1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Some online games are refusing to connect.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by JC316, Sep 11, 2006.

  1. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    I am having a very frustrating problem, some of my games won't show the severs online. These are the games that don't work.

    1. Prey
    2. Quake 4
    3. Doom3
    4. F.E.A.R
    5. Wolfenstien.

    If I open my router up to the internet, I can get a response from the master server in Wolfenstein, but I still can't get any servers to show up.

    I have tried using X-fire and Gamespy, but they won't work either. They show the servers, but when I connect, it times out.

    I have tried to un firewall everything. People have told me to forward the port, but that is confusing as hell and from what I tried, it dosen't work.

    Now here is the REALLY confusing part. These games work great.

    1. UT2004
    2. Halo Demo
    3. Guild wars
    4. Battlefield 2142 Beta

    Any help would be greatly appreicated.
    PS. All games are fully updated.
     
  2. Gorre

    Gorre New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    103 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cinnamon - edible orgasms
    I'd say it was specific issue for quake engine-using games, but I dont think PREY uses any of the Q engines.
    Stumped Im afraid.
     
  3. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Maybe the command:

    netstat -ano

    (From a DOS prompt)

    Can show you which games are holding WHICH PORTS open, & perhaps this will help lend a clue to you what exactly is stopping those other games from working (probably punching "holes" into your firewall settings, or if you do it, port filtrations @ the IP stack level).

    APK
     
  4. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Prey uses the Doom 3 engine, but I know it's not that because F.E.A.R has the same issue.

    Alec, I tried what you said, I found something that might be the issue, when I try wolfenstien it opens 0.0.0.0: 27960, the first numbers in the IP are missing.
     
  5. Gorre

    Gorre New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    103 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cinnamon - edible orgasms
    Erk, I meant I dunno which engine FEAR uses. Doom3 engine is the Q4 engine is the Doom3 engine, if you see what I mean.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page