1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AM3 Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by EastCoasthandle, Jan 25, 2009.

  1. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I wanted to create a thread that will discuss:
    -best CPU overclocks
    -inform users of what ram offers the best performance
    -best featured, overclocking motherboards
    -best cooling solutions be it air or otherwise
    and overall a place were folk can discuss their AM3 experiences that would help others to:
    -how to achieve stability
    -post bios settings to show others how to overclock
    -etc

    When posting your Bios Setup use the format below or similar format applicable to your bios: (wording may differ from one make/model to another)

    Time Frame:
    Phenom II X4 910 2.6GHz 8MB Deneb AM3 Feb, 2009
    Phenom II X4 925 2.8GHz 8MB Deneb AM3 Feb, 2009
    Phenom II X4 945 3.0GHz 8MB Deneb AM3 Apr, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2009
  2. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Hey man. Have you seem that Gigabyte board anywhere yet? The Asus board supports AM3, but it is NOT DDR3. It is currently available.
  3. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    They actually have it up on their website complete with manual download, etc. IMO, it's only a matter of time before it's made available.
  4. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Taking a quick peep at the manual I was pleasantly surprised that Jetway did their own benchmark review and posted the results. If you want to see all of them you will have to download the manual. However here are the gaming results.

    AMD PhenomⅡ 940
    DRAM: DDR II 1066 1GB*2
    VGA Card: onboard(HD3300)
    OS: winxp+sp3 (en)

    UT2003 Benchmark (flyby/botmatch) 19.496958/134.963776/251.091202/135.045868
    Quake3 DEMO1 /DEMO2 FPS 619.4/62.07
    DOOM 3 FPS 95.0
    Super Pi (1M) Second 22.96s
    CPUZ System / CPU Clock 3000.3MHZ


    CPU: AMD AM3 925
    DRAM: DDR III 1333 1GB*2
    VGA Card: onboard(HD3300)
    OS: winxp+sp3 (en)

    UT2003 Benchmark (flyby/botmatch) 28.933/131.817/244.0370/131.8953
    Quake3 DEMO1 /DEMO2 FPS 616.6/608.0
    DOOM 3 FPS 98.6
    Super Pi (1M) Second 24.360
    CPUZ System / CPU Clock 2800.4MHZ
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2009
  5. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    I'm raring to go AM3 !
  6. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Any idea which model of the DDR3 procs will be the BE?
  7. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    good idea. even though i dont own an AMD CPU right now but i'm an AMD supporter and most likely will be going AM3 on my next upgrade during the 2nd half of this year.
  8. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Hmm, I haven't come across anything yet. I would guess it would be either the 945 or 950 unless they have something else planned.
  9. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,738 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
  10. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,288 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,362
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    That is useless info. They are running the Proc's at different speeds and the memory too... Would be nice to see the processors at the same speed and the memory both sitting at 1066.
  11. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I didn't find this useless at all.
    -This is not a full bloom review
    -The speed between processors are fine. We are talking about 2 different CPUs here. One that can use DDR2 & DDR3 and one that can only use DDR2. Therefore, even if speeds were the same that would be useless when comparing DDR2 and DDR3 based setups.

    It will be interesting to see what the results are once a full bloom review is released for public view.
  12. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,738 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Benching identical systems with 2 x Phenom II's at the same speed w/ one running 4GB of DDR2-1066 and 4GB of DDR3-1333 is probably the best way to determine whether jumping to DDR3 is worth the time and money right now. I think CPU's need to be the same speed. Ram on the other hand is a different story.
  13. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I'm waiting on the X3 720BE release. It's already advertised on a UK website at £130, hopefully I'll be able to afford one by then :)
  14. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I disagree. It's better to:
    1st obtain results from it's standard clock.
    2nd obtain results from it's safest OC on Air.

    We are benchmarking platforms not CPUs. Now if you could use a PII 940 with DDR3 1600 ram, that's another story. The PII 925 would have to use DDR2 and compare it to the PII 940 at the same clock rate not the other way around.

