1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

strange problem

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by chaotic_uk, Apr 11, 2009.

  1. chaotic_uk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    685 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    installed a phenom II x3 720BE yesterday and overclocked it to 3.0ghz tested it with different benches etc and it ran fine . but started it today and no post no matter what i tried so i reset the bios and it started at default settings , so i reset the memory timings to stock etc and all seems 100% again . my question is why did this happen and why ?
  2. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    maybe the battery didnt keep the bios chip with charge, thus when you powered it, it didnt post, but after reload itself it works again
  3. chaotic_uk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    685 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    mobo is only 6 weeks old so this should not happen right ? (i hope anyways)
  4. Waterlogged

    Waterlogged New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    The UDE of Pitatopia
    Well, the MoBo may only be 6 weeks old but who know how old the battery on it is. [​IMG]
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,003 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,397
    Dont forget that different parts of a PC work differently hot and cold.

    Its entirely possible you had it running for 8 hours straight before OCing it, and then after being off all night the PSU/mobo etc didnt provide the right voltage.
  6. chaotic_uk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    685 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    tbh i think it is the mobo cause the peak i have found is 3.4ghz max when overclocked , dropped it back to 3ghz and it passed all memory test etc (new ram also) . not got enough for the mobo i want atm :( , any mobos for £80 thats good (prefered is 790 chipset)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page