1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Top Intel Ivy Bridge-E Core Processors To Still Pack Six Cores

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 1, 2012.

  1. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands

    My Evga sr-2 xeon system is still kicking ass 3 years old
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2012
  2. nzm0n5t3r New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I agree with you. I now own a X79 Platform after moving from a AMD FX 8150. A lot of cores and no horsepower. AMD advertise there CPU's to the gaming industry which is great because for the price point gamer's are going to enjoy. I think AMD has taken the wrong turn by not producing a "True 8 Core" CPU. But I think if AMD and shorting the pipelines, increase the cache speed in there CPU Architecture and keep to a "True Core" they will be a pretty good competitor to Intel again.
  3. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,953 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,920
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I disagree. It has a lot of power when you can utilize all of the cores. Otherwise its per-thread performance trails Intel's, but with Vishera it is getting better. AMD certainly doesn't produce a bad chip, Intel just has the resources to remain one step ahead.
    PatoRodrigues and Zack say thanks.
  4. Zack New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Land of the Free & the Start-Ups
    Well-said.
  5. sergionography

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    264 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    there is no way they can clock their chips at 4ghz with 8 real cores, not to mention die size will sky rocket, so from a business stand point bigger chips are more expensive to produce and yield is lower. So I wouldn't critisize amd in their multicore approach, though I do wanna see improvements in single thread while maintaining their multicore design advantage, that is all they need, and if anything they can Simply add more modules to the equation which from a thermal/price perspective is much more affective than adding more cores
  6. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Intel has done this before and so does AMD. It is no secret.

    How far do you think their architecture will go? The interesting thing we have to see is AMD has re-engineered there technology to an extent and how far can they push the new cores? AMD lacks the L3 cache and if they can get that figured out, I think AMD can hopefully challenge Intel.
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 26, 2012
  7. Am*

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    253 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Meh...dead end platform is still a dead end platform. Here was me thinking they would up the core count to 8 so LGA 2011 users would be far more futureproof than 1155 users going right into next gen of consoles...not going to happen then. So when next gen consoles hit with 8 or more cores, console ports will run like dog shit on this platform, the same way it will on 1155...good thing I went with 1155, as it looks like 2011 was going to be overpriced crap from the beginning to the end.
  8. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,410 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,102
    Not even "done before", it's standard industry practice. It's how it works.

    Also, you really don't know how to multi quote do you? Because you never do.
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,953 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,920
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Far. The amount of die space they saved by going to the module design was very significant. Once AMD starts improving the IPC of their CPUs Intel will be getting a run for their money. I suspect that once AMD start producing CPUs on a smaller process it will be easier for AMD to produce a CPU with more cores, that use less power, and have a better IPC. Assuming AMD doesn't go bankrupt, it is just a matter of time.
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  10. Crowned Clown New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    22 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    IVB-E; a grand worth extreme processor with 6 cores only (which I thought around 8-12)?
    We'll as long that it does have a stock clocks of 4Ghz or higher then I'm up for it... 6 cores it is. :toast:
  11. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Tic Toc strategy with E processors never did more cores. I expect Ivy E to be 5% on average better than Sandy E just like Sandy to Ivy reg. CPU's. Ivy E is certainly not a "dead end" platform.
  12. Vlada011

    Vlada011

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    310 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Extreme 6 cores CPU after IB-E could be something interesting and something very good.
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,050 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,370
    considering i hear Haswell might be on skt 2011 even
  14. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Some people obviously don't fucking read or listen.........

    :rolleyes: :nutkick:
  15. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    Would love Haswell-E on socket 2011, it's such a pita to change mobo+waterblocks -.-

    Anyway remember that Intel squeezed 10 cores on a 32nm CPU (LGA1567) so I think that it won't be hard to get 12+ cores on a mature 22nm node.

    Hell I'm not asking for a 10/12 etc core CPU but you know at least an unlocked 8c should be in Ivy-E lineup :|
  16. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,953 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,920
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I'm sure it wouldn't. The problem is the amount of leakage a chip like that would have. The TDP would be off the charts.
  17. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    875 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    320
    Location:
    Europa
    I call this news a flop..

    Well if IB-E and Haswell-E are build on the same 22nm process then I see no problem IB-E being a true 8core., Since Haswell-E is suppose to be a 10-12core cpu (again build on same 22nm).


    I was seriously thinking about IB-E 8core, but when I saw Haswell LGA1150 spec. over at anadtech I kinda changed my mind, there is just to much new stuff in Haswell.
    http://www.anandtech.com/show/6355/intels-haswell-architecture/5 (page* 5-11, esp. page 6-9*)

    And Haswell-E is still to far away.. meh, Haswell-E 8core would be my perfect dream machine :D
  18. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy

    http://ark.intel.com/products/53580...E7-8870-30M-Cache-2_40-GHz-6_40-GTs-Intel-QPI

    130W 32nm 10 core, it is clocked at a decent frequency too (2,4GHz).

    I don't think that adding 2 more cores would increase the TDP much above 130W, of course if you clock them @ 3,4GHz+ then yes I agree but they could well be selling them at 2GHz/2,5GHz stock.

    Who wants to increase clocks then could very well use liquid cooling (like I do) my 3930K pulls probably three times more than its 130W TDP. (I have it @ 1.5v-1.6v)
  19. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Agreed. I don't understand why they didn't do this and make even more money selling them to enthusiasts.

    One could argue that the selling volumes might be quite low, but then they could simply make less of them and price them at a suitable premium to compensate. I might have bought something like this myself.
  20. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,953 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,920
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I couldn't justify spending 4,000 USD on a 10-core CPU from Intel. Hell, I couldn't even justify spending twice as much on the 3930k than the 3820. I just don't think the market is there, even with enthusiasts with the price premium. A lot of people are already skeptical about the 3960x and 3970x over the 3930k.
  21. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Haswell is NOT on socket 2011. 1150 Fellas......
  22. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Ok, I wouldn't spend an exhorbitant premium on it, but I would have paid a fair bit extra for a true 8 core SB-E simply because I'd want one. :D
  23. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,953 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,920
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It depends on how much clock speed and money I would have to sacrifice for those extra cores. If it's anything like the SB-E 8-core Xeons, I doubt it would be worth it.
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 30, 2012
  24. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    If it is unlocked you don't have to sacrifice clock speed, sure it would cost more. I bet my 3930K clocks as high as most 3820s.

    Anyway the current 3960/3970X models are a joke, twice the premium over a 3930K which is basically the same CPU clocked slightly lower and with the unlocked multi doesn't even matter.

    Don't even try to tell me that 3MB L3 cache makes a noticeable difference, cause it doesn't.

    X edition should have been unlocked 8 cores from the beginning, then I would have bought an X instead of the K edition.
  25. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    It does. Where do you get your info?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page