1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Storage solution needed

Discussion in 'Storage' started by WhiteLotus, Apr 12, 2013.

  1. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    So I am building up a fair amount of data now, and I am needing a solution as to how to store it all.

    At the moment, I have:

    SSD (M4 124GB)= OS and Programs
    WD Black 640GB = Games (Indie games and all of whatever I have installed from Steam) and Music
    WD Green 1TB = Videos

    And then I have a 2TB WD for back up.

    The issue being I am running out of room. Do I get some more higher density HD and replace the drives? I can't just buy some more drives and add them, the case I have wont allow it.

    Or perhaps build a file server and have it all on there?
    Or should I build a bigger backup hard drive cage?


    Thoughts and ideas?
  2. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,043 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    building a file server with a couple of HDD's in raid 5 would be awesome, but not sure if its worth the money if you gotta build/buy it from scratch.

    I suppose buying another disk(preferably e-sata, or USB3.0) is the cheapest route you could take.
  3. BiggieShady

    BiggieShady

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    935 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Maybe buying one 250GB SSD and one 4TB HDD and reshuffle things a bit :D
    OS, Programs = new SSD,
    New Games = old SSD,
    Old Games = WD black,
    Videos = 1TB + 2TB,
    Backup = 4TB
  4. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    That's what I was thinking. It's a toss up between functionality (having all that data being automatically backed up by RAID 5) or just being done with it and getting a new drive and backing up manually as and when.

    EDIT: Not concerned with money at the moment, just getting ideas.
  5. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,043 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Well it all depends on what you're planning if money isn't a problem really.

    Sooo, any ideas what you're gonna be putting on those disks? :p
  6. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    What about using 2.5" HDDs? :eek:
  7. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    That could be an idea. Though I will have to buy a new hard drive caddie, the one I have at the moment for my back up drive only allows 2TB drives for some reason

    I would like to do a file server build but I lack the knowhow, space, and parts to do so.

    May as well just use the 3.5", not much difference in price.
  8. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,043 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    well, there are a lot of ways to build a fileserver, I personally run a system which is made up mostly of old parts.
    -C2D
    -some old mobo with 4 sata ports+ PCI-E sata controller
    -2GB ram
    -6 disks of various sizes
    -cheapass 300w bestec PSU, together with a lot of power adapters
    furthermore, its just eating dust under a table in my bedroom, behind a lot of sound isolation(read, spare pillows and blankets), and only two cables in it are network and power.

    Its a bit overspecced for pure fileserver duty, but i run a full version of win8 prof on it, it serves as a neorouter server, and client, I use it for usenet downloads(all legal, ofc), and i'm running a minecraft server on it for me and some friends.

    I suppose any cheapass mobo(perhaps with builtin CPU, like one of those AMD E series) with some sata ports would do as a basis of a nice fileserver, certainly if you run linux on there.
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2013
  9. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    RAID, any level, doesn't come with an automatic backup feature. Press delete and your data is gone.
  10. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Well "mirror" feature then.
  11. mariamenounous New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Storage issues


    Hello,
    You can perform disk cleanup or can use CCleaner so that the files can be removed.. You can definitely save new storage and do your work!!
  12. Geekoid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    77 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    UK
    Well, a 4 TB internal drive is around £140. This isn't too bad considering you'd pay that for a 2 TB external NAS. So, for the time being, I'd stick with two 4 TB drives (one for backups).

    Or, if you really fancy the external storage, then if you happen to have an old PC (or just buy an empty NAS box), you could stick two of them in and run them in RAID-1 for a bit of mirrored storage.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page