1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The 4870 "2D Low", GPU voltage/Memory clock rate Bios Thread

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by EastCoasthandle, Aug 8, 2008.

  1. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    Gpuz does not give you the correct reading...it always show the same, you can tell by looking at the amp reading..should be 6.8A or 6.77A in 2d.

    If you install ati tray tool..you can probably see it but rest assured..that bios is 550/900/1.083 for 2d 750/900/1.263 for 3d.
  2. azazyl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanx for the fast answer fastmix.(it goes with the name.. ;) )Gpuz VDDC current says 20.3 A. Is this wrong also?
  3. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    I am not at home right now to tell you the correct reading but like I said the voltage sensor reading in gpuz is a known bug, for the other reading (vddc) which is actually correct in gpuz..compare the 2d with the 3d.

    P.S. Sorry 6.77A is with the memory @ 200 550/200/1.063 gives you 6.77A..you can do that with Ati tray tool..the new beta version is compatible with 4000 cards, just google it.

    I have to go now, but congrats on your temp.:toast:
  4. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    So let me see if I am understanding developments so far. You have a modded bios that:
    -has working lower mem clocks without the flickering
    -able to go from cat 8.7 to Cat 8.8 without isse
    -lower GPUv (1.063V ??) in 2 d mode
    -lower amperage of 6.8A or 6.77A in 2d mode

    Did this derive from the stock2 bios (105)? If so what was edited/modd'd?

    The only issue so far is that the card is a bit sensitive going into 3d mode from 2d mode.
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2008
  5. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    I corrected myself..6.77A can only be achieved @ 550/200/1.083 and you cannot do that without the card flickering from 2d to 3d so I use Ati tray tool..one flicker.

    The bios that I am offering it's just a little bit better that the stock..and it's an all in one..

    2D @ 550/900/1.083
    3D @ 750/900/1.263=same as stock
    and I have also included a better fan profile that keeps the card cool and yes I have used the 105 variant that you are referring as stock2.

    I hope this clarifies any missunderstanding.

    I do stand behind it 100% and proudly says..that up to this date is the best Powerplay (and overall) bios available for 4870 cards.
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2008
    EastCoasthandle says thanks.
  6. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    OP updated...
  7. acrowley23 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    78 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have a question :

    Is this correct ? :

    Do i have to use the newer ATI Bios (2d 1.203V,or with a modified Bios via RBE Voltage Switch/unlocker) which unlocks GPU Voltage changes to change my GPU Voltage via ATT ?

    EDIT:
    Yes, modified bios is requiredto change Voltages
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2008
  8. VuurVOS New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    306 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    105 is also enough to change the voltage. The RBE Voltage unlocker is actualy a patch based on the 105 bios.
  9. mr_ppp New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi everyone, been following this thread with interest.

    I tried Fastmix's bios out with my Powercolor PCS Extreme 4870 and got the fright of my life when it failed to post afterwards!

    Thankfully i have an old pci card so managed to flash it back to the original safely

    I've done a fair bit of flashing bios'es in the past and can't see that i did anything wrong

    Does anyone know of any incompatabilities?

    I now have my original bios modified with a better fan profile and that one works for me for the moment
  10. VuurVOS New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    306 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Did you also tried the stock 105 bios of the hd4870 ?
  11. fulch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Portsmouth UK
    I also found myself in the same situation as mr_ppp.

    Flashed my Powercolor PCS Extreme 4870 with the Stock 105 bios last night and it failed to post afterwards.

    Borrowed pci card to restore original bios and all is well, I also am not a newcomer to bios flashing.