    If I am not mistaken, this is what the PII DDR3 capable CPUs are:
    AMD Phenom II X4 925 is 2.8GHz, 8MB Cache
    AMD Phenom II X4 910 is 2.6GHz, 8MB Cache
    AMD Phenom II X4 810 is 2.6GHz, 6MB Cache
    AMD Phenom II X4 805 is 2.5GHz, 6MB Cache
    AMD Phenom II X3 720 is 2.8GHz, 7.5MB Cache
    AMD Phenom II X3 710 is 2.6GHz, 7.5MB Cache

    The PII DDR2 only CPUs are:
    Phenom II X4 920........................2.8 GHz.....4x 512 KB.....6 MB.....1.8 GHz.....14x.....0.875 - 1.5 V.....125 W
    Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition.......3.0 GHz.....4x 512 KB.....6 MB.....1.8 GHz.....15x.....0.875 - 1.5 V.....125 W
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2009
  15. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,738 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    I understand your point but this is why CPU's should be benched with identical speeds. Whether one needs to be OC’ed to match the other of visa versa.

    The same applies when benching the Phenom II vs. the new Core i7 or the older Core 2, they should be benched at the same speed.

    But for RAM we have no choice because DDR2 runs tighter latencies where as DDR3 runs faster overall raw speed with higher latencies. I am not sure if either one compensates each other in order to get almost identical platforms but in my opinion this is fair benchmarking.

    Just a note:
    New AM3 based CPU’s have Dual-IMC’s DDR2-1066 and DDR3-1333 and run at 2,000MHz Hyper Transport Speed. So the AM3 CPU should be a little faster than the AM2+ CPU on a AM2+ based platform.
  16. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I agree with both of you heh.

    To get an idea on whether DDR3 is better than DDR2 you need to use the same CPU clocked to the same speed, so any performance gain will be solely based on the RAM.

    To get an idea which chip is better, run at stock, then highest OC.
    EastCoasthandle says thanks.
  17. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,738 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    I clearly wanted to take the CPU speed out of the equation.
    That is what I was trying to explain, thanks. Though I do think the overall system platform as a whole will benefit in overall performance with faster memory but higher latencies vs. lower latencies and slower ram speed. I can see the Phenom II scaling very well with DDR3-1600 to DDR3-2000 vs. DDR2’s max 1200MHz though you will have to manually adjust the bios to make sure the ram is running at that high speed and compensating to make sure the Phenom II does not because it’s not supported.

    I’ve run 4GB of DDR2-800 vs. DDR2-1000 vs. DDR2-1066 vs. DDR2-1200 on my earlier Phenom X4 9850 OC’ed to 2.75 GHz. I’ve had to adjust the HTT and NB speed to make sure the Phenom ran stable.

    After doing a series of CPU, Ram and Hard Drive Benchmarks via Sis Sandra Soft 2008 sp1 I’ve notices that I did not get that much of a Ram performance increase but the CPU performance increase was really great. It just seems to me Phenom I & II’s scale very well with higher speed ram for better overall system performance.

    And this is what I think EastCoasthandle meant. I think?
  18. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    The problem is you can never have a pure CPU test. AM3 CPUs use a DDR3 memory controller while the other doesn't. AM3 offer more cache, the other doesn't. There are way to many disparities to expect any tangible meaning when comparing AM2+ to AM3 at the same clock speed. What you are doing is testing platforms not CPUs which can be interpreted incorrectly as CPU results.

    That's why it's more important to gather data 1st:
    1. Get the results at stock speed
    2. Get the best overclock and obtain results
    3. When using AM3 get the highest ram possible, using the lowest latency possible
    4. etc
  19. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    This pretty much wraps up what I was saying. You can't view running the same clock speeds between CPUs as a test between CPUs but a test between platforms. Again, if you want to know what a PII 925 does against a PII 940 at the same clock speed both would need to use AM2+ platforms. Not the other way around.
  20. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    that asus board shall be mine!!! *clenches fist and screamz* man i cant wait to get some screaming dast ddr3
  21. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    AM3 motherboards are rumored to be out tomorrow. Not sure how true that is but we will see in less then 24 hours.
  22. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,738 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    I agree that we should be testing platforms. But we both know once the CPU's in those platforms have different speeds it will indead sway the benchmarks. The same thing applies with graphics, the faster the CPU core clock the better graphics cards scale in performance.
  23. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,738 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2009
  24. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,979 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    805
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    thats what i was gonna do plus i dont really need a board with crossfire or sli but i might get a board that can do that hybrid sli coz i have a gtx260 save a lot of power that way

    although if the amd boards are better, damn im confused :confused: :laugh:

    if i get the x3 ill be able to afford a board and cpu for under £200 which is a nice upgrade
    everything else can stay in my pc
  25. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,738 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Nvidia will have a hard time beating AMD's uncoming Dragon based chipset. I think Nvidia is too involved with building there own x86 CPU even though they will never get a licence from Intel to acually be able to sell it to anybody.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page