1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

rate my cable management

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by imperialreign, Jan 14, 2008.

  1. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    Thought I'd one-up myself :D

    just a little run down - I posted this here as I'm just wanting people opinions, suggestions ratings whatever . . . this case isn't ready for the gallery, by a long shot, as I still have stuff I'm going to do . . . this turned out to be a rather tough setup for some reason, I think between the case itself, the PSU, and the location of the mobo connectors . . . anyhow, if you want, give me a rating between 1-10, and any comments and/or suggestions to go with it


    Anyhow, things I'm not happy with - the primary PCI-E power connector is too short to route behind the tray and under the mobo, or to come around the edge of the tray - which is why it looks as if it's just dangling there. Aside from physcially modding the cable to be longer, I'm kinda stuck with it. The cable is secured, though . . . Also, not happy with the orange SATA cable . . . unless I want to interfere with future RAID setups, I had to go with the SATA connection towards the back of the mobo, which means it's pinched in between the mobo and the back panel, on top of that, it's still too short to route it back under the tray. I'll have to keep my eye out for a much longer cable . . . Tha fans on the side panel I'm not too worried that they're not wrapped, as I plan on replacing them with 4 140mm units in the near future . . . not too happy with the secondary PCI-E adapter, either, as it's rather short in and of itself :ohwell:

    I'm keen with it, for now, but I'm wondering if I'm being to critical on myself about some things, so, I thought I'd fish for some opinions . . .



    <edit> - sorry bout the poor lighting on the pics, but I turned the exposure rate down so as to not have everything flooded by camera flash - all that shiny aluminum, y'know


    BEFORE (this was after I had just gotten the case out of the box and threw all my hardware in it just to get it up and running):

    [​IMG]




    And, this is after toiling with the case and routing for near about 5-6 hours yesterday:

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]




    alright - fire at will!
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2008
  2. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,532 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    i dont think its anything amazing but it is very good - a vast improvement on before.

    i cant think of anything that will make it better but i'm sure others can <cough>tk, slade<cough>
  3. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Night and day from when you first put it together to now. For your cable management it looks to me as though you've done the best job possible with the config you've got.

    9/10.:toast:
  4. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    yeah, kinda diggin for opinions here. I was starting to give serious thought to extending the PCI-E cables, as that'd clean things up a lot, too.


    BTW - anyone else with a P5W-DH board, if it's possible to use a different SATA connector (like the two ez-raid ports) without fudging future RAID setups, let me know!
  5. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,427 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,148
    it is possible, i use one ez raid plug and one of the black ones:
    [​IMG]
    i don't know why i have it set up like that, but it works...
  6. rick22

    rick22 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    629 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    It looks great..i would give it an 8
  7. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha

    hmmm . . . I might toy with it some then - I've got some extra cables laying around, see what I can get to work.

    Damn owner's manual isn't very clear as to what does what by itself, unless you're building a RAID, and then it only tells you which ones to hook up - and with 3 different hardware controllers :shadedshu
  8. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,427 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,148
    yea, the p5wdh definitely has its quirks, but once you figure them out, it's hard to find a better board.
    hell, there's only ONE board i would trade mine for, and it's an amd board, the msi k9a2 platinum. :roll:
  9. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    looks very nice i just recently move my friends pc into a stacker 830 and they are a SERIOUS PITA to wire nicely took me roughly the same amount of time it did you and ive put together alot of computers
    i give you a 10 for not getting frustrated and saying fk it like i almost did
    tbh these cases look really nice when finished but are even more difficult to get clean wiring than an antec 900 without cutting holes in something
  10. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    I've never had an ASUS board that wasn't solid as hell, and compared to some brands I've used here and there - ASUS is stable as crap too, if something fails to boot, it's very rarely associated with the board itself.

    BTW, RM, another user mentioned to me you might be able to help with an issue: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=606367&postcount=1112


    :laugh: Too late! Aside from the hole in the mobo tray I had to cut - I also had to take a slice out of the backside support rail so I could run all the PSU cables behind the tray - even then, the cables had to be tapped flat so as to not interfere with the side panel.