    Wondering whether this could be anything to do with the 4 vrm modules on this board versus the 3 on "reference boards" maybe the bios has extra info to control 4 vrm's or is this all controlled in the hardware?
    mr_ppp says thanks.
  12. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Fulch, that's a very good possibility. Remember, these bios are from reference design.
  13. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    You have answered yourself, the bios that we are offering are based on the reference card..If yours has any hardware changes..the bios probably reflects that and is incompatible because it's a different card.
  14. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    OK, OP updated to reflect the use of reference 4870s only
  15. prelaki New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    flashing reference bios fails

    Have the same problem here, have a Club 3D OC card (standard oc to 800/950. Adapting my own bios is no problem, but my bios has no advanced poweplay. Tried the fastmix bios, but this only results in black screens. Flashed back using an IGP.
  16. LuxZg New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    170 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    prelaki - I have Club3D as well. Please try it like this:
    1) download GPU-Z (http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1153/TechPowerUp_GPU-Z_v0.2.7.html), run program, and use the button by the "BIOS version" string to save your BIOS
    2) download RBE 1.14 (http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1177/TechPowerUp_Radeon_Bios_Editor_v1.14.html) and run the program
    3) copy your BIOS that was saved with GPUZ, and open this copy in RBE by using "Load BIOS" button on bottom left of the window
    4) click on a "Additional settings" button on top right
    5) under "Enable superior powerplay" select "Enable" and also select "Also decrease voltages"
    6) clock "Save BIOS" button on bottom left and give it a proper name
    7) flash this new BIOS file as you've flashed before

    If everything is ok, and it has big chances that it will be, than do the following:
    8) once back in Windows, download latest ATi Tray Tools beta ( http://cid-a50350ea7a969f0c.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/Public/attsetup.exe ) - I'll call it ATT now
    9) install and run program (I sure hope you're not on Vista 64, cos than you'll have few additional steps)
    10) right click tray icon -> "Hardware"->"Overclocking settings"
    11) on "Overclocking" tab, around first third you'll notice "Voltage" and dropdown box. Select 1,083V and on the bottom select "Apply"
    12) check with GPU-Z ("Sensors" tab, "VDDC Current") and verify that this value changes when in ATT you select 1,083V(+Apply) vs. 1,263V (+Apply) Change should be noticable, like 2A at MINIMUM.

    If everything is working fine at this point, and you see the current in GPU-Z dropping when you select 1,083V, than you have a working 2D BIOS. Next would be to replicate all steps, but while in RBE (between steps 5) and 6) ) you can also lower GPU clock for 2D, fix fans, and all the rest of things that Fastmix did in his BIOS. Should be easy, just see which values he used and use them on your own BIOS. But let's get you to the step 12) first :)
  17. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    Sorry guys that this is happening..you probably have non reference 4870 that is why the bios is different.

    So like LuxZg said..the best thing to do is to open your own bios in Rbe and modded the way you wanted.
    mr_ppp says thanks.
  18. mr_ppp New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the update guys, i agree that its most likely the changes made to the design
    The sad thing is i had already loaded the bios up with rbe and implemented a new fan profile but the options for powerplay are greyed out :-(

    Any suggestions?

    I can provide a bios file if anyone wants to take a look?
  19. prelaki New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for your support, most of it i had tried already, i have adjusted my fan profile perfectly for my card (after flashing 20 different settings :)), but in the additional settings I cannot enable superior powerplay, this is not supported for my bios version and that's why I tried the Fastmix version.

    Do you have the standard OC-ed version as well (default 800/950), if so can you give is to me?

    P.S. I do like the custom fan, Idle approximately 50 degrees with 6% fan speed.
  20. prelaki New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    identical cards?

    By the way, when looking at pictures (see attachments) I think that this card is identical to the Club 3D OC version.

    mine has bios version X05 with 800/950 and default fan fix and powerplay disabled.

    Attached Files:

  21. VuurVOS New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    306 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Are you sure? Because the rbe detection of the superior powerplay is a little bugged it only worked on NON OC biosses. In the next version this will be fixed. I can check it by hand if you post the bios here.
  22. prelaki New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am not at home right now, but I posted my bios upon joining here, see this post:

    Ohw and for some reason this bios had the strange 100% vs 0% error, Club 3D sent me a another bios (same version, other settings) see attachment

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 5, 2008
  23. mr_ppp New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just to complete the comparison here is my stock bios as well from the Powercolor card before i did any adjustments

    Here's to the next version of RBE!

    Attached Files:

  24. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    You should probably submitted in the RBE section so Bagzzlash can have a look and implement the changes in the next version.
  25. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    I would just adjust the fan profile, copy it from my bios and yes the other feature like powerplay are not available.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page