1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Temperatures & Issues

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by LemurHaloEcho, Jul 9, 2013.

  1. LemurHaloEcho

    LemurHaloEcho New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    30 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Hi there people, just had a spot of trouble with my month or two old Rig, it's been hot in the UK these past few days as we all know, and i've made my CPU Fan Profile on Asus AI Suite II more aggressive to suit, but i was just watching videos on YouTube when my screen literally froze with black & white lines (very thin ones) all over the screen and no ability to reset, i had to hold the power button for 5 secs, when the PC came back on the CPU was at 38c?! I've got a photo of my HWMonitor readout from as of now just having F/Book and these forums open, nothing else.

    Any ideas anyone?

    FYI - Important Components are:
    PSU - Corsair CX600M
    CPU - AMD FX-6300 (standard)
    CPU Cooler - CM Hyper 212 EVO (1 fan in push)
    M/B - Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0
    GPU - Sapphire HD7850 1GB
    Monitor - HP vs19

    [​IMG]
     
  2. klva80

    klva80

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    215 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    it could be somthin else heating up video card, mem, northbridge, your cpu temps are fine
     
  3. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Sounds like more of a GPU problem to me..
     
  4. LemurHaloEcho

    LemurHaloEcho New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    30 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    That's what i thought myself, i think it was a Driver Issue alongside perhaps an issue with YouTube at the time, it hasn't happened again *touch wood* so far, but it was the first error this new PC's had so naturally i felt a bit worried lol.
     
  5. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    You may want to test the PSU
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  6. LemurHaloEcho

    LemurHaloEcho New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    30 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    How? And why? :)
     
  7. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    The PSU could be causing it. You can test a PSU with a multi meter
     
  8. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,452 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,627
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Personally, I take software reports of voltages with grain of salt.
    However, if the results of the test with software give cautious results... it may be prudent to verify these results with proper testing.

    The screen shot of the 12V output shows a minimum voltage of 11.581, which is close to + or - 5% the ATX specification recommends.

    Under (heavy) load, it is possible, this value is falling below the minimum voltage.

    Some helpful links:

    Power Supply Voltage Tolerances

    How To Manually Test a Power Supply With a Multimeter

    If you do not have knowledge/experience/training in testing power, please learn.
    Electric Power is dangerous.
    Disclaimer: You are responsible for your own safety. Neither, TPU, I, or any affiliates are responsible for damage or harm caused by any actions you perform.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page