1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    My 8800 Ultra & 9600GT both has quit folding or at least not putting out what they used to, both go to 38% them back to 0% just back and forth all the time... So it has cut my folding on those card's to almost nothing.. Did new drivers, different folding@home files and nothing changes the output of them.. Time for some GTS450's or GTX460's and retire the old cards....to the trash pile...:)

    Seems like I'm always having problems out on the farm:roll:
    It's time to go with new stuff and quit trying to baby the old stuff along..:banghead:
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2010
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,714 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    dont trash em, they are always good for bot members to sacrifice to the voltage gods:roll:
     
  3. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,387 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    871
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    My folding will be down for a bit, just pulled my ati tuner pce-e card, and now my old gtx280 is running again. Did it because my 260s were failing in games. I may have found a problem, and it will take time to diagnose. I'm also still looking for a sli capable psu so I can fire up my 2nd rig. Offers...? I have time, need to replace my dying mouse first.... My kingdom for a new i7 system.....
     
  4. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    is it for the 2 260s the psu is for?

    how much you wanna spend on the psu?

    or are you only looking for used?
     
  5. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,657 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,041
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    My portable farm will be down for a few days as I leave for my bi-yearly Mountain Biking trip on Wednesday. Should be back up and running late Saturday or Sunday Morning. Keep up the great work Guys!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG][​IMG] :toast::toast::toast:
     
    msgclb and (FIH) The Don say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    sounds like fun Buck, reminds me that i gotta find my own and get moving again -.-
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  7. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Will do Chad, I'm always open for some experiments..:roll:
     
  8. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,657 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,041
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    And with the dump of a -bigadv, I say welcome back El Fiendo. Now get in here and post up dammit!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    This afternoon I noticed El Fiendo wasn't the 'tail end charlie' so I scrolled down wondering what had happened. When I finally scrolled back up I had an OMG moment. So now I have to say +1 to Bucks post, 'dammit!'.
     
  10. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,321 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,876
    speech, speech, speech
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,657 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,134
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    This guy must be seriously hung-over for not posting yet:eek::shadedshu

    Don't make me call you out :wtf::laugh:
     
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Guys, just got home since 8am when I left for work. Somehow my main rig was off which involved my six core cruncher and my gtx 295 folder. Cause? Maybe power outtage? I can't get this rig to start back up when the power fails so that explains why it was off I guess. Just a heads up.
     
  13. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,387 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    871
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    It turns out my pci-e tuner card may be faulty. I have my 280 back up and running. So I really need a psu to run my 2nd rig now. Bad. Need a psu with at least 2x pcie connectors. I just bought a bunch of stuff for my bday, so 1 month before I can afford it. I'll try to fold my 280, but I'd rather use my 260s.....any bday offers for the old man?
    I can only fold 8hrs a day from now on, with my main rig, I really need the 2nd rig up. Any psus anyone can send?
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2010
  14. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    im sure someone can lend you a psu , both WCG team and F@H team are awesomeness
     
  15. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,387 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    871
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I could play with upto $200can, it would be for possibly the 2 260s, as my 280 is still rocking. Which reminds me, anyone got a used 280 for sale??? I do pay my bills.....
    not iill next month tho, I bought bday presents.......
    Okay, last count, I need to power 2x gtx260s, 1x gtx280 and 1x 9800gtx. I only have one working psu. Can make offers on a used one.
    Edit:replace that corsair with a silverstone and we're talking.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2010
  16. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I out of PSU's, I sent my last one to garyinhere for winning the TPU WCG Contest.
     
    garyinhere says thanks.
  18. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    No extra's here sorry...:)
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  19. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,387 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    871
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Really hoping I don't jinx myself, but my 280 folded overnight with no probs. I've now added a 260 for dedicated physx( metro and mafiaii need it..) and will try for an overnight run with these 2 cards. My 280 is a monster, at full clock(702/1512/1250) produces about 3/4s what my 2 260s can. If I get my 2nd rig up, I could pull stupid numbers!!
     
  20. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    you psu will do just fine with both cards in it imo
     
  21. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i agree.
    I ran a GTX 260 216 and a 8800GT both overclocked (don't remember the CPU but i think it was a AII but it was OCed too) had them running on a 650w Silverstone without a problem. I'm sure the cards he is using is taking more power but he also has 200w more.

    as a note i folded on both GPU's and crunched on CPU everything 100%
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,387 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    871
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Yes, but I sitll have a gtx260 and a 9800gtx sitting idle. I have a sli capable box, ready to run them, but no psu......
    Edit: cross your fingers for my overnight test of my 280 and a 260. God owes me this one.......
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  23. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    [​IMG]:slap:to myself for not asking for help before.........
     
    hertz9753 and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  24. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i have a gt240 i can give away for a small amount to cover shipping, im getting another 470 or 460 the 1stof october, so i dont have the room for it.

    might aswell let it go to one of you guys, shipping is like 10$
     
    thebluebumblebee says thanks.
  25. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,421 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,719
    Location:
    Florida
    ill nab that if you can wait for me to get some $$ in PP be like a day or 2 max.

    It will go in my mainframe which has 2 7600GT's it already folds on the proc. but i want to put another card up. the mainframe is on 24/7 365. even when the power goes out. AC status after power failure = on ;)
     
    Chicken Patty and (FIH) The Don say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page