1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Teaching Intro to Linux

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by Killer_Rubber_Ducky, Jun 11, 2011.

1. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

Killer_Rubber_Ducky

Thanks Received:
    Hi all,
    I'm a average Linux user working at a call center on a Dell account and we have just now begun to support the Linux OS ubuntu installed on the PCs. Since I am the only Linux user on the account they have asked me to teach the n00bs about installing software and managing the desktop as well as using the recovery tools.

Unfortunately I have not used the recovery tools more than once so I have no experience with them. I was wondering if anyone here could give me some material to work with as well as some recommendations for software to demo and such. Any help would be appreciated.
    Cheers! ^_^
    Frick says thanks.
  2. Chevalr1c

Chevalr1c

Thanks Received:
    To find out someone's PC hardware, the
    Code:
    sudo lshw >(filename).html
    terminal command can be handy because it generates an HTML file containing eleborate system info within the person's user folder.
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Kreij

Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

Thanks Received:
    Teach the average Dell consumer who knows nothing about PCs, let alone OS administration, how to install, configure and troubleshoot a Linux system?

I would rather sit handcufffed in my own feces while someone lit my feet on fire and watch my toenails burn off.

The above, of course, is not helpful ... so maybe start compiling questions that are asked and make a n00b guide for the most common issues?
    Crikey ... best wishes my friend.
    Damn_Smooth and hellrazor say thanks.
  4. Easy Rhino

Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

Thanks Received:
    I work for $100 an hour. PM if interested.
    yogurt_21 says thanks.
  5. twilyth Guest