1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Steam Updating Problems.

Discussion in 'General Software' started by overclocking101, Apr 5, 2011.

1. overclocking101

overclocking101

Thanks Received:
    so got a couple games and cant seem to force updates and steam will not update them!! WTF! tried restarting the pc, tried restarting steam several times, deleted "clientregistry.blob" wtf! everything google brings up says one of these should have forced an update but still none! maybe im just a newb and forgot something?? why cant software be as easy as hardware is!

2. brandonwh64

brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

Thanks Received:
    Have you tried verifying the integrity of the games?

Crunching for Team TPU
  3. cheesy999

Thanks Received:
    yeah that buttons magic, using it you can basically do anything

i normally use it so that when i reinstall windows i can just copy the entire steam folder and the games don't have to be re-downloaded

4. KieranD

KieranD

Thanks Received:
    sometimes the news section on steam wont work for me, its used to telling you what patches did and such

5. Crusader

Crusader New Member

Thanks Received:
    .. You have made sure that these games even HAVE updates/new updates, right? Cause I know of a lot of games on Steam which never got updated.
    And if you've just downloaded them, they may already be fully updated.

6. MLG The Canadian

MLG The Canadian New Member

Thanks Received:
    I've never seen so many people that have a problem with steam or just outright hate it. Seems to be popular on these forums.

I for one love it. I've never had one issue with Steam or any of my games since 2004

7. KieranD

KieranD

Thanks Received:
    i do love it its just that you sometimes get issues with it, notably ive never had a problem downloading or updating a game before

8. a111087

a111087

Thanks Received: