1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Stores in Europe selling Apple computers with Vista pre-loaded on them

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Jan 28, 2007.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Apple boot camp is one of the features the Intel Macs have been boasting, allowing a Macintosh to boot into Windows. A very fine example of this was found in a Macintosh store. For the low price of 1900 Euros, a customer can buy himself an iMac with Windows Vista Ultimate pre-loaded on it. The iMac has a 24" screen (1080p resolution), Core 2 Duo, 1GB of DDR2, and a 7300GT, among other features. The copy of OS X 10 Tiger has iLife 06 and Frontrow pre-installed.
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: The Inquirer
     
  2. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,250 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Interesting. Would it play all the PC games without problems?

    I see they swapped the mouse already (so there is a L and R click!)
     
  3. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    :eek: Macs FTW :D
     
  4. shoman24v

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    216 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    None upgradeable ftl. With that high res screen and low end video it'll never play games.
     
  5. Benpi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    415 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Could play Battlefield 2142 - It doesn't even support 1280x1024. Anyway, I'm proud of Apple for getting over the whole proprietary bullshiite.
     
  6. Benpi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    415 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Oh btw, it said it has a 1080p resolution - the 1080 is the vertical resolution - which means it's 1920x1080 - a GREAT resolution.
     
  7. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Newer apple PCs would chew up vista and spit it out!
     
  8. xman2007

    xman2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    634 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    ummmm no :ohwell:
     
  9. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Whats so bad about macs anyway? :shadedshu Why do people hate something for no reason at all?
     
  10. xman2007

    xman2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    634 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    macs are nice, nice hardware and os but at 1920x1080 with a 7300gt is pointless, theres no point in having a res like that when its going to struggle to play games at 1280x1024, although i would choose a mac over a pc anyday if i was into video/photo editing ( or is the pc able to keep up in that dept nowadays with the core2duo processors and support for huge amounts of ram ?, apple need to do somthing different imo as of late to out do a pc as they dont seem to be doing it much now. waitago to intel chips :ohwell: )
     
  11. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Guess Dipsy was right, macs can run vista :)
     
  12. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    They range from a gma 950 on the lowest model, x1600 on mid and 7300GT which is MXM, on the high end..

    As their target is the normal users..

    This video is excellent, ESPECIALLY in comparion to the crap excuse for video options dell offers.

    However, my x1600 in my macbook pro plays WoW and doom 3 at 1440x900 perfectly fine.

    And not only that, but it plays the PPC native version while running WINDOWS in the BACKGROUND.
     
  13. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Ever seen an Intel Mac LAPTOP run BF2 on maximum? Now that's what I call power :toast: Well done Mac + Intel = FTW.
     
  14. Rodster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    155 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The hardware is nice it's the smug people that use them who are annoying as well as the Apple commercials where there is message is we are perfect we can do no wrong and MS sux. That's why people hate either the users or the company.

    I own and use a mac and the hardware is fine but I want no part of or will not be associated with the mac kool-aid drinkers and the Steve Jobs disciples. :respect:

    Oh and for the record their OS and systems are not perfect either.
     
  15. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    That really is nothing XD. BF2 is so old. Thats like bragging about running Doom3 or max. Macs are pretty much turning into PCs with multiple Operating systems on them from the start. Which you can do with a PC (Windows + Linux) but bleh its w/e. Gamers choice at the moment is PC.
     
  16. Benpi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    415 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    So would my PC, and it's a year old.
     
  17. Benpi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    415 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    The only reason to get a mac these days is for HD-Video editing. The only reason being is the fact that Final-Cut Pro HD is better than Adobe Premier. As far as photo editing, My PC tears up Photoshop - much, much faster than my schools G5s.
     
  18. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Your school has G5's?? :respect: :respect: :respect: :respect:

    We got some crappy 3.0GHz Pentium 4's. :shadedshu

    And some 2.8GHz Pentium D's!!! w00t! School chose wisely on that one.
     
  19. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Fyi, you can get the 7600GT 256MB as an upgrade on the 24" iMac.
     
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    my school is better than yours 3.2ghz p4s with HT and pentium D 925 (3ghz)

    and i dont see any true reason to spend a shit load more money on something just so it can run OS X but this is the way i see if a mac can run windows can a PC run OS X?
     
  21. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    If a PC could run OSX, I'd get it right now. Only problem is....it wouldn't feel like a Mac. It's just not the same :cry:
     
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Plus, if you were able to run OS X on a standard PC (well, officially, anyway), it wouldn't be any more stable than Windows. The biggest reason OS X is so stable is because it's written for a specific set of hardware.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page