    I hear it on the f-it part . . . I came damn close! My Mystique was a hell-o-lot easier to route, and was only a touch messy.
  11. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,427 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,148
    i'll get back to you about that after dinner, i know what you need to do, but it will require a lot of typing on my part and i don't have the time right now.
  12. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    cool, thanks! Take your time - no rush. I'll be heading out for a while shortly anyhow. :toast:
  13. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,783 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,239
    I have four Seagate drives in raid 0/5 on my P5WDH. I'm using the three black connectors off the ICH7R and the orange connector closest to the bottom in the pic above. These are the four ports used by the ICH7R.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,427 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,148
    ok, this worked for my dual 1950pro's, just make sure you follow this guide EXACTLY:

  15. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha

    hmmm . . . I've done that before - and I can get them working individually . . . but upon next reboot, WIN 'forgets' that "imaginary display #2" is no longer there, and I have to go through the process of juggling the display connector between cards and extending the desktop in WIN. Being able to extend the desktop lets me know the second GPU has been initialized, which it needs to be to have two seperate GPU consoles working . . . perhaps it's the CCC driver, as I only noticed this since installing 7.12; I might try to rollback to 7.11 tomorrow and see if it's still acting the same . . . thanks anyways, though.


    So . . . the EZ_RAID connectors can be used without having to have a RAID configuration?! Brilliant! That would mean I can get that pinched SATA cable out from in between the mobo and back panel!
  16. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,427 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,148
    i told you that earlier...
  17. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    Doh!

    myself = :slap:



    I misread your earlier post, man :eek:
  18. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I was gonna rate the berfore picture a 7/10.. I have low standards :( 9/10 for new tho :p
  19. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,450 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,621
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Damn..I could've taken a CNPS 9500 instead of 9700. Yours looks so much neater. In the third pic didn't you pull off the USB_FP cables (under the SB card) and behind the board? That's smart. Did you mod the chipset heatsinks to place those fans or are they a revision of your board?

    The best part of your cable mgmt is the part where you tied all the fan cables.

    The worst part is near the hard-drives...not the worst really but the intake fan's air isn't streamlined into the case, then again the fans on the side do the job.

    I'll rate you 9/10 for the extremely aesthetic cable management considering the ass-load of components that are housed inside that case. The case defi has more fans than Marilyn Monroe considering the former is just a stationary case, the latter was a 'case' that moved and died within 'warranty period'
  20. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Practically imperialreign, there is not really anything to improve on (yes this is coming from me), I am talking in terms of airflow impedance and not looks. You could seriously reduce the slack int the USB cables (remove your sound card first..) and use something like tape to hold it i n place. How tall are your standoffs? If they are the normal sized type.. your wiring is slightly dangerous.
  21. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    the standoffs, by eye, are a bit longer than the standard 6mm brass ones I've become accustomed to over the last decade - these are the newer 8mm aluminum style (not sure of the exact length off the top of my head). I made sure with the main power connector, though, to wrap some electrical tape around the area directly underneath the mobo and near the slot that I had cut out at the back (along with spending a good 25min with a dremel and some sanding bits to get everything smooth to the touch) - working as a mechanic, I've learned how much of a headache a rubbed-through wire can create. I was starting to give it some serious thought, though, to try and spread that main harness out some more to make it a bit more . . . flat; know what I mean?

    TBH - once the bulky connectors are out from under the board, the cables themselves slide around freely; without any "snagging" on solder tails. The only cable I had a major concern about was the orange SATA cable - which I intend to re-route tomorrow. It's looking this weekend like I'm going to re-wire the PCI-E connectors, too, so that I can have more length to work with.

    yes, the both USB connectors, 1394 and the the front panel connectors are all routed out from under the mobo.

    as to the chipset coolers - no, that's not an ASUS revision. Their brilliant engineers went and put aesthetic "sticky" plates over th coolers that cover the fins. I snagged a couple of CM 40mm fans and slapped them on, but, if you'll notice, the SSB hangs over the top of the cooler a bit . . . there wasn't enough clearance between the chipset cooler and the second video card.

    Oh, and that is a 9500 cooler . . . but now with the added space of a full-tower chasis, I'm considering a 9700 :laugh:
  22. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,450 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,621
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    If I were in the US, we could've swapped them for free :laugh:
  23. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
    Looks good Nice rig
  24. EnergyFX

    EnergyFX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    You're at the point where you are going to have to build your own cables if you really want it to look any better. I think you have hit the ceiling with managment alone, from her it wouldhave to be all about length adjustment, sleeving/heatshrink, and custom cable ordering.
  25. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,238 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    You did an awfully good job

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page