1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SecuROM wont let me play Fallout 3 says wrong disk inserted.

Discussion in 'Games' started by Nick89, Jan 29, 2009.

  1. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Well SecuRom wont let me play Fallout 3 for some stupid reason it cant detect the fricking disk in the drive. I tried opening and closing the drive and that didnt work.

    I wish for the worst things to happen to the a$$holes at SecuROM.:shadedshu

    Because of SecuRom im going to have to buy a new CD/DVD multi drive just so I can play the game I paid for.:shadedshu
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,783 (13.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,163
    Restart your computer and try it. Make sure the disc is clean of any scratches, dust, smudges, etc..
     
  3. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    If it wont work then install a noCD crack
     
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,027 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    So it is SecuROM's fault that your CD/DVD drive is crap?:laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    The only good news is DVD drives cost less than video games... is that not crazy?!??!
     
  6. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    The disk is in perfect condition. I guess I'll restart my comp.
     
  7. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Its a perfectly good CD/DVD combo drive:shadedshu, even if I get a new drive I will probably still have the same problem.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2009
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,027 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    You're the one that said buying a new drive would be the solution.:slap:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  9. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    I shouldnt have to buy a new drive, for their DRM crap.
     
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,718 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,621
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I found that really only DVD+/-RW drives can read disks anymore. Not sure why DVD-ROM drives don't. I don't even bother with them anymore.

    By the way, I had the same problem with SnapCity.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,783 (13.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,163
    First of all, you should know better than to call others names. What leads you to the conclusion that you need a new DVD drive in the first place?
     
  12. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    I'm sorry Erocker but this situation has made me extremely mad, it is my day off and I just wanted to play some Fallout 3 and relax. But I cant because of securom.

    I've had this problem before with supreme comander and securom, and I figured that it must have somthing to do with the drive. But it seems like a wast of money to buy a new drive when the only problem is securoms bad codeing.

    newtekie should not make posts that smell of trolling, ("So it is SecuROM's fault that your CD/DVD drive is crap?:laugh:") <-that is in no way helpful and insulting.
     
  13. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,718 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,621
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Well...

    You have four options:
    1) circumvent SecuROM
    2) new DVD+/-RW drive
    3) complain to 2K Games that SecuROM won't let you play (you won't get anywhere on this one)
    4) take it back for a refund (they probably won't accept it because it has been open)

    I pick #1 and stick it to the man. ;)


    I agree, if DRM refuses to work on your hardware, the publisher is at fault for preventing legitimate owners from using their purchase.
     
    Nick89 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,978 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,710
    Location:
    US
    What is the error code your getting ?. Maybe a firmware update for your DVD drive ?..


    And make sure you have no image programs installed as often enough that can be the problem as since i have stopped using them i've not had a single issue.
     
  15. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    There is no error code it just says wrong disk inserted.

    I dont have daemon tools or alcohol 120 installed.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 29, 2009
  16. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,830 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    securom = a steaming pile

    I sympathize totally dude, you shouldn't have to change your hardware just to satisfy some poxy DRM scam - and I don't think newtekie's post was fair, either. :nutkick: Securom and the like is why I no longer buy games on disc any more. I bought Fallout 3 on Steam, which has no 3rd party DRM and runs just fine, every time - no product activation shit or rootkits. I boycott all Steam games with 3rd party DRM, no matter how good they are. This includes grade A titles such as Far Cry 2 and Crysis/Crysis Warhead etc. They want my money? They drop the DRM. Period.

    Sure Steam is DRM, but it's account based and hence works in a much more reasonable manner. I suggest selling your Fallout 3 and getting the Steam one, you won't regret it. Fallout 3 is fantastic, isn't it? :)

    The last disc-based game I bought was CoD4, because I forgot to check on the DRM. I believe it had securom on it, which I only realised when I went to install it. I ended up playing it through once only, even though it was awesome. I shortly after wiped Windows (because of other reasons) and didn't bother to install it again. I've since got the Steam version which runs just fine.
     
    Nick89 says thanks.
  17. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I had a similar problem, with Crysis. The security on the disc hates my drive, I have to constantly reload the disc to get it to work. Only way I found round it was to install a No-CD patch. Its not illegal, if you genuinely own the disc. And are literally using it for that purpose.
     
    Nick89 says thanks.
  18. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,978 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,710
    Location:
    US
    And the data of the disk shows right ?.. Like though explorer. Just thinking the lens might after gone after you installed it. Long shot i know but hey mine went on m y other drive and only reads CD's now.

    Firmware update for it ?..
     
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,027 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Yes, you would probably be correct in assuming there is something wrong with the drive, that is usually the problem when this happens. Usually it means the drive times out trying to detect the disc.

    Again, so it is SecuROM's fault that your CD/DVD drive is crap?

    The fact that it is a combo drive pretty much seals the fact that the drive is a POS, and most likely the cause of your problems.

    Actually, it says "No Disc Inserted", IE the drive can't read the disc, or isn't reading it properly.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  20. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Try cleaning the hub of the DVD and try again (the clear portion of the DVD in the center).
     
  21. CarolinaKSU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Is that where the SecuROM data is? If so that totally reminds of when Sony put that little track on the outside of some CD's that had the rootkit on it among the other nasty DRM that made it so you couldnt even play the cd in a computer. Solution? Just draw a line over it with permanent marker! :rockout:
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,353 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,631
    you sure its not a software conflict? programs like deamon tools and alcohol 120% can cause this, if you have their emulation stuff turned on.
     
  23. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    I dont have any emulation software installed.

    The error seems to have disapeared for now.:wtf:
     
  24. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    797 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35

    I'm going to but in on this lil "crap war"
    Theirs been a lot of issues with securom even from non "crap" dvd drives(nice choice of words :laugh:), a pretty unfair diagnosis with some extra emotion thrown in. It could have been much easier to say "I think you should just get a new dvd /rw drive you can get one on newegg for 22 shipped."(Which is a true fact) From someone with 5k posts you would figure you would know how to help better than what you just did. Quality over quantity. I'm no moderator, I'm not even staff anymore, but grow up man.


    At Nick89 glad you got it working man!
     
    Nick89 and blobster21 say thanks.
  25. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,718 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,621
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Same thing happened to me. SecuROM is dodgy--it's really that simple.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page