1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire HD 6770 BIOS flash fail

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by cryptoboss, Mar 2, 2012.

  1. cryptoboss New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello everybody,
    sins my GC came with an underclocked GPU 775Mhz instead of 850Mhz, I have had the crazy idea of flashing my HD 6770 with this BIOS just to have a 850Mhz natively and avoid oveclocking it with trixx each time.
    For the flash I'v used TechPowerUp Radeon Bios Editor + ATI Winflash method, everything ended successfully, But after shutting down the PC , the GC wont boot , just black screen.
    I'm plannin tmorrow to restor it to the Original BIOS I'v saved, but my question is why this flash failed, for wich reason ??
    many thanx
  2. cyberloner

    cyberloner New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    use the original bios and change the clock speed and flash... no using others third party bios...
  3. cryptoboss New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok , I'll give it a try tomorrow with a friend of mine who have a dual pci-e mobo coz mine have only one.
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2012
  4. cryptoboss New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So, after trying to reflash it with atiflash in DOS mode, the HD 6770 cannot be dettected by atiflash -i command, I'v tried with another ATI card and it is welll recognized by atiflash -i, so I concluded that my HD 6770 died, "I'm I wrong about that ?"
    the good new is that the card still under warranty, but what I'm gonna say to the resseller to accept the card ??
    and is there any way the ressellers techniciens can figure out that I flashed it, even if the card cannot be detected??
    thx alot friends , I really apreaciate your help.
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,535 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,934
    c:atiflash -f -p "biosname".rom
  6. cryptoboss New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    when I put atiflash -f -p "biosname".rom it gives this error:
    ERROR 0FL01 noadapter found

    but when I check my PC bios if the bricked card is recognized, Yes it is recignized by the PC bios
    [​IMG]

    Is that mean that I still have a chance to unbrick It ?? and how??
    thxx
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2012
  7. cryptoboss New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Problem solved
    Graphic card unbricked.
    the issus came from the version of atiflash, when I passed to the latest version 3.95, everything goes successfully.
    many thanx

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page