1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

To SSD or not?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by ckydmk, Mar 24, 2013.

  1. ckydmk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    52 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm building a new computer for my dad who is going to use it for his CAD programs. So far I've sourced:
    i7-3770K
    Patriot Viper 3 Venom Red 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133MHz
    Asus P8Z77-V PRO

    He suggested that he wants to use an SSD to store the OS and all his CAD programs and write to a HDD. Is this the best way to do this? What would be a good SSD and what size should it be?
  2. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,915 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,492
    yes that's the best way, i'd suggest 80-120 - more depending on the programs, idk how big they are. 80 should be enough and 120 more than enough, but again idk the software.
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,891 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,972
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    120GB or so SATA 6 GB/s SSD + 2 TB HDD. The cheaper SSDs are slower, so look for one of the faster ones.


    Of course, since you have Z77, you do have the option of 60 GB SSD and any size HDD, and they can be set as RAID device with the 60 GB SDD acting as a cache drive for the HDD. Commonly loaded programs/DATA are cached to the SSD for fast retrieval, the rest is sourced from the HDD, and it just appears as a single drive.


    Personally, I prefer to separate the SDD/HDD, just because, but if Windows is installed in RAID mode to any HDD, you'll have the option to add the SDD as the cache drive at any time. You do need to connect to the Intel ports, of course.
    syeef, jgunning and digibucc say thanks.
  4. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    505 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Australia
    Took the words right out of my mouth! +1 =)


    :toast:
  5. 45shanew New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    why would anyone post ssd or not? ssd is the future and hdd is the past its a no brainer
  6. acerace

    acerace

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    252 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Malaysia
    But SSD performance will be terribly bad when they're almost full, HDD didn't. That's a major flaw.

    Hope SSD technology will evolve and this problem might be get rid of.
  7. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,767 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,609
    Probably not the best choice of attitude for a first post, but welcome to TPU;)
  8. 45shanew New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I hear your concern re ssd slowing down as they fill up, but its really not an issue at all compared to old hdd tech which needs constant defraging and is slower than a snail on sunday. im currently using an ocz vector and its very full and still very fast. Hdds really are obsolete sir.
  9. 45shanew New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    BTW , im also using a samsung 840pro 512gb and 3 ocz vertex 3 max iops in my set up and theyre all loaded with FSX and BF3 and lots other demanding games and none of them are remotely slower than the 600gb HDD velociraptors i replaced them with .
  10. lZKoce

    lZKoce

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    595 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    It's not only that, SSD in their current form, doesn't seem to be the future. Don't get me wrong, I am a huge fan, but the reality is different than the dreams. If you are willing to spare some time, check out the scientific experiment of The Department of Computer Sciences and Engineering, University of California called "The bleak future of NAND Flash Memory" . I am not into electronics, but basically with very large volumes (1TB,2TB,3TB etc)- the electronic gate that let's the information flow becomes very unstable. So much, that it is practically unusable. So far things look for SSDs as chache or relatively small volumes for OS and APPs, programs. That's not bad of course, it's just they are not almighty bullet-proof as we-the fans, are trying to depict them, to the non-tech savy people.
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2013
  11. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,481 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,585
    45shanew - welcome to TPU:)
    Please do not double post. Use the Edit, Quote or Multi-Quote features.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,154 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,963
    Id go with the best, a 256GB Vector! Never had a single problem with any of my ocz drives and there fast as fast can be :cool:
  13. pigulici

    pigulici

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    415 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Romania
    Hi, I work everyday with Photoshop, first I used a 10k rpm hdd, then a 256gb ssd, and now(and I am happy with that) I use a 512gb ssd Samsung 830(it reliable and have same speed for un/compresible data), I put all my work files on ssd+OS,I still have the 10k rpm hdd for backup my working files(usually at 30days I make a backup)...I recommend a 512gb samsung and to make 2 parttion(one for OS+software and second for working files)...
  14. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,880 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Is it still called RAID when set up this way? With the SSD + HDD is it still a Redundant Array of Independent Disks?
  15. DarkFX New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    All SSD

    The best ( For such softwares ) is to have it on the same SSD. Raid is bullshit unless you buy two cheap SSD's.

    Try 1 250-400 Gb SSD for the OS and softwares, and a little 7,2K RPM HD for projects savings ( If the SSD is'nt big enough ). I personally run programs as Photoshop, aftereffects and Autodesk MudBox, and having it all on a SSD is the best choice.

    But does he run several programs at the same time?
  16. DarkFX New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    http://25.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m5qf8nssHo1qbaj4uo1_500.gif

    But the OCZ has read problems. Write is somewhat important in these types of programs, but since he decided to get that amount of RAM i'm assuming he works in a way that dose'nt make write the most important factor.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page