1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sufficent Watt PSU?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by adcx64, Feb 23, 2009.

  1. adcx64 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    106 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    will ALL of this run on a 500 Watt PSU? : core i7 920 130 watt, core i7 mobo and ddr3 ram, nvidia 8500GT, 160 gb HD, 2 cd drives? thanks! also is the psu manufaturer good too (COOLMAX)? thx again!:D
     
  2. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
  3. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,805 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    New York
    If your overclocking the CPU then I wouldnt use that PSU ...I would go higher wattage and good quality.
     
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    So you're getting a i7 with a 8500GT? Yea.. I'm not touching that one with a 10 foot pole. But yea good quality 500w will run it fine. Coolmax is not really a good brand, I would get a better one if you got a stronger video card.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  5. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,351 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,384
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,140 (5.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,166
    Location:
    Ohio
    lol, i7 with an 8500gt
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. adcx64 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    106 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    well grafix isnt really needed for my casual games.........
     
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Why would a core i7 be needed for casual games?! Get an Athlon X2 and a nice 780G, seriously, you won't use all 8 threads playing casual games..
     
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,416 (6.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,492
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Who said he was a gamer? .....

    @adcx64

    It will work fine, just dont try to overclock. PSU is of, what would you say, of so-so OEM build. There's a ton better and there's a ton worse.
     
  10. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    If you're doing HD video editing that machine will be a beast. I would go with a better PSU though, go for Antec, they make some of the best.

    Truth be told if you're willing to spend around $40 I have a better PSU in my FS thread NIB. See sig.
     
  11. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,351 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,384
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    He hasn't really said what he plays.

    Yeah for that sort of things the comp will work great. But if no encoding and not very taxing games, I then still say LGA 775 or PII proc.
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,628 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,882
    coolmax is a cheap brand. 500W is enough since you have a low end video card, but you really need to look at better brands like corsair, OCZ, antec or seasonic.
     
  13. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    I would go for Ikonic vulcan
     
  14. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,867 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
  15. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,351 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,384
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Better to look at the specific reviews for the PSU instead of assuming x brand is the best because it's x brand. I bought my 950W coolmax for $119 and I recommended it on here an all I got was the response "go corsair". 2 weeks later my PSU jumped up to $219 on newegg, and anytime I recommended it after that I never seen someone tell me I made the wrong choice. Price means too much here.

    If that Coolmax PSU doesn't have much v drop and puts out the power and amps needed then it should be fine.
     
  16. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,867 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    it's always better to just buy something you KNOW is going to be awesome :p
     
  17. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I never look at brand names when buying PSU's. I read a ton of reviews about PSU's, cause that is a very important piece of hardware.

    I picked my Antec before they switched to bad parts. It is a great PSU, and has been going strong for 3 years. No problems, even the fan still runs!
     
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  18. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,351 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,384
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Thats why you do research and buy something you know is going to be awesome at a lower price. You have no idea how good it made me feel when I found out the PSU I purchased went up $100 after people here had been dogging me about it and didn't even blink an eye when I tossed out reviews showing it was as good as Corsairs, yet cheaper, modular, and more amps.

    Now I'm not saying to go out nd buy cheap PSU's blindly, because the results could be terribad. Always got to look at reviews, lots of the times you can find a gem that isn't well known yet.
     
  19. Fleck New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    308 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    FL
    You don't have to worry about brand or even that much about wattage when buying a PSU. I can't believe no one here yet has asked you what amperage the 12V rail(s) are rated at. IMO you can run all that AND overclock it off a couple of 16amp rails or one 24amp rail.
     
  20. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,867 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    ummm... yea sure ampage is important... but usually you've got more than enough ampage... IMO, quality+wattage>ampage since quality (and also brand name) is determined by its duribility and no problems with ampage etc... idk if you understand me...
     
  21. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    I`m voting YES. But if you upgrade your VGA it would be vise to upgrade the PSU too.
     
  22. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,351 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,384
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    He's running an 8500gt, don't even need to mention amps with that :roll:
     
  23. Fleck New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    308 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    FL
    No I don't understand, I bought a Thermaltake 430Watt and it had a single 16amp 12V rail. That's garbage, that's not even really 430Watts, it's a re-badged 350W. You have to pay attention to WHERE the wattage power is going. That TT 430W PSU has all its power in the lower-level voltage rails and nothing to offer even a mid-range system.
     
  24. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,867 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    Well that's why you buy PP&C or Corsair in the first place... good quality, more than enough amps etc... ampage is practically never a problem with these brands
     
    Fleck says thanks.
  25. Fleck New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    308 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    FL
    Yeah, don't forget CoolerMaster. This is my 2nd CoolerMaster PSU, and this 460 has the same power on the 12V rails that the 500 did, so this is a good PSU maker.

    And don't forget Ultra, their PSUs may be in the cheap shelves at CompUSA but with their LS series this company is a rising star in stability of power and reliability.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page