1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RV770 Meets GDDR4, PowerColor Radeon HD4850 PCS+ D4 Planned

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 10, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,606 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    In an exhibition of pure technological flexibility by AMD, the RV770 graphics processor is going to be used along with GDDR4 memory, in PowerColor's newest Radeon HD 4850 PCS+ GDDR4 graphics card. The inclusion of GDDR4 memory is to boost the memory clock speeds and to provide room for a little more memory overclocking.

    The PCS+ GDDR4 features a GPU cooler designed by ZEROtherm, which is advertised to keep the GPU up to 10 °C cooler than what the reference cooler would. It features heatsinks for the memory and the VRM area. It features 512 MB of GDDR4 memory clocked at 2.20 GHz, with the core clocked at 675 MHz. The card supports CrossFireX, and sports dual-DVI connectors. There is no word on its availability pricing as of now.

    [​IMG]

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
     
  2. King Wookie

    King Wookie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    I'm curious as to how much of a difference the memory will make. It is listed as twice the speed of mine right now. (4850 Toxic)
     
  3. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    485 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    2200 MHz-clocked memory (1986 MHz) what does that mean, also it seems like very slow for gddr4 . some of the nvidia cards run gddr3 at 2.2ghz stock . why use low end gddr4 when you could use very fast gddr 3 .
     
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,617 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,529
    wow another non factory card, uses DDR4, i know in the past that didnt do well for AMD but that was because of alot of other problems and also the design of the memory controller put too much latency in due to the ring stops (not doing anything at those points)
     
  5. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I run the mem on mine at 2300 now and 2400 for benching.
     
  6. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Hmmm, I'm sceptical & pessimistic, so I'll look forward to a comparison review. I doubt the GDDR4 will make much difference on the power consumption overall, but anything lower would be nice.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2008
  7. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Yeah, that is kinda mild for GDDR4 -- isn't the GDDR3 on some factory-overclocked Nvidia cards clocked at something like 2500MHz today?
     
  8. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    no 2800+ mhz no care, as teh frequency needs to go up to overcome the latency.
     
  9. HaZe303

    HaZe303 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    305 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sweden (08-Stockholm)
    Why didnt amd have GDDR4 on the 4850 from the beginning??? That would have been nice, GDDR3 is getting old. Instead of having 4850´s with gddr3, I would have with gddr4. :(
     
  10. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    A 4850 with GDDR4 would've cost more, and arguably GDDR3 seems to be more than good enough.
     
  11. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,500 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Just another attempt for them to milk the market in a card that is going to be end of cycle very soon, from what the other news stories say about the new 700 series chips.

    wow, it might get you 3FPS on full settings., better go out and get it... amazing how they change a few things just to sell more product, great for them, but confuzes the buyers, in a market where there isn't much difference between most of the cards anyway..
     
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,705 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,105
    Eh, mabye Powercolor found some cases of GDDR4 laying around and decided to throw it on a card.:ohwell:
     
  13. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    i hope the extra bandwidt will help, just like 4870 with gdr 5

    i can't wait to see a review
     
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,606 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    GDDR4 that does 2.2~2.4 GHz should ideally be cheaper than high-grade GDDR3. If AMD (and partners) doesn't use the GDDR4, nobody will, so they could be going for cheap.
     
  15. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    I'm just amazed that GDDR5 came out before it seemed that GDDR4 was really ever used that much -- I mean, how many cards used GDDR4?

    Radeon 1950 XTX (GDDR4)
    HD 2600 XT (GDDR4)
    HD 3870
    That PowerColor 3870X2 with the GDDR4

    And that's it? Did I miss any?
     
  16. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,606 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    HD 2900 XT 1G D4.
     
  17. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Aye -- that's the one I missed.

    Only five cards total ever made, that's if you count the weird non-reference 3870X2 that PowerColor came out with.
     
  18. MrMilli

    MrMilli

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    216 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Actually GDDR4 @ 2.2Ghz will be outperformed by GDDR3 @ 2Ghz.
    I'm pretty sure Powercolor did this to lower power usage a bit and to lower cost.
    Since only the HD3870 is using GDDR4 at the moment and it's sales are slowing down, i guess Powercolor managed to strike a good deal.

    Edit: let's not forget consumers that don't know what GDDR4 is, will think it's much faster. Good marketing too.
     
  19. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Hmm, Gddr4 upgrade. I hope this PCS+ solves the problems of the former. I love my 3870 with GDDR4 but I dont know how much of a difference it will make.
     
  20. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,176 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    wow , that's mean really beat's nvidia 9x00xx card's
     
  21. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    lol lol lol

    I bet it is, why let it go to waste if all we are using is GDDR5 right now.....
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page