1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ram Upgrade

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Nemesis881, Nov 7, 2010.

  1. Nemesis881 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    692 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Dawsonville, GA
    So currently I have 4x512mb of Corsair value ram...ddr2 533.
    I am going to upgrade to this 2x2gb ddr2 800 kit:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820220396

    How much of a difference is this going to make with my current setup? I'm also trying to get a hold of my friends amd x2 6000+. I figure the extra / faster ram would help it out a lot.
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    It would maybe show alittle difference but not much. what motherboard do you have (model number)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    A8M2N-LA

    His board is some OEM brand (HP) but has been contacted by ASUS, and from what I can find at the moment the board will only support upto 667Mhz DDR support 800Mhz DDR.

    EDIT: Also further searching has shown that the max memory limit for that board is 4gb and a maximum of 1gb per bank so the 2x 2gb kit would not work with that board.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2010
  4. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    either way that ram is terrible m8 800mhz 5-5-5-12 is bad. try and look for some crucial 800mhs 4-4-4-12 4X1gb sticks
     
  5. Nemesis881 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    692 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Dawsonville, GA
    oh wow. this saved me some trouble thanks man!

    I will further my search then.
     
  6. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,783 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,058
    to be frank i dont see any performance benefit from a higher speed or lower latencies. things may be a bit faster....and you will have lil more ease OC-ing with out black editions.... but thats it.
    i have 2 GB DDR2 667 at 800MHz and aal iz well
     
  7. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I have one of those boards.....I'm Literally just Re-building an HP for someone right now
    Repalced the PSU, Mobo and cpu and Mem..
    Memory is going to help..Sure Volume will do it too, but that board is just awful

    I think it has an 80 watt cpu limit and the bios is in desperate need of an update..

    Most of the cpu's that board can run can only run the memory at 780 mhz.
    But it does have a rather good PCI-E interface given the rest of the boards limitations..

    Anyhow the mem will give you a boost...AS I just did that for this person a month ago While they were waiting to upgrade...

    It was an overall improvment of about 12%

    He wanted to try this I wasn't sure if it would work for that board
    But I talked him into spending $20 more to get a 620 with a mobo and memory (some used parts)
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page