1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Safe voltage for E6600

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by oli_ramsay, Apr 17, 2008.

  1. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    What's the highest vCore you think you should use with air cooling??? I've got mine at 1.5125 in the BIOS (default is 1.35v) to get it at 3.4GHz (486x7). When I get into windows CPUz fluctuates between 1.48 - 1.504, and when its running Orthos it can get as low as 1.464v. Temps aren't a problem as it never goes above ~50.

    I know it says 1.5125 in the BIOS but it's lower than that when it boots into windows. Do you think these voltages are OK?

    I'm using air cooling ThermalRight Ultra 120 with 12cm fan.

    Thanks to all who help :respect:
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2008
  2. Smartbomb

    Smartbomb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    133 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    London, On
    Ya those voltages are OK, the true voltages are the ones seen in Windows. You have a little VDROOP but nuthin to worry about.
     
  3. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    thanks :toast:
     
  4. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    What would you say the maximum safe voltage for this processor is?
     
  5. Smartbomb

    Smartbomb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    133 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    London, On
    I think that 1.55 is about as far as I'de be going (It's your money however, not mine). I do believe. I have seen guys take them a little higher with Water Cooling and or Vdroop Mods. Also try Prime95 2.56 and run small ftt's, then see how your temps are. Here is a link for a temperature guide for you, from what I see on this guide you are in the "safe" zone if your CPU temp is 50C or less and your cores are 55C or less, after that there is a 5 degree window upwards where you are in between warm and hot. http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/221745-29-core-quad-temperature-guide. This guide is is for Dulies and Quads. As far as VCore I do believe the rule is 1.55V for Air cooling 1.6 For Water cooling for the E6600. Good Luck, Happy OC'ing
    EDIT: What are you using for temperature monitoring? I find that Speedfan 4.34Beta Gives the most accurate readings with Everst Ultimate being right on to a degree off. Speedfan 4.33 is off a few degrees compared to temps in BIOS, and Coretemp can be also. Keep temperature in mind as it is the most critical. Don't worry about being in the linked guide's warm zone, worry about being in the hot zone.
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2008
    oli_ramsay says thanks.
  6. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    I'm currently running 3.7GHz @ 1.58V (1.60 in BIOS) with my Tuniq 120 but this is just setup on a mobo box, before I was running about the same under water in a case. I've had this processor for a couple of years and I've never had any problems.

    Just make sure you've got EIST and C1E enabled to keep the volts/temps down when you aren't using them.

    If this is a newer one, it's probably a G0 step, you should be good.
     
    oli_ramsay says thanks.
  7. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    My temps are about 45-50 under full load. I monitor with coretemp, which displays the same temps as speedfan and everest. I wouldn't really wanna go much above 1.5v (1.46 after vDroop). I'm quite happy leaving it at that for 24/7 use at 3.4Ghz.

    Just wanted to make sure I can use it for two or more years without frying it due to excess volts. :toast:
     
  8. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Are these temps OK, I'm a bit confused as to which one to pay attention to. The "core 0" and "core 1" are at ~50, but the "CPU" is at 60 :eek: Which one should I be wary of?

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Well, for less that 4 min into Orthos @ 4.3Ghz with 1.47V...I'd say you're doing great!

    I don't like to let the cores go much over 60C on load though. I'm sure ther are others that are uncomfortable with those temps, so take it for wat it's worth.

    FFS, I WISH my E6600 would hit those clocks!:eek:
     
    oli_ramsay says thanks.
  10. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    It's at 3.4GHz hehe :) not 4.3
     
  11. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Not according to Orthos! ;)

    Do you have your CPU multi set to 7 in your BIOS?:confused:
     
  12. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Yea, it's at 7x486. :cool:
     
  13. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,931 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,730
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I used to bench mine at 1.6V (BIOS) 1.575V (real) and got her to 3.9gig although I would not run 24/7 beyond 1.5V but as long as your temps dont go above 65C at load then get those volts through her! :rockout:
     
    oli_ramsay says thanks.
  14. Smartbomb

    Smartbomb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    133 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    London, On
    Ya, you are looking good. If you are stable with that set-up you'll get more than 2 years use, you should hit closer to the life expectancy of your CPU (but who wants to use the same CPU for 8 years give or take)
    EDIT: Still pondering on your CPU temp, seems like your reading is off (I've been wrong before however :) ). Typically at least 1 core temp should be higher than your CPU temp, pay more attention to your core temps.
    EDIT2: Sorry I don't use Orthos but can you run small ftt's 8k in length, you are running large ftt's, you wanna see your heat go up try this.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page