1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Should i crossfire my card ?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Durvelle27, Apr 5, 2013.

  1. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I'm wondering if i should crossfire or not to achieve better FPS in some of my games. I play Tomb Raider, Bioshock Infinite, Crysis 3, BF3, Far Cry 3,Assassins Creed III, Sleeping Dogs etc. And if so is it worth upgrading my mobo. I normally game at 1080p most game with eye candy and some without due to low FPS. My spec are in my sig
     
  2. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,561 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,321
    If its worth it or not is up to you... There are plenty of reviews around showing the scaling/performance of two at your resolution. Check those out and see if the wallet can make it happen. :)
     
  3. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,178 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I wouldn't do it, at least not with your current mobo. The 2nd card will only have PCI-E x 4(2.0) bandwidth, which is also shared with the chipset, so it wont perform nearly as good as you'll expect it to.
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,771 (12.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,681
    I think AMD admitted that CrossFire is currently broken and they will release an overhauled driver come July... I just need to find where I read that. Also, x8 +x4 CrossFire isn't ideal to begin with.

    So, I'd say no. Sell your current card and buy a 7950/7970.
     
  5. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    10,211 (7.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26,197
    That mobo should be fine using the PCIEX4 slot for the 2nd card if you decide on crossfire... you may lose 5% or so from an optimal crossfire setup. Also, you can mix the 7870 with a 7850... again not optimal but it will bring you up to 7970 levels on the cheap.
    *Note- you won't have the 3GB of vram like a 7970 but 2GB is still pretty god ;)

    Do a search for 7870 7850 crossfire for a few reviews (don't have the link(s) with me atm)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,561 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,321
    All good points above... though I wouldnt call CFx broken per say. Some people dont have the problems and its game specific I believe? :confused:

    2GB is still fine at 1080p so he is good there. :)
     
  7. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,178 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/HD_5870_PCI-Express_Scaling/25.html
    5% may seem like its doable, but in crossfire set-ups, it'll cause stalls in the frame delivery, which probably negate most of the performance increase gained by crossfiring. Furthermore, the performance was 5% lower for a 5870; the 7870 is quite a bit quicker, however, so the decrease in performance would arguable be higher.

    Of course you can still buy another card and crossfire, and you'll probably see quite an increase in FPS in most games, but some things are bound to run worse than you expect them to.
     
  8. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    a HD 7970 won't fit my case
     
  9. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Intel/Ivy_Bridge_PCI-Express_Scaling/23.html
     
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,499 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,905
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    That's a single card, not Crossfire. Crossfire is different. Buy the card, get it, and you'll see. DX10 and DX11 apps seem to get the worst performance with x16/x4.


    As erocker mentioned, 7-series Crossfire is a bit broken at times(A LOT), and a fix is not expected until around July. You can find this reported on Anandtech and PC Perspective if you need a source other than me. :roll:
     
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,771 (12.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,681
    I see this picture here.. Not sure if it's a modded case or not, but is seems simple enough.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    10,211 (7.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26,197
    Durvelle27 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,632 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,600
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I am running crossfired 7850's on a Gigabyte 990FXA-ud3 and it seems fine. I am not having any issues .


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
  15. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
  16. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,632 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,600
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I was just letting you know I wasn't having driver problems with my setup. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    oh ok thx.

    what drivers and caps
     
  18. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,632 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,600
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    using the 12.10 driver and 12.9 cap. I am going to update the cap when i move the rig to it's finale home.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2013
    Durvelle27 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    what about 13.2 Beta 3
     
  20. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    or 13.1
     
  21. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,632 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,600
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I am going to leave the drivers where they are for right now. They work great and if it ain't broke I am not going to try and fix it. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    9,670 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,388
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    take it from me, don't touch anything below 13.3. Plus you won't need caps anymore. Those drivers fixed all my flickering issues in skyrim and dramatically improves my crossfire performance. Any drivers below that fucked it up aside from 12.10
     
    Durvelle27 says thanks.
  23. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    nice so no microstutter

    :toast:
     
  24. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,501 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,683
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    geh? not fitting in a Storm scout? my 6950 fit in my fractal design core 1000 thanks to the vertical HDD tray and my new 7950 (XFX 7950 are basically same length as their 7970) fits in my Thermaltake Element S and i dont recall a SScout being smaller than a Element S

    anyway my 6950 (2gb) wasnt slow in FC3 or bf3 in my main rigs but i got a sweet deals over a 7950 (wich i currently run OC'ed like a Black Ed.) i have a "crappy" PH II X6 1035T until i find another sweet deals for a 6300/8320/8350

    and a 970 ASRock ext3 (wiring x4 also on the 2nd x16 so i didnt thought even a bit about Xfiring the 6950 :p ) i rather say going for a 7950 3gb from a 6950 was the most logical since a good OC'ed 6950 is near a 7870 currently i gain between 10 and 20 fps reaching the vsync more often than the 6950, in useless benchies i get (once oc'ed) 50 to 60% more

    final thought : if you can sell that 7870 and get a 7970 it will be a good upgrade till you change mobo and get Xfire for 7970 ooorr wait for 8xxx serie (end of 2013?) but i bet a 7970 (Ghz or not) would be really enough more if Xfired when 8xxx goes out (cheaper 2nd 7970 in that case o_O )

    i know my 2 rigs arent topclass but they do their work and both does it fine (well the X6+7950 better than the X4+6950 ofc. :D)
     
  25. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    If you can, just wait until AMD gets the Crossfire issues sorted out then decide.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page