1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

?

Is the UK the most damn fine & dandy place to live?

  1. Yes without a doubt

    14.3%
  2. Yes but only with a cup of Earl Grey

    19.0%
  3. Would be better with a half decent government

    47.6%
  4. No it's crap!

    19.0%
  1. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    UK
    or louder, louder is also better, how about this? http://www.richersounds.com/product...cambridge-audio/azur-840a-v2/camb-840a-v2-sil

    that should keep you from buying anything else for a while:laugh:
  2. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    No need as I get 60fps in everything I play aside from metro and even that plays on ultra with 4xaa 16xaf at 35+ fps

    Also not a big fan of multi GPU, been there and done that with HD 4850's/5770's etc and would rather have a single high end card instead of 2 mid range cards for the same performance, OH not to mention I willingly chose a single pci-e x16 motherboard for the aforementioned reasons

    Might retire my old 500Gb drives and grab a 2Tb one, though am a little concerned with giving up 2 drives for a single point of failure...
  3. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Noise isn't really an issue, though I guess an Gelid Icy Vision for my 570 would be nice or even an Zalman VF3000F
  4. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    UK
    have you thought about going for one of those set-ups where you have the 3 screens all showing the same picture at the same time (whatever Nvidia's equivalent of eyefinity is)

    EDIT:Nvidia surround is what it's called apparently, they even do a 3d version of it
  5. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Would love a multi monitor setup, I just don't have the desk space as my pc is housed under a corner workstation and it would barely hold 2 19" monitors let alone 3 24", maybe I need to tell the mrs am having a new desk and 2 extra monitors lol, only trouble is she would be able to see what I am doing then as my desk would be along the wall as opposed to in a corner lol
  6. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    UK
    You could just spend it on games , music and blu-rays.
  7. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Since you mention hard drives you could raid 2x1tb drives, i think this would work well with your SSD also has the benefit of redundancy. You could swap out the Noctua for watercooling kit like the Corsairs but that isn't needed either.

    How is your sound set up, keyboard and mouse? Those are some things you could try to improve. Even getting a decent mouse pad works wonders. You could get a mechanical keyboard in that case i recommend something with Cherry MX Brown switches.

    I cant really see anything that could benefit from an upgrade, you have everything even a top line monitor and soundcard!
  8. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    854
    Location:
    London, UK
    You could just get me something :roll:

    Dude you have everything!!

    maybe change your MOBO for a better one
  9. razaron

    razaron

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    london
    Does £25 for a second hand pair of these seem fair?
  10. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154 (5.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
  11. razaron

    razaron

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    london
    I was asking because I'm going to be selling my pair.
  12. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    UK
    i always thought crysis was CPU limited, but it actually appears to be more CPU limited then i thought

    when i played through on a 2.4GHZ Athlon x2 and this graphics card i got around 25PS on maximum, now with a 3.5GHZ quad core i get 35FPS
  13. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154 (5.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    The answer remains the same, £25 is a fair price, but if I am the buyer I will get the one I posted. Maybe you will need to reduce it to £20, ram prices are falling fast.
    razaron says thanks.
  14. razaron

    razaron

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    london
    I thought the 7-8-7-24 timings (at stock) would get me a bit more. Meh, £20 it is then.
  15. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154 (5.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
  16. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Hard drive is small and the Ram is only 3gb, saying you could swap those out for cheap but then your nearly at a full build if you swap the gpu and psu.

    Nice deal if someone plans to keep it stock, i would add in 8gb of ram just for the fact i think 3gb is pushing it you'd be maxing it a lot i think. Nice that it comes with a monitor too though.
  17. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154 (5.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    I did a mini calculation few days ago and a system of that specs (without graphics card) will come up to £400+, and here Dell is willing to do it as almost half price (if you take the price of the screen away). No brainer imo.
  18. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Like i said if someone was going to use it at stock components its a really good deal.
    I am having an argument on Hotukdeals on that deal Fourstaff posted.

    How much does Windows 7 use at desktop? at least a gig of ram i would think? fuck mines is nearly 2gb.
    2.21gb but that isnt the average users desktop useage but i still reckon its at least over 1gb.
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2011
  19. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    UK
    I have around £350 to spend on a laptop

    should i buy something like this - http://www.comet.co.uk/p/Laptops/buy-PACKARD-BELL-TS13-SB-030UK-Laptop/738930

    i can however wait a month or two, in which case i will have somewhere like £380 to spend

    should i
    a)buy the a3 3300m based system and hope it performs well enough
    b)wait and see if October or November will bring anything better

    the system will be used for light gaming (think civ 5 and lfd 2) although it would be preferable if battlefield would at least run on low.

    it will also be used for internet + word and all the other stuff every computer since about 1995 has been able to do

    Then once i have the laptop, i can try to get that stereo system i've been thinking of
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2011
  20. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    854
    Location:
    London, UK

    I think that is a pretty decent system, you are probabily better of looking for an older system with better GPU
  21. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    UK
    best I can see elsewhere have 220m/520m.

    there Is always that pink dell with the 5650 but that would have to be about £20 cheaper before I would buy it
  22. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,177 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    Gotta show you these pics of my oc'd phone. anyone beat my score? :D

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  23. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    UK
  24. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    854
    Location:
    London, UK
  25. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,177 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    Its actually not bad, but i think more 1.2ghz for normal use,its 1ghz stock. I think its insane it will actually oc to 1.9ghz

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page