1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sandy Bridge OC headroom

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by KapiteinKoek007, Dec 29, 2011.

  1. KapiteinKoek007

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    245 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Update
    i got it running now at 4.6 ghz (HT Enabled) @ 1.34v set in Cotrol Center under load thats 1.4v, it looks stable enough although one core reached 73°c while playing battlefield 3 online.. as soon as i saw it on my g15 Keyboard (gift of god btw) i closed bf3 and was faced with a dilemma, both my cpu fans are spinning at 2500/2600 rpm, so thats maxed out... these are the online 2 options i know to lower temps.

    1. lower clock to 4.5 voltage; 1.30v ? or...
    2. disable HT thus lowering stress on the cores?

    does HT really have that much of an impact on gaming? to my knowlegde there are not many games out there who fully utilizes the 8 threads except for a few simulators... but im talking about games like rpg, fps, racing, strategie that kind of gaming...

    so let me know what u guys think i should do...



    oldpost
    alright i got my fresh i7 2600k @ stock with turbo enabled -> 4.0ghz, HT on, i've done the intel burn test on very high on all 8 threads. and it completed the tests successfully, i then played some games, Battlefield 3, Civilization V, Skyrim and a few others, no bsods or any other weird stuff, just smooth gameplay, now the temp on the second core recorded the highest of 64°c, and most of the time they all hoover at about 55°c both my cpu fans are @ 50 % around 1300/1400 rpm.
    so my question is do i got some headroom left?
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2011
  2. OOZMAN

    OOZMAN New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    160 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Yeah I'd say so. The absolute limit I'd go is 75* C or 1.4V, whichever comes first, but I'm conservative because I like keeping my chip. :)

    Other people will probably tell you to go higher. Good luck either way.

    EDIT: Temps and voltages for stress tests.
     
    KapiteinKoek007 says thanks.
  3. mypg0306

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    267 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Sure it can go ahead as your fans are still in 50% load.
     
    KapiteinKoek007 says thanks.
  4. KapiteinKoek007

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    245 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    hehe, i just got this cpu for 3 days. so i don't want to brick it haha.
    Oke so 75 °c is the absolute safe barrier. then i will install my shutdown -l command when reaching 76°c on any core.
    Thanks!
     
  5. KapiteinKoek007

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    245 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Yeh idle temps are around 27°c to 32°c vcore is 1.118v and load with turbo enabled floating around 55 58 with a max of 64 and vcore under load 1.29v on 4.2 ghz (turbo)
     
  6. OOZMAN

    OOZMAN New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    160 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Seems like you have a average to above average chip, you should get 4.7 pretty easily, maybe 4.8, but depends on what you wanna do of course.
     
  7. KapiteinKoek007

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    245 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    haha you mean like the "Golden Chip" if im seeing the temps and voltages right then all evidence point that way :p but still i don't think i get that far because my ram is only 1333, i could downclock it maybe that will help to increase the cpu clock ??

    ohh and according to realtemp my tdp gets as high as 120/125 even 131watts when stresstesting, thats 25 to 36watts of power more then the TDP of 95watts specified by intel , should i be worried here, or is this normal with ht enabled?

    and does anyone have a link to where the i7 2600k and the MSI p67A-GD65 b3 is used to OC manually ?

    Thanks in advance
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2011
  8. OOZMAN

    OOZMAN New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    160 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Your ram shouldn't affect the overclocking of your cpu
     
  9. KapiteinKoek007

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    245 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    lol i thought it was my ram that was bottlenecking me :O but what else can it be.
    Anything past 4.5 and i can't boot in windows it bsods at windows loading screen.

    i've tried multiple vcore settings, and to be honest this is my first "high end" mobo where i can change wayyy more voltages then i am used too so i really don't know what the rest of the voltages mean, the documentation of msi p67a-gd65 b3 is not helping either...

    pleasee ? can someone help me start manually ocing with this hardware.
     
  10. OOZMAN

    OOZMAN New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    160 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    What Vcore did you try up to? Don't be afraid to go over 1.4V for initial overclocking tests, I just wouldn't recommend it for everyday use.
     
  11. KapiteinKoek007

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    245 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    i've tried up to 1.412v i was too much of a wuss to continue also, the info box in the bios said; we strongly recommend not to set the value higher then 1.45v so... and my pc is almost always on. hence the power saving options

    a. to keep the temps down
    b. cpu lifespawn will increase because, most of the time its running in idle thus using only 5/15 watts
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2011
  12. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    my 2600K needs 1.33 for 4500
    1.45 for 4800 and 1.55 for 5.0
     
  13. KapiteinKoek007

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    245 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    lol yeh just figured out that it needed much LESS voltage, not more... haha i got it set in the bios@ 1.31v shows 1.34 under load in cpu-z v1.59.
    just got to testing with linX with all of the available ram leaving like 50 mb for the os haha
     
  14. OOZMAN

    OOZMAN New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    160 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    :eek: The general consensus is that once you hit 1.52, you are almost guaranteed to to do damage to your chip... 1.55 is way keen man... you must have a lot of money to spare. :cool:

    Disabling HT would mean you just spent an extra $100 or so for nothing, because it essentially becomes a 2500k. Yeah, it would probably mean higher clocks/volt but I don't think it's worth it. For games though, hyperthreading does SFA. Go with what you think.

    I'm a little confused with the voltages you've provided; at 4.6, at FULL 100% LOAD is the voltage 1.34 or 1.4V? And at 4.5 the voltage is 1.3?
     
  15. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    i game at stock :p

    KapiteinKoek007 what volts are you using on the 570 for that oc, is that what your game at ?
     
  16. KapiteinKoek007

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    245 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    my gtx 570 is mostly running at 1.1 v with the msi cooler the msi twin frzr III cooler temps never exceed 70°c and yes thats what im gaming with :D never had any crashes with this setting
     
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Disabling HT won't really lower temps, unfortunately, nor power consumed. It doesn't allow for higher sclaing with my CPUs, either.

    If you are not comfortable with the temps, then lower the clocks.
     
  18. KapiteinKoek007

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    245 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    im using 1.31v set in bios that comes to a 1.34 in load in windows. @ 4.2 ghz at the moment :D temps do not exceed 55 ° AND i got HT enabled, i forgot my side panel to close, amazing enough it shaved off 10 °c in full load :D
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2011
  19. KapiteinKoek007

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    245 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    well im my situation, when i disabled ht on 4.2 ghz it shaved off almost 8°c in full load. and performance wise... with most games i don't even notice a difference, only thing i do noticed is the multitask ability's of 8 threads in windows. but in most games i play, i noticed 4 cores @ 4.2 ghz is more then enough. still i leave it enabled, because i like to do 100 things at the same time without encountering wait times... haha and now the temps stay well below 60°c in full load. @ 4.2 ghz now, @ 1.31v set in bios that's 1.34 in load. and ht is enabled now.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2011
    cadaveca says thanks.
  20. KapiteinKoek007

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    245 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    yeh sorry i got a little confused here myself haha. it was set @ 4.6 ghz @ 1.33v in bios, that comes down to 1.356/1.372v in full 100% load (128Watts) I just checked this
    and... most games don't use more then 4 cores.. so anything above that is just overkill, there are a few games wich utilizes more then 4 *THREADS*
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page