1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thermal Compound in GPU

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by jman20nnsss, Apr 7, 2012.

  1. jman20nnsss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    62 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    hi guys,im just wondering, should i change the thermal compound in my gtx580 to IC Diamond thermal compound?
     
  2. KingPing

    KingPing

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    828 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Argentina (South America)
    Is it overheating or something? I usually wait till i disassemble for cleaning.
     
  3. mp3boy

    mp3boy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    what kind of temps are you getting?
     
  4. Cotton_Cup

    Cotton_Cup

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    378 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Rizal, Philippines
    it might void your warranty if you do.

    I remember seeing in some website where this guy is getting bad temps on a gtx560ti hawk msi

    well on his pic his case has bad air flow and full of dust so that might be the cause too. but he used this antec 620 something closed liquid cooling and ziptie in on some corners and stuff and there it goes, it runs on cool temp, if I find it i'll post link here

    I didn't find it but I found something similar
    http://www.overclock.net/t/990111/antec-k-hler-h2o-620-920-club/980

    actually I'm thinking of building another build but going to use a corsair h100 and slap it in on the gpu (i'm thinking of grabbing a 2nd hand gpu) and going to buy a case parts and build the case my self >.< but still saving up cash.
     
  5. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,945 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yeah if you have something that unusual like overheating or like your cooler aint sit tight
    except you want to improve your cooler performance :toast:
     
  6. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    i see it's not necessary, cuz card still now old yet
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page