1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Samsung Samples Industry's First 16 GB DDR4 Server Modules

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Jul 3, 2012.

  1. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    I don't think you understood the point of my post. I don't really understand the point of yours - yes hardly anyone who knows what they're doing uses single channel, but a) what has this got to do with overclocking, and b) what has this got to do with my post? Also, I hate to be the anal one, but you really ought to clean up posts like that before you hit "post". The grammar and punctuation is bad to the point that it's very difficult to understand for those of us that didn't write it.
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,165 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I have a Radeon HD 2600 XT with GDDR4 laying around.
    Isenstaedt says thanks.
  3. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    505 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    sorry, english is not my primary language. but my point is with abundant and cheap ddr3 memory in retail market, is there anyone here still using single mode rather than dual mode? what's the point using single channel? what will you do with ddr4 on single channel? i think dual channel mode is enough to do multitasking computation, except you're working with super heavy computation such as 3d objects rendering etc. that's why ddr4 is used for enterprise server systems
  4. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    DDR4 will surely first land on HPC systems, but I think the type of computers that benefit the most from DDR4 versus DDR3 are future low/mid-end gaming systems with bandwidth-hungry integrated graphics.
  5. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    Yeah, you've missed my point entirely. I'm not saying that anyone does or should use single-channel memory. I'm saying that the fact that there is little or no performance penalty for doing so demonstrates that we won't benefit from the increase in bandwidth that will come with DDR4. Except, as you said and as I said, in servers and the like.

    Also, you seem to imply that single-channel means a single stick of RAM. This is not the case. If you use a Celeron G530 with two identical sticks of RAM, for example, it'll be single channel.
  6. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,165 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Well, you can stop thinking about channels because DDR4 doesn't work that way. DDR4 uses point-to-point links a lot like how PCI-E works. So each DIMM has its own set of memory links so each chip by itself is capable of independent memory operations. That is what I gathered from reading the spec, so memory controllers will have to change a good amount to accommodate it.

    The G530 has two memory channels, so your example is incorrect. Not to say that isn't how it works, but even modern systems with two channels will run dual-channel even if the memory sizes are different so you'll find it really hard to run single channel if the motherboard gives you the option. I bet you it won't though because channels typically aren't switched, they're hard wired.
    http://ark.intel.com/products/53414/Intel-Celeron-Processor-G530-(2M-Cache-2_40-GHz)

  7. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    Interesting.

    My mistake. I must have been thinking of Atoms, not Celerons.

    All I'm trying to say here is that DDR4 will not yield performance improvements for home users or gamers with discrete graphics cards.
  8. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Channels themselves are same as with previous generations. The difference is, each DIMM has it's own dedicated tracing between slot and memory controller. Current DDR motherboards usually have 2 slots per channel with the secondary slot "piggybacked" by extending the traces from primary slot's pins to the 2nd. With DDR4 you will not see this.

    And dedicated tracing means, if you see 1/2/4/n DIMM slots on a DDR4 motherboard that automatically means the board is single/dual/quad/n channel. That is, 64bit/128bit/256bit:eek:/n64bit...
    P2P with DDR4 only means a channel is never shared.
    Correct.
    Every DDR-SDRAM chip so far can do that.
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2012
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,165 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Not at the same time. As you said, channels are interleaved. ;)
  10. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Rendering programs would take a hit surely?

    I mean I can effect out put just by changing ram speed.
  11. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Not sure what you mean. If you got and n-channeled memory controller and as manu single rank DDR3 DIMMs onboard, the mem ctrl can R/W all the chips at the same time. If there's more than n ranks though, then it's a nono as the interface is just n64bit*. I removed the line about DDR4 lacking rank interleaving from my earlier post 'cause it makes no sense and I don't know why I wrote it. DDR4 can do rank interleaving just fine.

    *three and 3×64bit for tri channel Nehalem.
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,165 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I think you confused what I was trying to say. I meant you couldn't do separate memory operations on all DIMMs assuming you have two or more DIMMs per channel. It has been suggested that DDR4 in server configurations will be switched a lot like how PLX did with their PCI-E bridge chip.
  13. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    That's the thing, unlike previous interations DDR4 does not allow more than a single DIMM on a single channel.
    That's just full buffering rising it's head once again:
    [Mem ctrl] <-serial signaling-> [AMB chip] <-parallel signaling-> [DRAM chippery]

    Nothing inherent with DDR4.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page