1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Starbound Server Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShiBDiB, Dec 11, 2013.

  1. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,994 (8.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,110
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Managed to connect in the end, think I was trying to join during server restart. Seems cool enough, would be nice to be able to team up and stuff.
     
  2. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    278 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    As far as I can tell teaming up is all you can do atm, pvp is no where to be found.
     
  3. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,135 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    795
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    hmm the player list script works, task scheduler just doesn't seem to like python files. Should be fixed now
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2013
  4. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,135 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    795
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Also recommend everyone start using overlordgaming.us as the IP. I'll be moving the server from a vps to a dedicated box in the next day or so and this will keep you from having to change anything on your end. I'll also be posting the server on the official forums once the move is done so player counts should go up, we'll see if I'll need to start a whitelist after that.
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2013
  5. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,994 (8.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,110
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    would be nice to find out if there is a TP to player function similar to minecraft. Makes mining expeditions faster and more interesting, and killing mobs a little easier.
     
  6. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,135 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    795
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    As far as I can tell theirs no functions or commands implemented yet. Beta did just start a week ago.

    On other note, website is being updated. Current page for the server looks like this http://www.overlordgaming.us/starbound.html#

    Anyone good with html/css know how to get from the header to footer white? I tried making another tag but it keeps giving me the can't set background because its not inheriting from another tag.
     
  7. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,994 (8.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,110
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Dealing with headers and footers might be easier with PHP with each section having it's own dedicated CSS. I used to do web development, and did a few projects, but my knowledge of HTML and CSS has gone out the window since the world of CMS took my workplace by storm.
     
  8. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,135 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    795
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    I just want to make the content white so it's like it's floating on the grey background. I'll look into php, I'm learning this on the fly via professor google and a large coffee.
     
  9. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,135 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    795
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Got it working :D
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  10. z1tu

    z1tu

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    455 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    135
    Location:
    Romania
    Hey count me in, just got this game yesterday, might join tonight if I have some time. :toast:
     
  11. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,135 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    795
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Server is currently down while I finish transferring to the dedicated box.. only thing I'm waiting on is for the guy answering my ticket to forward the port, he doesn't seem to understand I need it forwarded not unblocked.
     
  12. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,135 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    795
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Server is back up, going to run it on the old hardware as I need to wait for a new tech to come in and forward a port -_-.

    IP HAS CHANGED - sb.overlordgaming.us
     
  13. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    278 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63

    ahha some people. :p
     
  14. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,135 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    795
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Haha I mean how are you tech support at a server host and you don't understand what port forwarding is...
     
  15. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,458 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,053
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
    Ugh, the server's been horrid the past like hour.
     
  16. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,135 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    795
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Ya I need to get it switched to the new server.. but I'm incredibly confused, they keep telling me "Your server is not port blocked at all. All those ports are available for the services you list."

    But they're not.. a simple port check shows that none of the ones I provided (game, ts server) are open.. And they keep saying I should buy a router, wtf?
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2013
  17. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    278 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Wow quite a few people on the server now huh.
     
  18. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,135 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    795
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Yup let me know how it runs, it's officially running on a dedicated box now and not a VPS. I'll get the auto restarts and player list script fixed in the next hour or 2. And also get a teamspeak server setup.
     
  19. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    278 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    I pinged both the last VPS and now the dedicated box, the "ms" is cut in half for me. The performance has improved quite a bit, especially with all these people on here.
     
  20. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,135 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    795
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    I'm redoing the player script.. but safe to say the dedicated box is making a big difference, sitting at 27 players right now.
     
  21. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,135 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    795
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
  22. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    278 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Server is down.
     
  23. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,135 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    795
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Ya I just woke up, it's throwing an error that I need to look into.
     
  24. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,135 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    795
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Fixed
     
  25. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,458 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,053
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
    I'm getting "assets digest mismatch" when I try to join. Edit: Fixed it by deleting the extra songs I added for the instruments. Oh well, I guess I don't need them.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page