1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Should i or should i not

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Firebeast, Mar 12, 2008.

  1. Firebeast

    Firebeast New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    144 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hey all, recently i swopped my xfx 7600GT card for a Asus 7900GTX. I know who'd be so stupid as to swop a 7600gt for a 7900gtx. Anyway there is a reason for it but thats not what is bugging me here.

    The 7900gtx is giving me a problem, but did not do so in my friends pc before we swopped. It is creating these small dead pixel like dots on my CRT monitor. Also tried to run 3dmark05 to test the card and it crashed.

    Last night i started it up again and installed RivaTuner and upped the fan speed of the card to 60%. This seems to have helped seeing as i could run 3dmark05 and dont really see any small dots on the monitor now.

    My first reaction was overheating and also power supply. PSU being a no name brand 500w, and i dont really like no name brand stuff. Its my wife's pc so i did not care for a name brand when i bought it.

    My question is this, it seems to be fine now, but seeing as the card is still under warranty should i send it to Asus and see what they say. Maybe teh memory modules or something else is faulty, or maybe they pick something else up. Or should i just put more fans in my pc case and get a better psu?
     
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Sounds like a heat issue, if upping the fan stopped it. Try cleaning out the heatsink with canned air. Then, try to redo the cable management in the computer, to get the wires out of the path of all the airflow. Last, if you only have an exhaust fan, adding an intake fan in front would help a lot.

    But I do suggest a quality psu. Psu is one place you should never skimp. When a psu blows, it can take out every single component in the rig.
     
  3. Firebeast

    Firebeast New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    144 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Cape Town
    WOW, first off what a quick reply i usually have to wait an hour or so in any Forum to get a reply, being in the arse end of the world and time issue and so... so cheers mate :toast:

    Now, as you suggested was what i thought i should do. I only have a sidepanel fan and exhaust fan, but definately need an intake fan. It seems as if its an overheating problem but once again as you said, ive had some many issues with no name brand psu's in the past so getting a name brand will help. My pc has a AOpen 500w in it and it takes whatever i throw at it.

    So then i assume you dont think it neccessary for me to send the card to Asus to check up on?:rolleyes:


     
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    np, m8. I'm actually in the US, but I'm a nightowl. IT's 6am here, and I'm just getting ready for bed. lol.

    But anyway, I'd go ahead and try the better cooling first. If that doesn't solve the problems, then I'd consider an rma.
     
  5. Firebeast

    Firebeast New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    144 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Thx alot mate, and good night LOL!
     
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Oh yeah, and welcome to tpu. Hope you stick around. :toast:
     
  7. Firebeast

    Firebeast New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    144 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I will dude, been looking for a good Forum on gaming and Hardware. Gamespot's been letting me down lately!:respect:

     
  8. Deusxmachina

    Deusxmachina New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    526 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Lots of mentions of overheating, but I didn't catch any mentions of actual temperatures. Rivatuner and Ati Tool can both monitor the card's temperature.

    If it worked fine in the friend's computer, I'd look at what fans he has that I don't.

    "500 watt" PSU or not, there should be a label on it showing the +12v amps. That's the main info you need to know.
     
  9. Firebeast

    Firebeast New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    144 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Cape Town
    He had about 8 fans in his box... Looking at the fan on the card when i got it it was turning way to slowly. After upping the fan speed it is running better. Just bought more fans for the case so should help

    GPU temp is 44degree idle now and howers around 50degree under load. There is still a small dot on the screen but sofar games been working.

    Wil check on the power supply as you suggested.



     
  10. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,034
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    You could also lower temps by replacing the stock cooler with something aftermarket. If you're not comfortable with doing this, you could just replace the thermal paste on the gpu with some Arctic Cooling MX-2 or Ceramique. Replacing the thermal paste alone will usually net you at least a 5c drop in temps.
     
  11. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,034
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Gamespot is fine if you are having issues with games, but this is the right place for any hardware concerns. Many, many knowledgeable and helpful people here. Welcom to the tpu forums!:)
     
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,988
    Location:
    some AF base
    it sounds like the card no that you have put up temps 55C load is not going to be an issue. RMA it sounds like a good choice.
     
  13. Rurouni Strife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    124 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    There is another possible problem. My roommate had a 79GTX and it worked fine for a while. Then it started getting minor curruption on his screen, kinda similar to what you said. Then he'd get a green box on the screen when he'd play TF2 (thats pretty much all he plays). He did some research, and apparently certian batches of 7900GTX cards have a PCB issue that causes that. So if you get similar curruption, contact your card maker and RMA it. You could get lucky, my roomie got a 7950 GX2 as a replacement. Granted...that card has its issues but overall its a mini upgrade for free.
     
  14. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Did you remove all of the old drivers using driver cleaner or similar?

    I would clean and reseat the HSF and try a a good psu
     
  15. Firebeast

    Firebeast New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    144 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Cape Town
    OK Ruroini_Strife sounds like i have a faulty card then. Ive inserted a intake and exhaust fan and it idling at 41degrees. I also had a look on the psu and it has a +12v amps as Deusxmachina suggested i look for. The psu is 6mnts old.

    Havent uninstalled the drivers per se.

    The funny thing is there's only one small dot, since cooling down the case and card. But periodically when i open the Nvidia control panel the green nvidia logo stops and carries on turining on and off. Also it happend with one of the games last night. It would freeze and then carry on going.

    Restarted the game and it was fine. Ran another game and it crashed. I am going to send the card in, cause if Asus finds that there's nothing wrong then it can only be the power supply. I know teh pc itself is working perfect. THe Geforce 7600gt which does not have a plug for power worked perfect. Now that i need to have an extra plug for power for the 7900gtx things started to go wrong i think.

    I think i should just send it to them.
     
  16. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,153
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    After hearing what Ruroini said, I would suggest RMAing it, but while you're waiting for it to come back, look into a new PSU. What's your budget like? I'll help you choose a good PSU for that card.

    And like Wile E said, your PSU is the backbone to your computer system, and it can cause your entire system to fail. Think of it as eating. If you eat junk food, and you try to run a marathon, you're going to fail. If you eat well, then you can do just about any strenuous activity. Kind of a stretch, but especially with your system configuration, I'd be afraid to run a generic PSU.
     
  17. Firebeast

    Firebeast New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    144 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Thx dude, i'll send it to them, and as for psu, i will get the same as what i have in my pc, which is working perfectly, Aopen 500w.

     
  18. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,153
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    I would still get a different PSU. A better quality PSU will extend the life of your system, and if you're buying a new one, you may as well spend $30 more now rather than buy another PSU later down the road.

    My suggestion:

    Corsair VX 550W
    (link)
    $65 after rebate.

    Or, if you want to spend a little more and get a more future-proof PSU, go with one of the more powerful PSUs on this page.

    Buy.com has the best deals on these right now.
     
  19. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    so you installed the card without properly removing or installing the drivers? :shadedshu
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page