb SATA drives. No-one's mentioned the stripe size yet. Is 16k alright? What other stripe sizes do people use?
     
  10. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    I should be setting up RAID 0 later today if my new hard drive works. I'll let you know how I get on.
     
  11. G.T

    G.T New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    573 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    The other side of Hell
    hehehe, preach on.
     
  12. EnglishLion

    EnglishLion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    461 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    Well I've now run Sandra 2007 and the file sys and hdd benchmarks come up nice and quick! Just don't see it in PCMark05 or in real windows situations.

    I'll have to patch up my bf2 (Just re-installed it) and see if map loading is quicker!!
     
  13. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    RAID is for loading times generally, not actually gaming or processing performance (other than the pagefile being a little quicker).
     
  14. EnglishLion

    EnglishLion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    461 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    Unfortunately it doesn't load XP any quicker though. And map loading in games is surely a type of loading?
     
  15. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    well it is. and the reason you arnt getting faster times is due to the different revisions. when a raid controller sences different drives - be it actually different of just revision - raid 1 will still function correctly as it isnt speed dependant but raid 0 will run at the speed of the slower drive, in all circumstances.
     
  16. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,423 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    576
    Location:
    AZ
    i wasn't arguing that raid 0 isn't striping lol,
    I was pointing out that no raid 0 array of two 80gb hard drives will be 160gb.
    didn't catch that did you?

    time for you to bone up I guess. or read. lol which seems to be a major epidemic on these forums, no one seems to do it.:shadedshu
    if he were running in a raid 0 striping array the two 80gb discs would run as a single 80gb disc. and btw the rerason I pointed it out is because when running a spanning array on my gigabyte board it interprets it as raid 0, it's wrong, but it doesn't change the fact that it reports it that way. which is probabaly what happened to englishlion.

    he thought he was running in a striping array and actually is running spanning which would explain the double capacity and regular speed. seriously read the post next time dude.
     
  17. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    um yogert take your own advice. if you are only writing half the file to each drive how does each file take twice the amout of data vs a single drive??? if you can explain that then i guess i am wrong.

    capacity of raid 0 is the sum of the discs (80+80=160gb)
    capacity of raid 1 is the sum of the discs divided by the amount of discs (80+80=160/2=80)
    capacity of raid 0+1 is the sum of the discs divided by two (80+80+80+80=320/2=160)

    you are saying raid 0 is raid 1. i personally have a raid 0 array of twin 80gb wd ata133 dives running on my home file server. i would really like to see how i have 160gb worth of storage in my raid 0 but you claim i only have 80gb.
     
  18. markkleb Guest

    The default stripe should be 64K (im pretty sure)

    I have uses Raptors, single and Raid0
    Segates, single and Raid0
    And my Hitachi Sata2 in Raid0 (4 of em)

    I notice a difference in all the raids, but the biggest difference I noticed was using a 16mb buffer Maxtor. It seemed faster than the raptors(36 Gig).

    This is a ATTO of my 4 Hitachi Sata2's
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    RAID 0 uses the technique of striping in order the share data accross drives without losing any storage capacity.
    RAID 1 uses mirroring to have the same data on both hard drives while losing 50% of your potential space.
    RAID 0+1 requires at least 4 hard drives and uses both techniques at once.

    Look here.
     
  20. EnglishLion

    EnglishLion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    461 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    Well RAID 0 definately allows full use of all the available drive space. 2 x 80 = 160gb. I know that for certain.

    However, I think my mistake was using too small a stripe size. My controller is the onboard Ali controller too and I think that's limiting. If I set it up again at any time it'll be a 64K stripe I think!
     
  21. bim27142

    bim27142

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    448 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pilipinas!
    agree!!!
     
  22. vrdublu

    vrdublu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    137 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Actually for stripping its better to have a larger stripe size, apparently the larger the better, somewhere in the 128k to 256k if thats possible. I am currently using 128k myself.
     
  23. EnglishLion

    EnglishLion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    461 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    64k is the largest my controller offers
     
  24. tony929292

    tony929292 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    362 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    usa
    it alway a small speed increase but it is an increase so yhat why people use raid 0
     
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,065 (6.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,123

    Again, try to at least know what you are talking about before you post, please.

    RAID 0 is the sum of the drives, so 80+80=160. Come on, I gave you the damn link telling you all of this, you didn't even have to use google...looks like you are the main cause of the epedemic on these boards.

    Striping is what he is running. JBOD is spanning and can be mistaken for RAID 0 in some cases, but he specifically said he was running RAID 0 and striping. So seriously read the post next time, and at least have a small clue about what you are talking about before you post 'dude'.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2006
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page