1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Set Screen Resolution in terminal

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by sonnytiger, Feb 27, 2010.

  1. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    I booted from a live cd (ubuntu 9.10) to make sure everything wors, and alas, the output resolution is not suppported by the hdtv (media computer) i got into terminal just fine (Ctrl + Alt + F1) but i don't know what commands to use to set the screen resolution. ANy Ideas?
     
  2. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    What GUI?
     
  3. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    GUI? I can't get to the gui thats why i am seeking help! When i try to switch to gui, the resolusion out put is invalid so i can't use the gui. I need to know how to fix this problem using terminal
     
  4. Melcar

    Melcar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    73 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Have you tried using "safe mode" from the LiveCD menu? That usually resolves display issues, though you will be using a low graphics mode during your Live session.
     
  5. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

    Go through the on-screen directions and you'll set up pretty much everything again, including resolution.
     
  6. Melcar

    Melcar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    73 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    With Karmic that won't work.
    If you want a xorg.conf file you will have to create it:

    Code:
    Xorg -configure
    That drops a xorg.conf.new file into the working directory, so just modify it as you see fit, rename it, and move it to /etc/X11 for it to work. Restart X and the new values will be used.
     
  7. regexorcist

    regexorcist New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    178 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    ~/
    EDIT:
    Looks like Melcar posted before me
    he can help you
     
  8. Melcar

    Melcar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    73 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    The safe mode trick should work. The only way I know to change resolutions on the fly for a graphical sessions is if X is running, so if you can't get X started or you switch to VT (by doing ctrl+alt+F1) you won't be able to do it. In this case the only thing you can do is making changes to xorg.conf.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page