1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

So does PCE-I 2.0 (3870) run on our current mobos?....

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by HookeyStreet, Nov 17, 2007.

  1. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    So does PCI-E 2.0 (3870) run on our current mobos?....

    ....say mine for instance?
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2007
  2. Kasparz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    287 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    No, PCE-I 2.0 cards won't work in PCI-E 1.0 slot. But if you're talking about PCI-E 2.0, then it will work in PCI-E 1.0 slot.
     
  3. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    298
    We know what you meant Hookey, so yes. :toast:
     
    HookeyStreet says thanks.
  4. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Dont be a dickhead about a typing error :mad:
     
  5. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Thanks m8 ;)
     
  6. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Are you sure?? I thought the PCI-E 2.0 cards WERE backwards compatible. :confused:
     
  7. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    me too i want to be sure, as my 7900gs is now up for sale.
     
  8. cefurkan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    206 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    of course it works
     
  9. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    @me?
     
  10. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,969 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,784
    yes it will work, a pci-e 2.0 card will work in any pci-e 1.0 slot, but of course only at 1.0 speeds. a 1.0 card works in a 2.0 slot too, but only at 1.0 speed
     
    HookeyStreet and [I.R.A]_FBi say thanks.
  11. largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,780 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Did a little experiment:
    It took ~5 seconds to google an answer to this. (searchwords: "pcie 2.0 compatible")
    OR 10 seconds to search the forum.

    *shrug*

    btw,
    IMO, Kasparz's reply was perfectly appropriate.
     
  12. Kasparz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    287 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Yes, i'm sure what i'm talking about.
     
  13. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    I thought you needed pci-e 1.1 to run pci-e 2.0 cards.. But p965 has pci-e 1.1, so there isn't any problems. :)
     
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
  14. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England

    TBH, I thought it would, but its always better to make a post on TPU because that way others that may be wondering about the same thing can see the answer also!

    Well your a d!ckhead too! He knew I had made a typing error, yet decided to act like an idiot....and your just following the leader!
     
  15. Kasparz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    287 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Being smart and precise is called dickhead these days? Oh dear, oh.
     
  16. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    No, but being an asshole is. ;)
     
    HookeyStreet says thanks.
  17. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    It wasnt me being a n00b, I made an error whilst typing too fast (it happens to everyone) But you were just being a smartass and trying to look clever! Everyone else knew what I meant and so did you!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page