1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TechPowerUp & PowerColor "Pimp my Rig" 2012 - Details and Goodies for our Readers

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 3, 2012.

  1. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    Tried it with parts in the closet even that underclocked scores to high. Having better luck with the rig I use everyday more control over clockspeeds. Along with some spare parts from the closet....down to 224.
  2. mechtech

    mechtech

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    251 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    I will see that and raise you a pentiumII 350MHZ and a dedicated AGP-1X ATI RageIIc 4MB
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    Can't use onboard and has to be dx9...
  4. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,330 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    532
    My laptop has a dedicated card soldered to the motherboard with its own memory, does that count? Its an IBM T-43. The gpu has its on pci-e link, 64mb memory on its own package, and its an ati x300. Its also the version before they started doing Hyper Memory. If not I've got a pentium system with an fx5200 pci laying around somewhere

    edit: I believe that Rage II is in fact a dedicated card. It doesn't use the cpu for the rendering as far as I know. Just because its not easily removable doesn't mean it isn't dedicated. I do recall having a Packard Bell with a Rage II DVD+ that had 2MB of memory soldered onboard with it. but the gpu has to be dx9 so it doesn't really matter i guess. though the requirement for 3dmarck2003 is a 32mb dx7 capable card.

    Edit2: thought I'd throw this out there... one of the minimum system requirements for 3Dmark 2003 is..

    "Intel or AMD compatible processor that achieves a PCMark2002 CPU score over 2500 marks (corresponds to 1 GHz clock speed on some CPU architectures)."
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2012
  5. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    869 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    This is who has the worst performing dx9 add-in board.
  6. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    7,994 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,088
    Time to break out my old 9500 and write a new BIOS, with my fast SDR RAM and multipliers on a K6 set to minimum of course.

    Or I could just watch, and that takes less effort..........


    DX9 guys, ATI 9XXX series is the lowest you can go. Otherwise I have a PCI Cirrus card, or a Rage card, or a 7500, or a 7000....



    This is about skills. The either unlucky kind, or just being that good.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  7. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,330 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    532
    just ran it on my laptop... i think its too fast for this contest
  8. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,171 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Isnt there a 3rd party app that purposely slows down your pc?
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    [​IMG]

    :shadedshu
  10. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6,927 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Couldn't these guys just give their prize to to someone they know(Family,friend,etc...) look nice and no one ever know?

    ^ Why did that fail? Firewall blocking it? ^
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    No clue its not low enough anyway. Trying again...
  12. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6,927 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Listening to music while doing these runs has proven SUPER COOL!


    Since I mainly listen to electronic music the slowed down temp and distortion created by the low clocks and high stress on the CPU has been super amazing. :D
    OR that could just be cause its an FX CPU XD
  13. damric

    damric

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    330 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    I got a Radeon X300 on the way ^^
  14. vavyn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Good luck gents. I won't be competing in this community. So far got a score of 3 by using the x1600pro. the amd system will be used very very soon!!
  15. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,299 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    You guys need to think outside the box. Last year I used a Q9550 and GTX 470 at stock speeds and I had my score down to 5. http://www.3dmark.com/3dm03/6442059 There are many ways to get low scores. Crappy hardware is only one option.

    How long did it take you to get the 1 last year?
  16. vavyn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Half way through sep got in the 30's. then only towards the end(I think on the 26 september) I got 1.

    But anyways, I got the same results if I use my amd system. score of 1 :)
    Also tried my x1600pro, got a score of 2 or N/a.. just can't get it to 1.

    Anyway I won't be competing in techpowerup. Going to other community.
  17. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    817 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    179
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    I notice that you have no CPU score there. Is that allowed? Did you just not run the CPU part of the test?
  18. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,299 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    You only need the four graphics tests. The CPU tests do not affect the score. CPU scores weren't included in the final calculation until 3DMark06.
  19. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    817 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    179
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    Ok, thanks. Does it matter if my graphics driver is invalid?

    (I don't understand why it is. It's an AMD release driver from a few months back.)
  20. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,299 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Last year it didn't matter. I assume it's the same this time.
  21. XSI

    XSI

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    76 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Vilnius. Lithuania
    113 points 3dmark

    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm03/6478017

    http://imageshack.us/f/821/pimpmyrig113points.jpg/

    Hi guys,I've been following and reading TPU for few years now. Great site.

    Thats my score from 3rd attempt. What I did use , just to give some perspective:
    8800GT underclocked to 330/475 (660/950). Furmark program, folding at home, vlc with 1080P playback, media player classic with 1080P playback, cinebench 11.5 (pitty it crashed, would be lower score) firefox with about 15 tabs, Prime 95 torture test, Sniper Elite v2 on ultra quality paused of course, Nvidia control panel for maximum possible image quality and AA. and maybe few more programs.

    good luck to all the participants.
  22. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    817 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    179
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    In that case, I've a 45 point score to submit :)

    You have to submit them here btw: http://www.powercolor.com/event/PimpMyRig/submit.asp

    One of the other community's admins are saying that you're allowed as many entries as you like, too, so no reason to hold back with whatever you have now.
  23. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,641 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    706
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ok, tried again...damn that was painful to watch and took forever...
    Scored 251. :\
    I don't think I can go any lower...not with the laptop anyway.
    I'll try my AXP machine later.
  24. Kalevalen

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    42 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    More than one user share the lowest score, the first submission will win

    If you not the fastest you lose
    I'd have a better shot at winning the lottery :banghead:
  25. jihadjoe

    jihadjoe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    If it's so easy, you should have a go at it!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page