1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TEW-652BRP wifi question

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by JunkBear, Apr 14, 2014.

  1. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    651 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi.

    I have this router and a USB D-Link DWA-125 plugged on a Dell Inspiron 640M because the internal wifi is not strong enough so I disabled it already. The problem is that the wifi is going only at 72 Mbits/s when the usb itself is 150N and the router is 300N.

    Is it the WMM function that makes it or it could be another problem? I tried to change it of usb port and all the 4 ports are at 72 Mbits/s.

    Thank you.
     
  2. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,928 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    What channel width is the router configured to?

    20 or 40?
     
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    What range? I have a TEW-653AP at home and while its in the living room I get 300MBPS but on my phone in the next room it struggles to maintain 100+
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    651 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Range is not even 6 feet when tested. The frequency i tried 20/40 and 20 alone.
     
  5. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,928 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Hmmmm no way to force 40 which would give you the full 150N speeds? Also yours could be a 1x1 radio config as well which is what most smartphones have. The max my Gnex gets is a 65Mbps link rate as well. It's a 1x1 device.

    Yep I was right it's only a 1x1:
    https://wikidevi.com/wiki/D-Link_DWA-125_rev_A1
     
  6. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    651 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    What it means 1x1? How it works?
     
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    What security are you using? WPA limited my speeds to 54MBPS but WPA2 was full bandwidth
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,928 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Single stream. single radio. The more streams the faster the transfer speeds.
     
  9. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    651 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Ok fine but it still suppose to be 150. It was 150 with other laptop i tested. Wpa2 security.
     
  10. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,928 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Same router?
     
  11. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    651 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Same router. I changed some setting in the wireless still at 72Mbps then put back to what it was prior and now it shows 150Mbps with drop to 135Mbps sometimes. Router setup: WPA-Auto PSK @ Auto AES-TKIP. With these settings it regulate itself to WPA2 PSK AES for the router and the D-Link usb do the same except it can chose automatically WP2 Personnal or Enterprise. It setup itself in that case to Personnal. Auto-channel because fixed channels changed nothing. Auto 20/40mhz because it also changed nothing ot put it at 20Mhz only.
     
  12. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,928 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    You have to have WPA2 and have WMM enabled to get any higher then wireless G speeds.
     
  13. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    651 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    It is. Irt was still 150 then after i started download. After download it went back to 72. Something is screwed up in this. Its not in the bios i looked already.
     
  14. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,417 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    If you have not done it already...
    You might want to check the power saving settings for windows advanced power options and set the wireless for max performance.
    And, set the options for the adapter in the adapter options for max performance and turn off power savings.
    Might use a little more juice; however, I never noticed any big differences on my laptops or other devices.
     
  15. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    651 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    D I do it in the Properties windows of the DWA-125 itself? If not where then? Thx

    i've seen USB parameters fro USB selective gestion of usb. Also seen Wireless card parameters which is set to maximum power when i am plugged in the wall with power adapter already.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2014
  16. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,928 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    From device manager
     
  17. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    651 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Nothing changed so I installed the Dlink software instead of the Windows 7 integrated one for wireless and now it stays at 150. The thing is that the icon of wifi windows and wifi dlink are both telling its connected. What is the path to go uncheck the Windows by default ?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page