1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SLI...should I?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Azn Tr14dZ, Jun 11, 2006.

  1. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I was planning to get an SLI motherboard, Intel or AMD, don't matter, but I'm not really going to use the SLI feature, sooner or later. Should I get an SLI motherboard even though I know I'm never going to use SLI, or should I save myself $20 and get a motherboard with a single-card configuration, but still be a good motherboard with good overclocking?

    Thanks,
    Azn
     
  2. yousef New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    lebanon
    it depends on the platform,amd or intel,if amd i suggest u bring A8N32-Sli its a good mobo,if u r goin intel i hear the nvidia chipset for intel rocks "asus p5nd2-sli".
    my suggestion go for amd
     
  3. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Well if your for sure certain that your not going to be running SLI, then i would get a motherboard with a single PCI-E 16x slot.
     
  4. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Nvidia Nforce4 Ultra is really good...all the features of SLI without the second PCIe x16 slot. I think that if you surf around Nvidia's site you can find some product sheets that tell you all the performance benefits.
     
  5. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I was leaning more towards the AMD side too, but not AM2. The only difference is DDR2, and despite the high speeds, they have more latency.

    Before, I was going to go Intel, with the 805, but there's been news that Intel's price cut is only going to be 15%, instead of $93 for the 805, so then I'm leaning towards AMD.
     
  6. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Here are the 2 setups, after like the 100th change in my decisions, here are the 2 close to the final decision.

    AMD Setup
    AMD Athlon 64 3200+: $105.99
    ECS KN1 Lite 1.0A nForce 4 Ultra: $54.99 (new)
    2x Gigaram 512MB DDR 400 PC 3200 : $38.99x2
    Western Digital 160GB S-ATA 3GB/s: $64.99
    Sony DVD-ROM: $19.99

    Total: $323.94

    Intel Setup
    Intel Pentium D 805: $93-120.99 (depending on Intel's price cut)
    ECS C19A-SLI: $79.99 OR ECS 945P-A: $68.99
    PQI Turbo 1GB DDR2-667: $69.99
    Western Digital 160GB S-ATA 3GB/s: $64.99
    Sony DVD-ROM: $19.99

    Total: $317-$355.95

    Which one is better? Thanks! I know...I'm fickle...
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2006
  7. markkleb Guest

    LOL, ECS SUCKs (again)(it dosent really SUCK, its just there is lots better for the same money)

    I like the SLI mobo cause IF you want to go SLI you can. Also It puts the video card (if ur using one) higher on the mobo so there is room below for other stuff.

    AZN why arent you getting AM2? Its about the same price.

    Why not let me custom something for you?

    (forget the 805) AMD RULES!!!!!:rockout:
     
  8. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I don't have a fan for AM2, I'm using the Big Typhoon right now, and I know it won't work for AM2. Markkleb, if you can customize me an AM2, for under 340 or 330, I'll check it out.

    I'm only using this for gaming, listening to music, copying CDs, and gaming. My current setup (except for graphics), is going to my dad, and I'll burn DVDs on there.
     
  9. markkleb Guest

  10. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Hard drive......exactly!! Shhh...Shhh...it's ok. It's ok.

    Plus the DVD-ROM...
     
  11. markkleb Guest

    I know why dont we all get together and buy you a computer...:nutkick:
     
  12. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    LOL...sorry If I don't have much right now...
     
  13. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Unless Intel lowers Pentium D 805 to $93 (and hopefully newegg lowers it more), then I'm going with the socket 939 setup on the previous page. If the Pentium D 805 does go for $93, then most probably Intel is the one to go with. Thanks eveyone, especially Markkleb, for your help.
     
  14. markkleb Guest

    Dont worry AZN ul probably change ur mine at least 12,345,123,764,345,654 more times before you deside. LOL

    Both AMD and Intel are supposedly gonna lower their prices.
     
  15. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    It's just that the 805 can overclock to 3.8GHz on air, and I really want that, and I'm lost again in what to choose...
     
  16. b1lk1

    b1lk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    688 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes, go AM2, S939 has no real upgrade path and AM2 is new and cheaper than S939. Prices are dropping faster than Bill Clinton's pants. Anyhow, get an SLI board and get an AM2 board. Get some better ram and you'll not regret trying to save a few bucks 6 months from now.
     
  17. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I've already chosen on not getting an SLI board. I'm never ever going to use that feature. Either 939 or Intel for me. Depends now on how low Intel drops the 805's prices.
     
  18. markkleb Guest

    Sorry b1lk1 logic has no place here....:roll:
     
  19. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I can't afford AM2 (as of now) and I'll never use SLI. Never mind, sorry for even asking you guys here which is better. No point in asking at all. I should just leave this forum.
     
  20. markkleb Guest

    Dont get mad. Its nice you are here. There is nothing wrong with changing ur mind.

    My comp is a 939 and its a waste for me to get AM2.
    But if you have nothing than its better to buy a AM2.
    If you have to wait till you get a little more money than wait.

    I am not teasing you, its just my way of trying to be funny.
     
  21. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Let me just ask you, what's better, an Intel Pentium D 805 @ 3.8GHz or an Athlon 64 3200+ (939 or AM2) overclocked to 2.9GHz?
     
  22. markkleb Guest

    I would NOT get the 805 or the ECS mobo.
    (the 805 may OC to 3.8 but its slower than the AMDs)
    A friend of mine OCd and benchmarked his 805 and the scores were almost the same as my 3700+(single core)

    939 is fine

    AM2 is the future

    as a matter of fact on Crystalmark my RedChrome (with AMD 3000+) beat the heck out of his 805.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 11, 2006
  23. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I guess 939 then. Thanks...but I'll still check for lower prices and such, I'll tell you the final build when I'm ready. Thanks for the help markkleb.
     
  24. BigD6997

    BigD6997 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    it will be hard to get that 3200 to 2.9 on a cheap mobo... look at the dfi lp ultra-d more expensive but one of the best boards out there...
     
  25. BigD6997

    BigD6997 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    my evga is the limiting factor on getting my 3500 past 2.714 cuz the bios doesnt offer any in depth overclocking featues, all you can realy change is the voltage and fsb
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page