1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Speculated CRYSIS Performance - ATI & NVIDIA

Discussion in 'Games' started by mikey8684, Jun 10, 2007.

  1. mikey8684

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    423 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Infront Of PC ... Perth, WA
    Zero Cool and theonetruewill say thanks.
  2. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    im not meaning to be over negative but if this is anywhere near correct there will be some very un happy campers..... but i was under the impression the crysis team were saying this should run ok on a 2 year old system. and after a second look at the speculated fp's you would need a current flagship card and a decent OC just to run 1280*1024 at repectiable frame rates 60>70+. god help ppl with 24" or bigger monitors .
  3. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    lol, * prays i can find a 1gb 2900 for sale, coz i run all my games at 1920 x 1200 :(
  4. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    I hear that, 1920x1080 over here...

    Guess I wait til the winter and get 8800gts640 at around ~$200. Got too much to do this summer anyway...

    Great post btw, good info
  5. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,407 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,347
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Getting my Gainward 8800GTS 640MB tomorrow, and I play at 16 x 10 :D
  6. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    You thinking of selling your GTX?
  7. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,407 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,347
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    GTO in excess of GTX speeds, yes, it's on Flea Bay at the moment, auction finishes in 2 hours 40mins, seller ID is same as here....tatty_one :D
  8. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Speculated... the real thing will be nothing like this.
  9. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Ah well, my 8600GTS should run it around medium-medium high.
  10. Oliver_FF

    Oliver_FF New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    546 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    At least you'll be able to whack the quality to max just to get a feel of things to come with DX10 - even with 1fps there could be lots of drooling going on :p
  11. scoutingwraith

    scoutingwraith

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    726 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Ooh damn........its time to brake the piggy bank again. ;)

    1680x1050 over here and i will probably need some very decent upgrades to play the game. :(
  12. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,302 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    hmm, it is based on a dual core cpu @2ghz though, which is a bit slower than youre average system (though it dosent say WHICH d/core cpu), i really dont want to run this at anything under 1280x1024 with aa
  13. Zero Cool

    Zero Cool New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,199 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Prague, CZ
    same card, similiar spec, same res!

    hmm I need upgrade too :(
  14. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Time for an upgrade :roll:.
  15. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Lol I see they expect HD 2900XT Crossfire to outperform 8800GTX SLi

    :p
  16. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    :( Yes...
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,522 (13.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,920
    I think that they are basing performance with AMD K10?! If this is true I'm saving a couple extra hundred bucks and getting a 2900xt.
  18. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    I was expecting bigger requirements....
  19. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    So what will a pair of 8800GTX's get on 2560x1600, a slide show?
  20. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Just go back and look at the performance flagship cards were getting on Far Cry at launch (9700 Pro). No one is going to be able to run it maxed out, thats the beauty of it. The engine will scale up to take advantage of more advanced hardware.

    (Unlike some games that run crappily no matter how much power you throw at it *cough* stalker *cough*)
  21. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Oh phew it's not just me. STALKER just seems to have the same amout of jerks no matter what resolution I put it at. It runs fine then...jerk......once every so often and I can't understand why as it happens when I put it at 800x600 everything on low:mad:.
    So I just leave it @ 1440x900 and it's exactly the same. Just annoying that the occasional jerks seem to occur whatever you do to rectify them. I even went as far as borrowing my mate's 7600GT for SLI = problem remained! And they were getting 6400+ in 3d06 (un-tweaked settings but mild oc)

    However I'm guessing i'm gonna need to upgrade for Crysis...
  22. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    It's just a shoddily coded game, and performance doesnt scale with the power of the hardware you run it on.

    I'm going to go out on a branch and guess that on all low settings, the minimum hardware youll need for crysis would be-
    Dual core cpu
    2gb ram
    7600GT/X1650XT or better.

    I dont know if X850's will run it very well/at all because of SM 2.0. Although, I did hear they were basing their DX9 code on SM 2.0, but that could have been early code based on their Cryengine.
  23. Bret New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    62 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    But this is BEFORE the optimizations.. the actual performance should be A LOT higher.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page