1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire 7790 Dual-X exceed limit GPU/RAM

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by giacomo160790, Nov 4, 2013.

  1. giacomo160790

    giacomo160790

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Italy
    SOLVED!!!!!! READ THE LAST MY POST :peace::peace:


    Hi, I have a question, I would exceed the limits (imposed by bios) 1200MHz for the GPU and 6400 on the memories

    In this review you managed with the sapphire 7790 to exceed these limits

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Sapphire/HD_7790_Dual-X/29.html

    I own 2 sapphire 7790 Dual-X OC, and the limit is set to 1200 for overclocking GPU and 6400 for the memories... I tried the bios thinking maybe the first version had no limits, but all the bios from 7790 have maximum overclock limit of 1200/6400

    http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...odel=HD 7790&interface=&memType=&memSize=1024

    I'd like to overcome i1200 ye would know how to do?

    thanks
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2013
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,402 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,485
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
  3. giacomo160790

    giacomo160790

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Italy
    I'm already use it

    I brought the board in 1200/6400 and disables ULPS

    If I try to put more than 1200 or more than 6400 and I applied it all comes back to defaul
  4. martin16v New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    cornwall
    i had the same issue with my HD 7790 2GB OC Edition.
    use msiafterburner....hears what i did.

    in afterburner i checked the box "extend official overclocking limits in the general settings".....which dos unlock the core and memory sliders but makes no effect on the clock..
    to make the settings stick i had to go into the ab profiles folder and edit the MSIAfterburner cfg file. changing the UnofficialOverclockingMode=0 to 1.
    theres also a MSIAfterburner cfg file in the ab folder which i originally changed but make no effect.
  5. giacomo160790

    giacomo160790

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Italy
    I found some reviews that used to overclock beyond trixx 4.6.1 beta but is not found anywhere

    Writing to a review site, they gave me the beta version 4.6.3, which also recognizes the catalyst 13:11 beta9.2, this version allows you to raise the frequencies beyond our limit ... But I tried it once, and windows is crashed, it also allows overvoltare ... I have not yet... I put the link

    http://www.rehwolution.it/forum/Thread-Trixx-beta-4-6-3

    Failing that, at least by me going in "setting" this trixx crashes

    Since you have the 2Gb version would try to inform me about the bios of the new R7 260x, apparently "compatible" with our 7790 ... They tried that I put in the link below ... But also elsewhere ...

    http://www.vmodtech.com/th/article/amd-radeon-hd-7790-amd-radeon-r7-260x-mod-bios/page/5

    I hope I come out of the bios mod in the coming months
  6. giacomo160790

    giacomo160790

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Italy
    solved!!! solved!!! Solved!!!

    So, with the new Catalyst 13.11 beta 9.5

    And using msi afterburner beta 17

    There's the Possibility to set much higher values, I was able to find stable values in 1220/6900 with a significant increase in performance (thanks to those memories on +500 hz)

    I also tried 1230-40/6900 and 1200/6920-40-60 and 1200/7000 initially stable, but 3d mark hangs in a bench at random, sometimes even when it is going to get to the end

    I also tried to reverse my two cards to see which was most fortunate for overclocking memory

    Apparently, however 1220/6900 is more stable overclocking, perhaps for those who haven't a crossfire you can push harder on the gpu ...

    results 3dmark, I am what is called in the details "giacomo"

    http://www.3dmark.com/search#/?mode...puName=AMD FX-6100&gpuName=AMD Radeon HD 7790

    In stock my score is 5856, with 1220/6900 my score is 6221

    Now I hope for some new solution with the bios of the r7 260x that someone is trying on 7790

    Or in some hard mod to increase the voltage slightly
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2013
  7. giacomo160790

    giacomo160790

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Italy
    VOLTAGE UNLOCK!!! :rockout::rockout::rockout:

    With combined use of Trixx 4.6.3 beta and msi afetrburner 3.0.0 beta 17 is possible to increse the voltage

    Now i have test 1240/6900@1,205v and 1260/6900@1,220v

    With 3dmark i hame a better graphics score, bat a bad conbined test.... Link of my result is in previus post

    Screen, now i test a 1280/6900...

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/u750c7qajtv0rlg/7790overvoltage.jpg

    Update 1280/6900@1,220 OK

    1300/6900@1,220 FAULT
    1280/6940@1,220 OK

    Question

    Now, i need help, what do you think I can raise the voltage, without risking too much?
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2013
  8. markaflias

    markaflias

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    43 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Alicante

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page