1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Samsung Introduces New High Performance LCD Monitors

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Sep 7, 2006.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    [​IMG]

    Samsung Electronics America, Inc., yesterday introduced three new high-performance LCD monitors to the company's renowned SyncMaster line, the 17-inch SyncMaster 731BF, the 19-inch SyncMaster 931BF and the 19-inch SyncMaster 971P. Both 731BF and 931BF feature an impressive 2000:1 dynamic contrast ratio, a fast 2ms (GTG) response time, 1280x1024 resolution, 300 cd/m2 brightness, as well as Samsung's proprietary Magic Technologies: MagicBrightII, MagicColor and MagicTune. The 971P features up to a 1500:1 contrast ratio, 6ms (GTG) response time, 178/178 degree viewing angle, and 1280x1024 resolution. Competitively priced at $249.99 MSRP for the 731BF, $299.99 MSRP for the 931BF and $379.99 MSRP for the 971P, these monitors feature a sleek, minimalist design, and are targeted for retail and commercial applications. Additionally the 971P features a blue LED power button at the end of the stand, and a unique triple-hinge stand that enables users to fold the monitor flat or into a variety of positions. Both 731BF and 931BF monitors are Mac and PC compatible, and come with an attractive shiny black bezel. The 731BF, the 931BF and the 971P are currently available in select retail locations, as well as through Samsung resellers and distribution channels. All Samsung displays are backed by a three-year parts and labor warranty, including the backlight, as well as toll-free technical support for the life of the display.

    Source: Samsung
  2. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    apart from horizontal space saving issues is there any reason not to makes these in widescreen?
  3. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    Preference.

    Plus 1280x1024 looks crappy widescreen ;)

    Just got the 20" 204B for $350.. 20" @ 1600x1200 8ms response.. and its rather nice..

    I dislike widescreen due to the lack of vertical viewing space..which is much needed when im coding imo :p

    $300 for this is just a but nuts imo @ 1280x1024...

    way too low for that kinda $$... but hey.. if you think that 2ms will make you leeter, go right ahead :p
  4. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    416
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Also have a 204B and wouldnt trade it for widescreen I will stick to nice standard 4:3 ratios as widescreen can be a hassle in certain things with oddball Res's. Its supposed to actually have a 5ms response time(typical) and I have seen no ghosting at all on this LCD comparing to my previous 19" LG 12 ms.
  5. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    On my 8ms i've never had a ghosting problem either which makes me wonder about these 2ms response times.... possibly just a ploy to get more money?? i'ld much rather have a 17inch lcd that has 1600x1200 res instead!
  6. error_f0rce

    error_f0rce New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    942 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    my 2 cents: I have no interest in a 1600x1200 LCD, because unless I have a 24in monitor, I'd never use that res for my desktop. Not to mention my graphics card won't play games at that res either. Considering that I'd need a $400 graphics card to run games at that res, I might as well wait till I can afford one of those and just buy at new monitor at the same time, which will cost less than the card.

    :laugh: And I love my 2ms l33tness :roll:
    <---------- 2ms fanboy
  7. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    I play all my games at 1600x1200 full detail fine on my $45 x850xt. what the hell are you talking about? :confused:

    and yes, that 2ms is calculated a different way than normal response times, iirc ;)
  8. error_f0rce

    error_f0rce New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    942 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    For F.E.A.R., Oblivion, Quake4, what's your average FPS at 1600x1200 maxed settings (ok, no v-sync) with that x850? Also, how much is it OC'd?

    Perhaps we have different standards of minimum quality for gameplay. Personally, unless I can max or near max the settings, I prefer a lower resolution that will support more AA and AF. Also, I can't stand playing with anything under 60-70 fps min.


    yeah, it's only a true 5ms, but it's overdriven to 2ms...
  9. stealthfighter

    stealthfighter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    557 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    at my pc
    Man my 15" crt is starting to fail on my now. I think i can see ghosting in it sometimes.
  10. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    60fps minimum for playability... quake 4 plays fine (almost beat it) I dont have FEAR, or oblivion, nor do I even plan on getting them. Same with CSS, HL2, or farcry. just a bit too overrated.. :wtf: I prefer games with content... of which oblivion is the only one that fits the bill :banghead:

    I play WoW, Doom 3, Quake 4, Wolfenstein, CoD2, CoD, MOHAA, and UT at the moment though :p
  11. vx922_x850xt New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Curious bout vx922_x850xt_AMDathlonFX-51 Combo

    heya dipp.. just like the title says.. im curious bout playing wow with that combo. i know athlon FX-51 sucks due to its 940 pins just in case you wanna say OMG!

    the question is.. i set my wow, well of course, to vx922 native res 1280X1024 with 60Hz refresh rate. but how come i notice that the game doesnt run as smooth as my ex crt monitor?
    its philips brilliance 107P 17"

    this is especially noticeable during full av (40ally-40 hordes). when there are 50 toons on the screen my fps lag badly whereas with my prev crt tube its smooth as butter. so im wondering could my graphic card or cpu be the bottleneck?

    what i mean by bottleneck is since the viewable area of 17" crt technically only 15.7" while vx922 truely 19". so i guess either the cpu or gpu is choked..

    thanks for any tips you might share in advance! :toast:
  12. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio

    I play regularly with the game topped out @ 1600x1200, and full detail with LOD off.. and I occasionally have a loading stutter, etc but thats just engine faults..

    Framerates are fine for me, and I'm using a sempron 2800+.. overclocked it will be runnign 2400mhz, but I've even been running it stock for a while @ 1600mhz.. and it plays fine still.

    However, I have NOT experienced any more of a unit load, higher than Zul Jin's usual stormwind crowds in town, as I have only done the deadmines for instances, not any large raids.


    I also have a gig of ram.. which may be your bottleneck- I am usually around 78-80% ram usage when playing so if you have less than a GB of ram, it will be using a lot of page file.
  13. vx922_x850xt New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thx dipp.. i have 1 GB of ram too.. i tried tabbing out to windows while my toon standing still at IF auction ( possibly the most crowded spot lol) and i noticed wow app uses bout 600Meg. but i noticed my cpu usage history, under task manager, was running at 100% while in wow, tabbed out of it, and it droppped to roughly 10%.. i guess my cpu is the bottleneck lol :eek:
  14. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    it should be at 100% ;) on my 1600mhz sempron it plays fine however.

    hdd swapping a lot?
  15. vx922_x850xt New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nope no hdd swapping

    here's another thing i noticed. when watching extreme high quality highly compressed anime like the world at http://www.za-warudo.com/ (xvid torrent for low quality, h264 for xtreme quality which require powerful rig)

    with xvid, it plays fine on both my crt and lcd. with cpu usage 20-30% in crt, 40-60% lcd
    with h264, plays fine on crt with cpu 60-90%, still fine no lag or frame skip. but with lcd cpu usage hits 95-100% frequently. when it hits 100% , the next 2 or 3 secs i'll experience frame skip though audio plays fine. so i get the feeling at least for this anime case. the cpu is badly choked
  16. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    Dunno.. if the crt plays fine and the LCD does not.. well... something's up with the LCD driver then lol :laugh: Shouldn't do that though..

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page