1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire HD 4890 Toxic / Vapor-X

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Jun 10, 2009.

  1. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    1% is what W1z got on his with stock voltage. He was able to push it to 1000MHz after upping the voltage, but even at 1000MHz I don't think the HD4890 can compete with an overclocked GTX275...
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  2. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    ^^ here in the land of IGLOO's a 275 is on average $80+ more than a 4890 so if you wanna give me some extra cash, like $100 or so (maybe more) i'll return my 4890 and buy a 275 to make everybody happy :D

    not everybody is in the US and as such we don't get the same pricing as you guy's ;)
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    This site talks about US dollars, and more importantly so does this review. If you don't like it we can talk about Canadian prices, but obviously prices vary from country to country.

    Show me where the HD4890 Toxic is $80 cheaper than the $240 the GTX275 goes for. In fact, I'm guessing you can't even show me any HD4890 that is $80 cheaper than the $240 GTX275.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,427 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,363
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Most reviews show that a 1000mhz 4890 can equal a stock GTX285 in a couple of things, it loses out a little in many but betters it in a couple, there are plenty of reviews out there of the Sapphire Atomic, so I suppose you could say, for someone that dont overclock, perhaps the high end 4890's with good factory overclocks may just be the better buy, if you overclock perhaps not, again as you mentioned, it's down to cost, would I pay a premium over a GTX275? probably not. It's the luck of the draw on how these things will overclock out of the box, thing is, before I got this card to compliment my GTX275 which is in my Yorkfield rig, I read 5 reviews on the Toxic, every one got the core to at least 1020mhz, I spose I got lucky at 1050mhz, W1z's sample obviously wasnt so lucky!

    The thing is, W1z on his first review of the "standard" 4890 clearly said, when you cut through the initial ATi hype, most 4890's wont actually hit 1000mhz, at least not without lots of ugly volts being put through them and it was clear to me all along that in stock guise a 4890 was a bit slower than a GTX275 which is why I got the 275, but if you can get them to 1000mhz, baring in mind there are no voltage increase options for the 275, then you do have one fast single GPU on your hands, here is one of those reviews of the Atomic at stock 1000mhz and overclocked, mixed results.

    http://www.overclockersclub.com/reviews/sapphire_hd4890_atomic/13.htm
  5. MrAlex New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    99 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    OK, how bout the Atomic? Core at 1000MHz and Memory at 4200MHz effective. It competes with the GTX 285 and is CHEAPER than the GTX 285. Hell in the UK, the 4870X2 is cheaper!!

    Give this a look:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102839&Tpk=Sapphire HD 4890 atomic
    Performs on par with GTX 285, cheapest is:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814133256
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,253 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,585
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I'm yet to read a review that suggests it's as fast as a GTX 285. Even then, it's on par with a stock GTX 285. keyword "stock". For $15 more, you potentially have 15~20% boost with the overclocking headroom of GTX 285.
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    This review, and discussion thread of the review is not about the Atomic. I'm talking about the Toxic, and the Toxic only.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  8. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,427 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,363
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I agree, hence you will note my fairly careful wording in my post regarding the 285, however, the key thing is that in most things it beats the GTX275 (but thats probably at stock and the 275 will have more headroom for an OC over an atomic already at 1000mhz) however I would like to test that for myself because I am not so sure, now I have both cards maybe I will when I have a little time, of course I can only test them on the games I play but I am sure that some will say I am the most biased unbiased reviewer of all time!

    I dont really care which is the faster as I have both, I just sometimes get a little sick of the bickering :rolleyes:
  9. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    824 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    One question, why Catalyst 9.1? i thought 4890 got support with 9.5 (or was it 9.6). At the time of 9.1 card was still in making.
  10. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,646 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,385
    the driver used was 9.5 or 9.6 indeed
  11. totalz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    SO, what's the max voltage limit for RV790?
  12. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,427 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,363
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    OCP/OVP kicks in on anything above 1.45V I beleive but you can get around that. As for absolute max..... I have not yet been stupid enough (or drunk enough) to try 1.5V yet.
  13. UrbanX New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tonbridge, UK
    Does anyone know anywhere that has this card in stock? I can't find one anywhere? Thanks.
  14. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,427 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,363
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    That very much depends on where you live really.
  15. UrbanX New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tonbridge, UK
    Ah, yes, good point! Sorry. :eek:

    I'm in Merry Old England (UK).
  16. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,427 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,363
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    OK, are you talking about the better Toxic or the vaporX?
  17. UrbanX New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tonbridge, UK
    Vapor-X. I'm looking for some pretty decent power, at a reasonable price (£150-£180), but as quiet as possible. Happy to take alternate suggestions if this card is no longer available. Thanks.
  18. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,427 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,363
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    The toxic is better, it has an IMPROVED VaporX cooling solution (with additional heatpipes) and stocks at 90mhz higher at 960mhz as opposed to the VaporX's 870Mhz

    But if you want the VaporX..............

    http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/prods/Components/Graphics-ATI/ATIHD4890Series/11150-05-231R.html

    Or the 2GB version...........

    http://www.pixmania.co.uk/uk/uk/3154069/art/sapphire-technology/radeon-hd4890-vapor-x-2-g.html
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2009
  19. UrbanX New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tonbridge, UK
    Yeah, I'd finally decided to go for the card shown in this review http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Sapphire/HD_4890_Toxic_Vapor-X/ but can't find anywhere that stocks it.

    I saw another comment somewhere else that said it had a really small production run, so I'm thinking it may be impossible to find now. :(
  20. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,427 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,363
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    look at my amended post
  21. UrbanX New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tonbridge, UK
    Wow. Nice price on the 2Gb version (even if the extra gig isn't supposed to add much).

    I think I'll go for that, unless you think the Toxic version is still available anywhere?

    Thanks for your help with this. Much appreciated.
  22. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,427 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,363
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    No, it seems it's not, i have even tried my "secret" suppliers, i got my Toxic which clocks at 1050mhz comfortably for £170 when they were first released :D and your welcome! The VaporX's generally dont clock as well but even at 900 - 950 they will be screaming. i wouldnt bother with the 2Gig version though unless your gaming at high res as in 19XX or above. Crysis however may well use more than 1Gig of texture memory.
    UrbanX says thanks.
  23. UrbanX New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tonbridge, UK
    Ah well, you win some, you lose some. :)

    I think I'll get the 2Gb version as it's only £4 more expensive.

    Thanks again Tatty_One.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page