1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Slow as LAN transfer rate

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by white_crystal14, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. white_crystal14

    white_crystal14 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bendigo,vic,AUS
    Ok... If you look in my system specs, you'll notice i dont have the greatest computer.
    But whenever soemone dumps/leeches stuff of my computer it goes really slow.
    Mussels has had a look at it, Tried almost everything... And the best we can do is get it to speed up a little.

    Here is what we have tried:
    Reformatted and installed XP
    Put a gigabit PCI card in/made it slower
    New harddrive/partitions and installed vista
    Swapped Lan cables

    I dont know about the rest, If you think you know how to fix this issue post here.
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    might just be the network/router or possibily its just your cpu/ram/etc depending on the speed and what not.
     
  3. white_crystal14

    white_crystal14 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bendigo,vic,AUS
    Evil

    Ive ran my computer on a few switches and they still run like ****.
    :banghead:
     
  4. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    id say Vista tbh

    mines exactly the same ,a max of about 7mb/s copy large files over my network,strangely tho if i use 1 of my xp based PC's then send it from there to the vista pc i get 11mb/s but only 7mb/s the other way around.
     
  5. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    hmm interesting.. i wonder if thats the answer and solution?

    maybe you want to test the speeds on windows and then on ubuntu live.
     
  6. white_crystal14

    white_crystal14 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bendigo,vic,AUS
    The transfer speed is faster after i installed vista.
     
  7. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  8. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,482 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,762
    good post, i forgot to make this thread for you.

    To re-iterate what she said with a few extra facts.

    1. Original setup was XP and onboard 100Mb lan. Transfer speed was 3MB/s average.
    2. Second setup was vista + PCI gigabit card. Speed was ~500KB/s
    3. Vista w/ onboard lan, max speed is 5-6MB/s

    We have changed switches, cables, OS, drivers, and network cards. I seriously cant think of anything else.
     
  10. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    You might want to define slow, and tell us what kind of "leeching". ie is it Windows file sharing? Is it FTP? Some other application? Does the issue exist in other applications as well? Any network devices in between? Siwtch/hub? Collisions? etc
     
  11. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,266 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    It could be as simple as bad cables betwen the router and the PC.
     
  12. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Perhaps.

     
  13. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    If the onboard is 10/100, 5-6MB/s isnt all that slow. My old setup with my old router (10/100) peaked at around 9MB/s.
     
  14. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    if mussels try first that mean there is no much idea's but there is maybe somethings like
    did you use ftp cables or utp and what about rg's is it good
    sometimes pci lan do some problems so try other driver for lan
     
  15. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Unless they put the cable through a microwave and/or are extremely long (nearing the 100M limit) there isn't much difference between ftp and utp on 100Mbit networks. Getting around 10MB/s should be healthy.
     
  16. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,438 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    You can try this and if don't do it for ya, you can turn it back on. It may go a little faster, but I don't think it will hit light speed...

    Start >> Control Panel >> Programs and Features

    Click on " Turn windows features on or off" on the left side of the panel

    Takes a sec to load all the features

    Uncheck "Remote Differential Compression"

    And here is an explanation of it. http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa372948.aspx
     
  17. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    try turning off the onboard LAN in BIOS
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,482 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,762
    Tried that initially, when i had only the gigabit card.


    I've tried that before with success, however we had this problem in XP as well as vista, and XP doesnt have remote differential compression. It might be worth a try anyway.

    A few others in this thread need to read posts, as we DID swap lan cables, and all were under 5 meters long.

    Pinchy: other systems on that network with 100Mb cards get 9-10MB/s flat. She has a 610i chipset (not 410i, that was a typo) with an Nvidia network card. I dont think its that weak, that 5MB/s is its best.
     
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,105 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,166
    What is the CPU utilization like while transfering? Maybe the NIC is using so much CPU that the Celeron can't handle it, though I doubt that is the case, it is worth a look.

    Also, have you disabled all firewalls, including the one installed with the nVidia chipset drivers(if you chose to install it)?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,482 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,762
    All firewalls are off. XP/vistsa/kaspersky (which was installed after initial tests only).

    We didnt install the bonus NV things, god those are terrible.


    CPU usage isnt showing to be high in task manager - but that was our conclusion in the end as well. Unfortunately, the only way to find out if its the CPU or not is to buy one - and thats proving harder than it should be, to get CPU's for around $50-$75 au
     
  21. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yeah 5MB/s is pretty weak. I know mine used to average at around 8MB/s and as I said top out at like 9, but thats because my hardware was poor. (no name router, old cables)

    Dang it pick up the e1200 from MSY for $65 :p!
     
  22. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Got fresh drivers? I've had weird NIC and onboard LAN problems before that were solved by picking drivers (somewhat compatible) from the list in the Add Hardware Wizard. Not sure why it worked, but sticking on other drivers, having them fail, then reloading the correct ones have solved something like this for me before.
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,482 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,762
    we tried the ones provided with windows for the giga, and the Nvidia ones for the Nforce onboard.

    Pinchy: I've never liked MSY. their website is... well, you know.
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,482 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,762
    We've managed to fix this problem, by only doing network transfers one way.

    If she copies files from over the network, she now gets 12MB/s - at 90-100% CPU usage. If we try and copy files to her PC, it slows to 3MB/s and her CPU lags out.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page