1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

so who is it. bad internet

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Azazel, Apr 17, 2009.

  1. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    iv been having really slow interent download and high ping but its random, simetimes my download is ok and then the next day or hours its slow..same with my ping, iv talked to AOL and they say there is no problem down there end it lynksys problem i phone lyksys and they say there is nothing rong with there router its AOL's fualt...im kinda getting tierd of this

    whats the hell is up with my net, not sure what to do >_<
  2. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    also sometime random websites stop loading so i have to restart my router for them to re load.
  3. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Run a traceroute (tracert in Windows) to the destination site. It will show you where you are slowing down.
    Azazel says thanks.
  4. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    how do i do that :p
  5. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    he might not know how....
    hold windows key + r
    type "cmd"
    type "tracert www.google.com"
    it will run each connection point from you to google.com and the latency between each. If you are using wireless, it could be the problem. I despise wireless, especially for gaming.

    Im willing to bet it is your ISP, they always say its not their problem. Mine did for months before they finally fixed it.
    Nick89 and Azazel say thanks.
  6. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    [​IMG]

    mmm >_<

    what does it mean :p

    problem is its random, but it still slower than it used to be. my ping on my refuler server used to be 140 give or take now lowest is 170-190 and sometime its 250-300 and it does not go down
  7. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    it means that at the time you did that tracert, there wasnt a problem. Do a tracert and post it when your connection is for sure acting up. Also make sure nothing is using your connection, and if it is wireless, that no one else is using your connection.

    Routing chooses the fastest option, so the problem usually lies at your ISP or you. Whenever it does mess up, it will have a high ping at 92.9.64.1 (your routers IP) or 92.31.252.6 (ISP problem) Beyond that, it is in the wild blue yonder.

    To further help us with the problem, go to speedtest.net, and tell us what you get. Best to do several of those tests, and tell us the highest and lowest scores from different semi-local locations. (we are looking for upload, download, and ping.)
    Azazel says thanks.
  8. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    ok doki
  9. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    [​IMG]

    still really slow used to get mush fatser, how do i get previosu results ?
    im supposed to have 8mb.i used to get closer to 3..now i get half that
  10. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Did your parents secretly get a slower plan? Mine did for a whole year, and I didn't find out until 10 months into that year.

    768 :banghead:
    Azazel says thanks.
  11. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    lol, 8mb is the slowest you can get in AOL so yeah im sure :p (carphone warehouse own AOL in the uk)
  12. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Do you get these slow downs at "peak" times of the day.If you try during the middle of the night does the speed increase.

    During "peak" times of the day I see a dramatic slow down with my ISP, have complained several times but seems only thing to do is switch ISP..but they all seem to do this.

    EDIT:At the moment Friday 17:22 only getting 0.7Mb/s download on a 8Meg line.:(
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2009
    Azazel says thanks.
  13. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    660
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Yea i think all ISP's limit your speed at peak time now days!!
    Azazel says thanks.
  14. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    dude you are talking abotu the oldest crap in the book, SOHO routers suck, bad, its their software, thats why useing openWRT + X-Wrt is so good, its good software, not like there is anything wrong with the hardware, they just run the windows ME of small oses [VXWorks] google VXWorks and crash lol
    Azazel says thanks.
  15. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,284 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,531
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Use this, it has a few test and some explanations:http://www.pcpitstop.com/internet/default.asp
    :)
    Azazel says thanks.
  16. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,381 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,218
    sounds like your router is about to die. if it is random and the problem goes away after you reboot the router then it is most likely the router.
    Azazel says thanks.
  17. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    stupid router >_<
  18. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Didn't AOL go broke and pack up their ISP business years ago?

    I thought they were long gone, definitely one of the worst UK ISP around after Talk Talk and Tiscalli. Move to Virgin Media, ok they have a little traffic management during peek hours but you get exactly what you pay for and they've recently dropped the price.

    I'm on 10 MB and I usually download at around 1.2 MB/Sec from any half decent server or torrent.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page