• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Run time error (C# WPF application)

MrSeanKon

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2006
Messages
267 (0.04/day)
Location
Athens in love with Anna :)
For button1 code works fine.
I want after pressing button2 to be somewhere else (e.g. from position x=50, y=100 to x=200, y=300). As I understand the problem is on declarations or I misuse something.
Any ideas to correct the code? :rolleyes:
 

Attachments

  • WpfApplication1.zip
    12.4 KB · Views: 185

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,259 (4.65/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2021
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X (65w eco profile)
Motherboard MSI B550 Gaming Plus
Cooling Scythe Mugen (rev 5)
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-3200 32 GiB
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 7900 XT
Storage Samsung 980 Pro, Seagate Exos X20 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay + USB 3.2 (A+C) 3.5" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse Nixeus REVEL-X
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Use breaks to catch an error before WPF implodes itself. On doing so, I discovered both your MarginProperty and BorderThicknessProperty want a ThicknessAnimation, not a DoubleAnimation so, I changed it and it appears to work:
Code:
            ThicknessAnimation myanimation = new ThicknessAnimation(new Thickness(0), new Thickness(100), TimeSpan.FromMilliseconds(1000));

            // Both statements produce run time error!
            
            button2.BeginAnimation(Button.MarginProperty,myanimation);
            button2.BeginAnimation(Button.BorderThicknessProperty,myanimation);
 

MrSeanKon

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2006
Messages
267 (0.04/day)
Location
Athens in love with Anna :)
Use breaks to catch an error before WPF implodes itself.
Yeap it is a good idea to use try/catch blocks for making robust applications.
BTW I ran the code before under VS 2010 debugger and saw an exception, but since I am a newbie :D I could not understand :wtf: the message mean...
I am writing the first lines in WPF C# enviroment. I want to improve my old Windows Form based cardgames. Obviously I am not familiar, but after a couple of days hope so!
Thank you very much :)
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (2.21/day)
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Switching from Windows Forms programming to WPF (C#/XAML) will give you many headaches.
Stick with it, though, as the advantages are worth the effort.
 
Top