1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Suggestions for good RAM for Crossfire system setup

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Trung, Jul 25, 2007.

  1. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Hey Trung, didn't realise you were a chosen one (aussie)...

    Have you checked out this mob before, I have ordered from them and they seem pretty good.

    http://www.itestate.com.au/category.asp?ctgcod=C10004090101

    also ebay actually has some nice DDR2 kits as well atm.. check them out...

    GL with the RAM
     
  2. Trung New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    There is only one that ends with HZ from http://umart.net/au and thats the link you gave me...not too many to choose from
     
  3. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Choose the G.Skill http://umart.net/au/product_info.php?cPath=92_258&products_id=108035 or

    Anyway, the price WILL be cheaper when you order. With the motherboard though... I would buy a Gigabyte GA-P35 DS3P or Gigabyte GA N650 SLI DS4 (<Can do 500mhz NB with stock volts....talk about insane) instead... yes the P5WDH Deluxe is a good board... but if you want to do any overclocking, these two that I just mentioned will simplify it.
     
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    The info was more for if you found somewhere else to look, besides umart.
     
  5. Trung New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hahaha i am the one lol....yeah i have checked them, there pretty good....there processors a relatively cheaper than most places but not too sure about their memory...but also there located up at 'The rocks' in the city...i'm down in the western suburbs (the ghetto) lol so a bit far for me to travel and not a big fan or ordering and receiving by post lol
     
  6. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    I have 2GB of the CrossFire Edition OCZ. It doesnt make any difference (Im not running 2 cards anyway) but the RAM is very nice and good for overclocking also ;)
     
  7. Trung New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah i got the p5w so i'm gonna have to do without the new p35 chipsets....but my opinion i wouldnt buy the new p35 mobos coz there so new...i'd look around the corner before firing in figuratively speaking lol
     
  8. Trung New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Really i've been looking everywhere for them...even my supplier cant find the dam memory lol...how long ago did you buy the memory
     
  9. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    about 2 months ago maybe, I got it from ebuyer in the UK ;)
     
  10. Trung New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Oh i see, i ordered mine about three weeks ago and i still havent received it, the place i orderd from said that they couldnt find it but were still hunting....and so i cancelled and looking for another memory....by the way its in australia so everything is always behind lol
     
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I still say G.Skill, ftw. Seriously good ram.
     
  12. Trung New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Haha yeah i'll consider it but for now i'll keep researching the g.skill lol.

    Hey by any chance would you know how to hook up the front audio panel for my case to the mobo....all the connectors dont match the mobo connectors from the manual...this is going off the subject but you know alot about computers so thought i might ask lol...if you could help it would be great
     
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    You just stumbled into one of the few areas that I have little experience in. lol. I don't use on-board sound in any of my builds. If you have pics of your front panel cable, and a link to your mobo manual, I may be able to help, however.
     
  14. Trung New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ahaha cool, well i'm using onboard and its a asus p5w dh deluxe and my case is a coolermaster and not too sure the actual model...i dont have any links but i can type up the connectors for the front panel and mobo pins if that will help.
     
  15. Trung New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm not sure if its HD Audio or Legacy AC 97 how do you tell anyways?
    Mobo connectors are;

    HD Audio
    a-sense2_return
    b-port2 L
    c-sense_send
    d-sense1_return
    e-port2 R
    f-presence#
    g-port1 R
    h-GRD
    i-port1 L

    Legacy AC 97
    a-line out_L
    b-line out_R
    c-MIC2_R
    d-AGRD
    e-MIC2_L

    My Case connectors are
    1-R_out
    2-R_RET(on same cable as R_out)
    3-L_out
    4-L_RET(on same cable as L_out)
    5-MIC power
    6-MIC_in
    7-Ground
     
  16. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Ive used G.Skill before (2x 1GB of DDR500) awesome RAM :rockout:
     
  17. Trung New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey i checked out your new comp, looks nice, how my one will look hectic like that lol
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page