1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

?

Is the UK the most damn fine & dandy place to live?

  1. Yes without a doubt

    12.5%
  2. Yes but only with a cup of Earl Grey

    16.7%
  3. Would be better with a half decent government

    45.8%
  4. No it's crap!

    25.0%
  1. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    If it was me I would go with the value 4gb option, and if performance is off just buy another one and pair them up if you have to.
  2. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,898 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    UK
  3. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Depends on the bios, if it lets you configure the RAM settings it wont downclock other than that no real way to tell unless you google like a manual or something.

    If it was me id dual channel 4gb of ram and get the 1333mhz sticks if your laptop will read them at that speed.
  4. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,898 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    UK
    no bios settings at all on the laptop, you can change the clock and boot device order and that's about it

    since i've pressed the buy button it's going to have 2+4 (6)GB of ram and it's going to be 1066mhz

    main reason for this is because i ran a benchmark

    my quad core PC gets 8.5GB/S, and it runs OK, it's only 3-4% below the dual channel set ups in actual CPU and program performance, so the bandwidth can't matter too much

    the laptop currently gets 6.5GB/S, this can only increase if i put the other chunk in as it will go into flex memory mode

    so overall, because of how good the memory controller is on the core I chips, i'm running it in 2GB+4GB, as it will certainly provide enough bandwidth for a dual core @2ghz from my research, and will give it a load of ram

    and i can always spend £15 on another matching 4GB chip if i really need dual channel in the future
  5. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Whatever man seems like even though you asked you'd already made your mind up.
  6. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,898 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    UK
    Far from it, actually :confused:

    well what i wanted to know in the first place is would it work

    and i also wanted to know a lot about how it would affect the speed of the ram but i ended up doing that part of the research myself

    i still have 5 days to change or cancel the order though (ebuyer value postage)

    so if any of you find any great deals on Ram...

    the ram is currently in the basket because otherwise it may very well take me weeks to get it sorted out, this at least puts a time on it

    EDIT:Ignore that, ebuyers 5 day delivery is going a bit faster then normal!

    If i've done it wrong it's too late to change it now
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2011
  7. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Value postage isnt that slow even though they may estimate that time most things 3 days from ordering you will receive the item.
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,464 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,207
    well. the intel works on shared graphics. More allocated ram might mean better graphics.

    I benchmarked my DM1 3x with 4Gb ram and 3x with 8Gb ram.

    out of all the tests. I got a higher 3D06 score when i was just running with 4Gb but not by much though. we're talking like 20-30points difference.

    when i benched with PCmark05 the results were the same, my DM1 performed better with only 4Gb.

    the only reason why i keep 8Gb inside my laptop is because #1 AMD CCC allocates upto 4Gb to graphics when doing any gaming, and secondly. with the amount of tabs I usually have open in firefox. my general usage while surfin the net, and loading up a massive 50hr playlist in Windows Mediaplayer along with some HP utilities that i need and some background tasks running sees my ram usage top anywhere from 2.2Gb to 3Gb. 3Gb usage is rare though.

    Unfortunately one of the downsides of a E-350 is it doesnt support dual channel. AMD chose to leave it out.
  9. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
    anyone know a decent 13' laptop sleeve which protects well and looks fairly good too?
  10. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    Does anyone know this guy: Doomedspeed

    I bought something off him he said he posted it yesterday it hasn't arrived today. Not suggesting anything dodgy yet just after some feedback.

    also I have PMed him already.

    EDIT: Item arrived in 2 days, works fine, as described. So don't worry about dealing with this guy I reckon.
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2011
  11. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,159 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    Rice porridge for dinner yesterday, rice porridge for breakfast, now rice porridge for lunch. So much for forward planning :(
  12. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
    just relax, should be here later today or tomorrow, if not then speak to him again or do a paypal chargeback to get his attention
    Millennium says thanks.
  13. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    His girlfriend sent it second class. Lol.

    No worries any more :)
  14. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
    she tried to save cash on postage :laugh:
    Millennium says thanks.
  15. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,159 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    That explains a lot lol. File a complaint and lawyers will be up your front door with sexism charges :roll:
    Millennium says thanks.
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,464 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,207
    tell him to tell her to get her postage saving ass back into the kitchen!!
    Bo$$ and Millennium say thanks.
  17. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    How about you get back in the kitchen!
  18. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,464 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,207
    how about you go find a sheep!:slap::slap:
  19. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
    anyone know a decent 13' laptop sleeve which protects well and looks fairly good too?
    maybe even a brand that makes good ones?
  20. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,464 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,207
    Id go look on ebay.


    there are some custom made ones that have all sorts of fancy designs on them
  21. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,898 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    UK
    Well todays gone well for me

    *Wants to listen to Beatles Album but doesn't have it on CD

    *Fix's problem by attaching turntable to Computer, is happy about how high the sound quality is and how powerful his computer is
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,464 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,207
    youre gonna need moar power if you want to play BF3 on that buddy
  23. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,898 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    UK
    no i don't, i don't have DX11

    i'm actually going to preorder BF3 i think

    *resumes listening to 'with a little help from my friends'
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2011
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,464 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,207
    do you have DX10.1?
  25. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
    no he doesn't

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page